We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well positioned for Hobby A/P but for nothing else.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport
Ranked #174 of 504 Hotels in Houston
Melbourne
Level Contributor
129 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Well positioned for Hobby A/P but for nothing else.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2011

Stayed 3 nights here for the OTC exhibition. Consequently the cost was very high and was chosen as everything more central in Houston was full. A long way from anything except the Hobby A/P (note, not the International A/P).
The staff were all good but the hotel is very tired and maintainance either has little budget to fix things or nobody cares. Plumbing in particular needs a total revamp. I had 3 tries to get the toilet to flush properly.
I was on the top floor with preferential facilities but even that high there the noise from the freeway was continuous. I did sleep however.
The WiFi internet was charged at $12.5 per day, for the price I had to pay that should have been complimentary. On the other had WiFi was free in the Lobby.
On the good side : The bed was comfortable, breakfast was good and the bar was friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the East side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicnzsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    100
    93
    21
    19
See reviews for
65
45
21
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2011

More and more, Marriott is charging extra for everthing. Internet service is now $12.95 a day, Coffee in the lobby bar is $3.00 with no refill. I build up points and couldn't even use them during St. Patricks Day with my family because they were not offering "rewards stay" in the city where my family picked to vacation. I'm sure that if you're on someelses dime you don't care, but I do.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taasinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2011

I had an early flight out of Houston and wanted to stay near HOU. The hotel is certainly close. Check in went smoothly and I was assigned a room on the second floor. As I was walking to my room, I noticed a thick build up of dust along the edges of the walls. Upon entering my room, the bed and television looked nice and new, but the rest of the room was shabbly. There was mold in the tile of shower and bathroom floor tile was not clean and had loose hairs. (not mine) I ordered room service for dinner and only one type of soup was available (black bean). Noise was very loud from atrium at night. Drapery had a hole in it. Window wall had peeling paint and black granite nightstands were dusty. I probably will try the Hilton next time.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goo0325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wethersfield, CT
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

The best part of this hotel are the employees who work there. Friendly and responsive, even to a difficult guest like me. I'm not normally difficult at hotels. But the first, second and third rooms that I was offered all had issues with either the HVAC or electrical systems (mainly, an electronic buzz coming from the PA system speaker), or was so close to the fans and HVAC units on the roof of the kitchen that it would have made sleep difficult. The 4th room was fine, and I am grateful for the patience of the gentleman at the front desk for accommodating me. This brings up two issues. One is, I can't help but wonder if when someone books through Travelocity that the hotel gives those guests the less-desireab le rooms. The other issue is in regard to the physical condition of the hotel. The rooms and public areas had newer, clean carpets. The fitness center and pool were fine and the food was very good. But other parts of this hotel need to be updated. The HVAC system and electrical system are outdated and noisy. My guess is the hotel was built in the late 1970's, judging by some of the woodwork and decor. The doors were old, but had new hardware. From a service and food perspective, this hotel is up to Marriott standards, but from a physical plant perspective, there's some work to be done. The hotel is very close to the airport, but you should know that the area is a very busy, mixed-use region, located very close to the Gulf Freeway.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmvoicever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2010

1 The AC didn't work well in our room. The temp stayed in the upper 70's in the room. It took 5 calls to the front desk before someone checked on it. He said that we could change rooms, but they needed plenty of notice so they could find a suitable room. We told them to forget it and we had to use a fan my daughter bought.

2. We requested a crib for the baby, but never got it.

3. Parents were allowing their children to swim nude in the pool. Ew.

4. The bars are closed on the weekend.

I had used my Marriott reward points to pay for the room. Maybe if we had paid "real money", we would have received better service.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank popuplily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2010

The marriott houston hobby was a decent place to stay. Important to me are clean rooms, and I definitely had one. The sheets, mattress, pillows, furniture, etc were very pristine, as was the bathroom. It seems in this day and age that hotels are filthy and unattended to, so this was a nice surprise for me. Breakfast was very good, but the dinner in the bar was average, the seats weren't the cleanest and my food was average. Overall, I would definitely stay here because of the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flygirlpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
888 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 927 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2010

Let's just say that I am shocked that this property is a Marriott. I stay in hotels about 150 nights a year and my wife and I were in Houston for a family event that only required a one night stay and after checking in to this place, I'm glad it was only for one night! I am a Platinum Marriott Rewards member and there was no recognition of my status at checkin and the agent didn't even know what I was talking about when I asked about my Platinum amenity. After about 20 minutes of trying to describe what I was referring to, I finally gave up.

The room was basic, but the padding on the bed was lumpy and the bathroom was poorly caulked and ad lots of mold. Had it not been so late, we would have checked out and gone to another hotel, but we were tired and just wanted to get a good nights sleep and get the heck out. Unfortunately, before we were able to do so, my wife and I had to strip the bed of the sheets and move the lumpy mattress pad around and remake the bed before we could rest comfortably. We still didn't sleep well, and we were up and out by 9AM because we just couldn't take it anymore.

Fortunately, Angelina at the front desk was a blessing in disguise when we told her about our checkin experience and the miserable night, comping breakfast and refunding $100 of the room rate and apologizing profusely for not being recognized as a top level Elite member at checkin. So, although the property needs some work, the Marriott Spirit prevailed in its staff.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank romadaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Houston Hobby Airport
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Houston Hobby Airport
0.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Houston Hobby Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Houston Hobby Airport
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Houston Hobby Airport
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Houston Hobby Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport

Property: Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport
Address: 9100 Gulf Fwy, Houston, TX 77017-7009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 504 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Lone Star State during your stay at Houston Marriott South Hobby Airport. Our Houston Hobby Airport hotel's 287 deluxe guest rooms offer 32-inch plasma TVs, HD programming, digital media interface capabilities and comfortable bedding for the ultimate in relaxation. Experience our hotel near Hobby Airport with newly updated health center featuring an indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and outdoor patio to help you unwind after a day of meetings or sightseeing. For added convenience, our Hobby Airport hotel's amenities include a Concierge Level with private lounge, 24-hour business center, ATM, sundry shop, laundry services, complimentary parking and a 24-hour complimentary shuttle to Hobby Airport. Event hosts can wine and dine guests in 21,500 square feet of flexible meeting space that holds up to 1,000 people. Stay close to area attractions, including Toyota Center, Minute Maid Park, NRG Park, NASA, University of Houston, Kemah Boardwalk and Galveston to experience the best of Houston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing