We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude management--stay away!!!”

Toro Japanese Steak House & Sushi Bar
Ranked #1,097 of 8,239 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rude management--stay away!!!”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

It's alarming to me how the management continuously mistreats regular customers.... challenging them... nickel and dining them.... charging for tap water on a $75 bill--really???? Do you really want to treat a regular customer that way that's spent many thousands of dollars at your establishment. Simply ridiculous!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robertbroussard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    16
    6
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Horrible management”
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Management is terrible. Seated where exhaust fan blasted down on us food cold before we could eat it. Manager rude and could care less

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Sushi Birthday Dinner”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

My family and I went here for my father's birthday dinner. The service was wonderful - hostess, wait staff and managers were very friendly and attentive. Sushi is definitely better than RA Sushi and I would say comparable to Kubo's or Azumas. If you don't want to travel too far in town of Houston for Japanese food, this place is worth checking out!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great lunch and atmosphere”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Went into Toro's expecting a typical Sushi/Japanese lunch, but the food and atmosphere were both better than expected. It was nice to have a separate room for those wanting Sushi and not to be forced to compete with the shows. I would definitely go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ellissea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ok neighborhood restaurant”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Toro is a neighborhood sushi restaurant. What it lacks in service, it makes up for with a well menued happy hour that runs later than most. Not the best in town, but it is consistent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D4Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toro Japanese Steak House & Sushi Bar also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Toro Japanese Steak House & Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing