We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Branch Water Tavern - CLOSED

Branch Water Tavern
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Washington Ave./ Memorial Park
Cross street: Gibson
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Nice! The happy hour & bar menu is fun and priced really reasonable. Had dinner in the main dining room, enjoyed the seared scallop, braised short ribs & sea bass special. These menu items were very good, the sauces were excellent, but the starches were warm to cool. Service seemed new and need a bit more training.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank lillybethlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    10
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food, great service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

Branch Water was recommended by my husbands colleague. Could not have been more pleased. Being from New Orleans, I was pleased to see a Sazarac on the drink menu but even more pleased that it was as good as those served at the Sazerac Bar in the Roosevelt Hotel in N.O. We ordered the BBQ Bone Marrow (excellent), Chicken Fried Oysters (Yummy) and Mussels (very good)! Before the appetizers arrived we were brought a basket of biscuits and bread. Oh My Goodness! Those little square biscuits were heavenly with the pepper jelly - I'd have ordered them if they'd have been a menu item, they were that good! Two of us ordered the crab cake appetizer as our main course, perfect portion and very flavorful with plenty of lump meat. My daughter had the salmon tartare, very fresh and flavorable. Her boyfriend had the shrimp, he thought the shrimp were excellent but didn't care much for the egg over the grits. My mother-in law had the short ribs and could not get over how good they were. Looking forward to a return visit very soon!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JHHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Birthday Celebration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

I took my husband to Branch Water Tavern for his birthday...it didn't disappoint. The atmosphere was very Texas Monthly meets France with a little dash of older world tavern thrown in. Our server was great and knowledgeable and the bar staff was friendly and accommodating. Our entire meal....oysters, crispy stuffed olives (yum), beet salad and main courses, paired with a lovely Pinot Noir and finish off with a wonderful chocolate dessert and perfect French pressed coffee...made for a special night and we will return to BWT.
The only rec I would make to the establishment is to put a little more though/care/work into the ladies restroom (i dont know ehat the mens' was like.... Or if men care) It's a little tired, not all of the stall doors lock, and the two buckets of supplies under the sink could find another home.
However, that aside its a restaurant we will definitely visit again and highly recommend to others.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ADVann3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great basic menu, wine selection and service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

We sat out on the patio under ceiling fans, globe lights and bordered by bamboo - the ambience was perfect. The staff was prompt and personable. The food was delicious. Wedge salad, NY strip and beef short ribs were all excellent and cooked to order. The short ribs were amazing! The sticky pudding is their star dessert but we had the cheesecake with blueberry compote - it was light and airy and delicious. The wine we had from Greece was surprisingly good as well. Definitely enjoyed our experience.

Helpful?
Thank writemeariver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Brunch Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

I had brunch here last weekend. We sat on the patio, which was very nice and shaded. The bottomless mimosas were just that - waiters and waitresses constantly coming around to re-fill. I had the french toast and it was delicious! Soft on the inside and a nice crust on the outside. It was served with a fruit bowl of pineapple, berries and melon. My friend ordered the Branch Water Tavern Breakfast of eggs, sausage, bacon, potatoes and toast. It was very good as well!

Parking is valet but you can self part at a lot behind the restaurant. Valet is complimentary (just leave a tip).

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Angie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Branch Water Tavern also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing