We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Houston West Energy Corridor
Ranked #200 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible Experience”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My parents are in their 70's and traveled from Shreveport, Louisiana to visit me after major surgery and to visit my mother's sister who was recently diagnosed with liver cancer a month ago. I watched this hotel being built, so I know that it is very new. I will not speak on the problems that I experienced with the hotel as they were related to the restaurant, and were easily fixed....I just decided never to eat in the restaurant again. However, on this night, May 10, 2013, I checked my parents and my two year old daughter into the hotel for Mother's Day. We were winding down for the night, and I was back in my home near the hotel, on Westheimer Rd. My parents called me around 9pm, and told me that they pulled back the sheets on the beds to go to sleep, and to their surprise, there were bugs, gnats or fleas EVERYWHERE! My father pulled the bed from the wall, and there were more flying bugs...the room was infested! I immediately got up and went to the hotel to help them and by the time I arrived, my parents had killed about 20-30 of the fling insects. The young man at the front desk was helpful and agreed to move them to another room, but after that sight, who would want to stay in that hotel? I finally had to move my parents and baby about 10 miles away to the Marriot Hotel that they normally stay in when they come to Houston. Although the staff was nice, this experience was the worst that I have ever had and I can absolutely say that I will NEVER stay at ANY Holiday Inn Express hotel EVER again. It is now almost midnight and after I arrived back at home and showered, I am STILL itching from the nightmare. Beware travelers.....check your rtooms BEFORE you actually check in.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marva C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Houston West Energy Corridor, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Marva C,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Houston.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    44
    22
    7
    3
See reviews for
16
3
12
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel is close to everything. It is off I-10 and close to restaurants and very close to Memorial City Mall and a few minutes from Katy Mills Outlets. The rooms were very quiet and the staff was very helpful. The entrance was a liitle hidden due to it being in back of a shopping center but there was enough parking very close to the entrance. Overall a great experience

Room Tip: The restaurants across the street are awesome,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LRH123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great location, we stayed in location on Barker Oaks, but this is the hotel that kept coming up when I picked location, so not sure if they are one in the same. Anyhow, our stay was pleasant, comfortable and we felt secure. Nice quick breakfast available with hot foods and no stress.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Extrememomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Mississippi
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is a really nice property. It is maintained in as new condition. Friendly staff and comfortable rooms. Close to the Katy freeway, but far enough away for a quite stay. The in house bar and grill has good food that is reasonably priced. I have stayed here several times and will continue to do so.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The particular person at the front desk that I dealt with in the evening did not know his job and was unfriendly. I was issued a room already occupied by someone else! The front desk tenant hands me a room card for 323, I unlock the room with a funny feeling as to why all the lights were on and TV blaring. As I push the door all the way open, I see some man sitting on the bed staring at me with a puzzled look on his face. I just back up and let the door close and made my way all the way back down stairs to the front desk. I get a new card and an emotionless, "sorry bout that".

Besides that episode, the morning breakfast buffet was great and staff was super kind.

Room Tip: EVERYONE: use your door latch everytime. Neve know who ,might get issued the wrong room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Imagine my shock when I went into the bathroom at the end of a tiring (and trying) day to have a hot soak for my arthritic joints only to discover NO TUB!! Management said tubs were available in some rooms for the disabled and would not confirm in the future that a room would come with a TUB!! The shower pan wasn't deep enough to trap but an inch or so of water. The shower door itself opens only at one end and forces one to stand in the shower to turn the water on--no reaching in from the side to turn it on to warm up before being splashed with cold water. That shouldn't have concerned me however because there was no "splash"-. Just feeble, straight-pin diameter wisps of trickling water--and not hot enough to help aching shoulders anyway , nor warm enough to drive away the goosebumps that plague a woman trying to shave her legs!! I thought at least that I could have a good night's sleep; after all, H.I. boasts that they have both hard and soft pillows and lable them so. However, " soft" still means thick and tall, but with fewer lumps of torn foam filling. Better labeling would be "lumpy" and "lumpier", but none were appropriate for a woman side sleeper with narrow shoulders. Since this Holiday Inn does not offer complimentary breakfast with their $179 rate, I am having a lovely quiche down the street where the atmosphere lends itself to grousing on Trip Advisir about my less than satisfactory stay! I will not stay st the Rldridge Parkway H.I. again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Birdinhandtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Houston West Energy Corridor, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Birdinhandtwo,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered with the bathroom and the pillows. All of our reviews are evaluated by management, and your review is no exception. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

If you are seeking a good hotel centrally located this is a good option. I am historically a Marriott and Hilton/HGI loyal customer but didn't find those options here. I was directed to this location and was pleasantly surprised. The look and decor are better than I expected. The staff is friendly and helpful and it's a very clean location.

Here's a couple of tips and insights when choosing this location:

1. If you're noise sensitive, ask for a secluded room. While generally my 3 day stay has been very quiet, the walls are thin. You can hear everything.

2. It's very central to many great restaurants, walking, etc. Sushi next door was very good and open late.

3. Very small fitness room. Nice Business Center is available.

4. I've read much about the rooms. I will confirm they are generally small, like a Courtyard and have some quirky features like the bathroom door won't stay open, furniture is large although doesn't really block entryways. The water pressure is bizarre. You can adjust it but it's not good. Positively, it's new, clean, comfortable. The mattress is acceptable but not good/great. refrigerator and microwave in room is nice to have. Parking is super easy and well lit.

5. Restaurant - I have only enjoyed breakfast and would add it was good. (Bowl of fruit) Extremely fresh, cheap for a hotel and quick. Coffee left something to be desired, but I'm an admitted snob.

Room Tip: If you're noise sensitive request a secluded room. It's not generally loud, but noise trave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Houston West/Energy Corridor
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Houston West / Energy Corridor
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston West-Energy Corridor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston Energy Corridor-W Oaks
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Houston West-Westway Park
1.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Houston West-Energy Corridor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Houston West Energy Corridor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Houston West Energy Corridor

Property: Holiday Inn Houston West Energy Corridor
Address: 1112 Eldridge Pkwy, Houston, TX 77077-1647
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#141 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Houston West Energy Corridor 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NEW Full Service Holiday Inn Houston West Energy Corridor is sceduled to open in January 2010. Gather with your friends in the Sporting News Grill or relax with our indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Houston West Energy Corridor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Houston West Energy Corridor Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing