We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“UGH! Horrid”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hobby Airport Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hobby Airport Inn
Ranked #431 of 504 Hotels in Houston
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    19
    23
    24
    76
See reviews for
37
32
22
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We arrived at this hotel at 1230 am to check in. The employee checking us in was rude and didn't leave me feeling good about staying there. We drive to our room and there seems to be quite a few people just walking around in the parking lot. I wasn't getting a good feeling about the area but was extremely tired from driving so i just wanted to get to bed. We walk into our room and it was so disgusting i refused to put my stuff down. The floor was crusty, the tables sticky, the lock on the door was broken, the light was broken so it was very dim in the room, there was trash on the floor, and it smelled gross. We took our things back to the car and stood outside calling different hotels to try and find a room to stay in. I knew that the guy at the front desk wouldn't be able to do anything since he wasn't a manger so we went ahead and left.
We came back the next day to speak to the manager and this was the only redeeming quality this hotel has. When i told the manager my concerns he immediately apologized and gave us a full refund, including the night before. There was a sign saying the hotel was under new management and I got the idea that he knew there were problems and was in the process of trying to fix them.

So if you want to take a risk and stay here go ahead because the customer service by the manager was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

My overall rating for this hotel is average. I base that on a few items. The room, although in my oppinion needs some TLC as far as renovations are concerned, was good. It was clean and comfortable and I slept well. I had a little difficulty regulating the temperature of the water while using the shower. It was a little on the hot side but tolerable. The Hotel in general was clean and looked like an average facility of its type. There was some dusty cobwebs near the celing over the door at the main office entrance. Maybe this could be addressed and remidied. Seems like an easy fix to me. It was great that there was a contenental breakfast available; however, along with cereal, waffals, coffe and juice maybe some varity of fruit could also be offered as well. The staff was very friendly and always helpful. The one glaring problem I experienced difficulty with was doing laundry. I had only a few items to wash; however, there were only two machines avalable and one out of two dryers aviable (the other was out of order). The lack of adequate laundry machines made doing my laundry very excrutiating. In fact I had to dry my clothes the next day because I could not get the use of the one operating dryer. This was very frustrating. I would stay here again but make sure I had no laundry to wash.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Clifford B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeRidder, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We chose to stay here only because I was told we could leave the car there for the weekend while we flew out of Hobby airport. No where did it say in the website additional fee to park or was I told this. True it was only $6 a day, but it was more the point that I would have stayed somewhere a little nicer if I had known. Breakfast was a joke, the rooms were clean and what you would expect for $50 a night. All in all I would stay here again if I had to but only if it was a last resort. We ended up parking next to the airport for $5 a day so it wasn't a complete loss.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

room was not cleaned well. toilet was covered with pubic hair, like someone had just shaved. coffee pot and cups were so dusty. you could write your name on them, with your finger. got no response from the front desk, when i called. breakfast was horrible. waffles and cereal. when i mentioned the problems to the manager, he said he would have the room cleaned again. went out for lunch. came back. to only beds being made. good thing i had clorox wipes. never again, will i stay here...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Meshalik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Houston Hobby Airport
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Houston Lobby
Econo Lodge Houston Lobby
#290 of 504 in Houston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Houston Hobby Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Hobby Airport
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Hobby Airport Houston
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hobby Airport Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hobby Airport Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hobby Airport Inn

Property: Hobby Airport Inn
Address: 8800 Airport Blvd, Houston, TX 77061-3400 (Formerly America's Best Value Inn Houston / Hobby Airport)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #431 of 504 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hobby Airport Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hobby Airport Inn & Suites is located in the heart of Houston-TX on famous Airport Blvd. We strive to give you the best value combined with the best location. Hotel features an outdoor pool and all rooms include expanded cable TV and free Wi-Fi. Rooms at hotel are furnished with a microwave and a refrigerator. We are just one mile from the Hobby Airport and we provide free shuttle to airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hobby Airport Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing