We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Stay Here!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport
Ranked #175 of 501 Hotels in Houston
Loveland, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't Stay Here!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

The general manager Roger Radtke has no place in the hotel business. He thinks he is above his customers. My employees were locked out of there rooms due to an inexperienced accountant that couldn't figure out how to change an authorization to a charge. Mr. Radtke threatened to throw me out of the hotel, and had the cops called. The worse thing I responded with was, "This hotel is a joke", which is nothing short of the truth. Hopefully, Marriott corporate will realize that they have an authoritative moron in place that should probably ask questions before jumping to conclusions. I WOULD NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL! The least Mr. Radtke could do was apologize. The only apology came from Pablo Zuniga, who was nothing short than impressive. I realize he couldn't say much since Mr. Radtke is his boss.......

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JON L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    100
    91
    21
    19
See reviews for
64
45
21
163
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

On a precruise vacation I needed a hotel for one night at a reasonable cost. Marriott worked perfectly. It was easy access from the interstate and a short drive to Galveston Island to the cruise port. I highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N728PR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

This is a regular stop during my trips to Houston. It's always a pleasant experience - the hotel is appointed very well, kept clean, and has really nice people working there. The breakfast buffet is excellent, and the restaurant and room service have plenty of choices.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the airport are preferred - less noise from Highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bob375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
289 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2011

I had a late evening flight into Houstons Hobby Airport and needed a place to hang my hat for the night and to prepair for a business lunch meeting in the South Houston area the following day. I ran an extream last minute lowball offer on priceline for a 3 star or better just to see who would bite and was amazed that this property accepted my offer at nearly half of their average nightly rate.
The property is beautiful, elegant and everything you would expect from a four star hotel, The beds are like sleeping on clouds and the staff is first rate. I got a great deal on a room this visit but would not bat an eye at paying their average rate should I find myself in the area again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank outlaw1865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
116 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2011

Stayed 3 nights here for the OTC exhibition. Consequently the cost was very high and was chosen as everything more central in Houston was full. A long way from anything except the Hobby A/P (note, not the International A/P).
The staff were all good but the hotel is very tired and maintainance either has little budget to fix things or nobody cares. Plumbing in particular needs a total revamp. I had 3 tries to get the toilet to flush properly.
I was on the top floor with preferential facilities but even that high there the noise from the freeway was continuous. I did sleep however.
The WiFi internet was charged at $12.5 per day, for the price I had to pay that should have been complimentary. On the other had WiFi was free in the Lobby.
On the good side : The bed was comfortable, breakfast was good and the bar was friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the East side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vicnzsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2011

More and more, Marriott is charging extra for everthing. Internet service is now $12.95 a day, Coffee in the lobby bar is $3.00 with no refill. I build up points and couldn't even use them during St. Patricks Day with my family because they were not offering "rewards stay" in the city where my family picked to vacation. I'm sure that if you're on someelses dime you don't care, but I do.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taasinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2011

I had an early flight out of Houston and wanted to stay near HOU. The hotel is certainly close. Check in went smoothly and I was assigned a room on the second floor. As I was walking to my room, I noticed a thick build up of dust along the edges of the walls. Upon entering my room, the bed and television looked nice and new, but the rest of the room was shabbly. There was mold in the tile of shower and bathroom floor tile was not clean and had loose hairs. (not mine) I ordered room service for dinner and only one type of soup was available (black bean). Noise was very loud from atrium at night. Drapery had a hole in it. Window wall had peeling paint and black granite nightstands were dusty. I probably will try the Hilton next time.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goo0325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Houston Hobby Airport
0.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Houston Hobby Airport
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Houston Hobby Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Houston Hobby Airport
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Houston Hobby Airport
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Houston Hobby Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Property: Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport
Address: 9100 Gulf Fwy, Houston, TX 77017-7009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 501 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Lone Star State during your stay at Houston Marriott South Hobby Airport. Our Houston Hobby Airport hotel's 287 deluxe guest rooms offer 32-inch plasma TVs, HD programming, digital media interface capabilities and comfortable bedding for the ultimate in relaxation. Experience our hotel near Hobby Airport with newly updated health center featuring an indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and outdoor patio to help you unwind after a day of meetings or sightseeing. For added convenience, our Hobby Airport hotel's amenities include a Concierge Level with private lounge, 24-hour business center, ATM, sundry shop, laundry services, complimentary parking and a 24-hour complimentary shuttle to Hobby Airport. Event hosts can wine and dine guests in 21,500 square feet of flexible meeting space that holds up to 1,000 people. Stay close to area attractions, including Toyota Center, Minute Maid Park, NRG Park, NASA, University of Houston, Kemah Boardwalk and Galveston to experience the best of Houston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing