We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, but still some flaws”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Channelview
Ranked #88 of 504 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good, but still some flaws”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

Ah yes, nothing says being in oil refinery country like looking out your hotel window to see a refinery stack burning waste fuel and lighting up the night sky! Despite the harsh night skyline, this La Quinta does a number of things well and provided a very good stay. Entry into the lobby shows an expansive room with ample lighting and staff quick to help. The hotel is VERY clean in all areas and well lit. My room featured a king bed, quite comfortable, but was on the smallish side. Not a big deal since I didn't need a lot of room. The room did have a fridge, microwave, and medium-sized flatscreen LCD TV with great channel selection.

The bathroom was very clean, well lit, but was a bit light on the amenities. One small shampoo bottle and a bar of soap isn't even up to other La Quinta standards. Nevertheless it worked for me.

My biggest disappointment was with the breakfast buffet. A staffer was in the area but said nothing to me and never offered to help or make me a waffle or whatever. They were too busy chatting with a friend in the room. The buffet selection itself was typical LQ. Nothing special but satisfactory. It could have been better.

Overall, I definitely would stay here again but there's a bit of work to be done before I'd be calling this 5-star comparable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Portastorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    39
    14
    1
    4
See reviews for
51
12
7
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Mom can't stand at all. This room is exactly what she needed. Her toilet bench had plenty of space and she was able to use it with no problems. The only improvement I can see that would further enhance the room for a handicapped person is a roll-in shower, and lower the bed about 4 inches, or make it adjustable. The little fridge and microwave in the room was appreciated, and an added bonus. Thank you La Quinta!

Room Tip: nice room for many people with handicaps
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank BakFanLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Very nice and fairly new Hotel with nice ammenities. I particularly enjoyed the pavilion with BBQ grills and the Gazebos. The friendliness of the staff was a breath of fresh air.
Rooms were clean and the Hotel was kept up very nicely. The grounds were maintained well with great landscaping and water features.






  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OK
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Was in town for the dog show and this was the host hotel. It is a very nice hotel. The front office staff were very polite and helpful. They had a good breakfast and a big area for the breakfast. They had a great place to walk dogs. The rooms were big and comfortable. Plenty of room. Beds were comfortable. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: A message to those who travel with pets. Please pick up after your pets. Please do not let your pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lurcorsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houston
3.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston East at Normandy
3.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Houston Channelview
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Houston I-10 East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Willowbrook
29.6 mi away
HYATT house Houston/Energy Corridor
16.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Houston North IAH
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Channelview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Channelview

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Channelview
Address: 5520 E Sam Houston Pkwy N, Houston, TX 77015-3263
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 504 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Channelview 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, LaQuinta, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Channelview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing