We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but missing some details”
Review of Crowne Plaza

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Houston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crowne Plaza
Ranked #297 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Reviewed December 19, 2013

When we checked in, the front desk staff was a overwhelmed by a few guests. The gentlemen that checked us (two women) in, announced our room number out loud. When I noted that to him, he noted that he didn't say it that loud.

The first room we were checked into, we couldn't even enter. The smell was horrible. It was a very moldy smell. However, the manager change our room quite quickly and advised he would check that room himself.

I think this hotel may have been retro-fitted. The rooms are nice, but the bathrooms have drop ceilings and there are no fans. They provide hairdryers, but they are only 1200 watt dryers.

We ate in the hotel restaurant and the tomato and basil soup, while delicious, was first served cold. It was reheated and served with the main course. We also had breakfast in the hotel and the buffet was a terrific deal. For about $15 the buffet had a large number of choices.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmkaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 25 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2013

Mandy Bates is positively the most caring manager ever. Her sweet smile welcomes you as you walk in the front door. She is a wealth of knowledge regarding local attractions, coming events, and the best places to have a quality meal for the right price. We know she honestly cares. The beds and pillows are dreamy - not too soft or too firm. It feels like home - what could be better? Thank you Mandy and please thank you staff for us. The smiles, the pride in a job well done - it shows and it means so much.

Room Tip: King size beds are super comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Angela garza is always so helpful and makes us feel like family every time we visit the Houston area such great service and warm welcome. Rooms are always clean and if something is wrong thy make it right.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juddstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We found the hotel staff to be the friendliest staff that we have ever meet. Every staff member went out of there way to assist us and provide exceptional service. Rooms were clean and serviced daily. Meals downstairs were reasonably priced and good value. Excellent place to stay for a family of four and we would definitely stay here again.
less

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andresgarcia1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Upon arrival they did not honor our reservation room price, they claimed it was too low. What???
Rooms were okay. The sheets were of a plastic type that actually made noise like a paper bag when you rolled over. What???
Our room door did not match up with the door frame and you could actually look into part of the room. What???
We were out of the room all day on Saturday came back at 5 p.m. and our room was still not cleaned. We wanted to come in take showers and leave right away, instead we had to wait in our friend's rooms until our room was done.
Staying downtown does not give you many options of dining and bars within walking distance. Also, the reason why we stayed here was supposed to be the close proximity to Minute Maid Park. It is NOT within a reasonable walking distance. The hotel claims to have a shuttle to the game, but it is nothing more than a small van. With about 30 people waiting to go to the game on a single day the wait can be quite lengthy. One morning I splurged for the breakfast buffet. It's $15 for no-taste eggs, good bacon and okay potatoes. They were out of waffles, so I settled for the pancakes. The coffee was not that good, but it was coffee. It was survival.
Finally after numerous requests to speak to management to honor our reserved rate and after printing numerous confirmations and e-mails, they did honor our rate. All in all it was okay, but I wouldn't recommend staying downtown unless you are there for business or you can actually walk to your destinations.

TIP: You can get free fruit in the lobby and free coffee on the second floor...as you are walking into the restaurant, it is on your extreme right.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdrake3460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We found the hotel staff to be the friendliest staff that we have ever meet. Every staff member went out of there way to assist us and provide exceptional service. Rooms were clean and serviced daily. Meals downstairs were reasonably priced and good value. Excellent place to stay for a family of four and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val4holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I like this hotel because of luxurious comfort and also they have restaurant so no need to go outside for hot breakfast.
very curtious staff always ready to gudie me. I like their beds very comfortable. they also provide various size of pillows so you can choose whatever you like. They change my badsheets and pillow covers every day and also vacume my room on daily base thats good because i stay there for one week.
i highly recommended this hotel to my friends

Room Tip: rooms on the left side are quieter so avoid rooms on the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Medical Center
Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Club Quarters Hotel in Houston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza

Address: 7443 Cullen Blvd, Houston, TX 77051-1713
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #297 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Number of rooms: 259

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing