We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbelievable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Branch Water Tavern - CLOSED

Branch Water Tavern
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Washington Ave./ Memorial Park
Cross street: Gibson
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unbelievable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

The food we had here was completely unbelievable it was so good. We went for Houston's Restaurant Weeks and had their set menu. It was so incredible that we definitely want to go back to try more of their food. The ambiance was very comfortable classy, sort of like a high class pub. Their is regular dining or a very swanky looking bar area with thick leather chairs. We were nervous to go because we had to bring our infant, but they were so nice and accommodating about that too. We definitely want to go back just as a couple though. It would be great for any type of occasion (work, celebration, family, date night, etc.).

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    10
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quaint restaurant with a twist!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

My sister and I tried brunch here last Sunday. The experience was wonderful. We both tried the salmon egg Benedict. It was like nothing we had ever had before. After finishing our divine meal, we walked to the other side to finish our mimosas and listen to the dj. It was really an unique experience.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brandy_brow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“There is always something good here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Drinks were great, sazerac and a fountainbleu. The fried olives are a must for any fry-a-vore. I had the shortribs, which to me, were nothing better than an average pot roast. My wife had the chicken and it was very good. The toffee bread pudding is a must have. Service is excellent.

Helpful?
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Nice! The happy hour & bar menu is fun and priced really reasonable. Had dinner in the main dining room, enjoyed the seared scallop, braised short ribs & sea bass special. These menu items were very good, the sauces were excellent, but the starches were warm to cool. Service seemed new and need a bit more training.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank lillybethlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food, great service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

Branch Water was recommended by my husbands colleague. Could not have been more pleased. Being from New Orleans, I was pleased to see a Sazarac on the drink menu but even more pleased that it was as good as those served at the Sazerac Bar in the Roosevelt Hotel in N.O. We ordered the BBQ Bone Marrow (excellent), Chicken Fried Oysters (Yummy) and Mussels (very good)! Before the appetizers arrived we were brought a basket of biscuits and bread. Oh My Goodness! Those little square biscuits were heavenly with the pepper jelly - I'd have ordered them if they'd have been a menu item, they were that good! Two of us ordered the crab cake appetizer as our main course, perfect portion and very flavorful with plenty of lump meat. My daughter had the salmon tartare, very fresh and flavorable. Her boyfriend had the shrimp, he thought the shrimp were excellent but didn't care much for the egg over the grits. My mother-in law had the short ribs and could not get over how good they were. Looking forward to a return visit very soon!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JHHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Branch Water Tavern also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing