We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice comfortable theater for annual Dance Salad performances.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Wortham Center

Wortham Center
Ranked #53 of 290 things to do in Houston
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This majestic theater houses the Houston Ballet and the Houston Grand Opera.
AUSTIN
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice comfortable theater for annual Dance Salad performances.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

The most important thing for a theater is comfortable seats with a good food which the Wortham Center has. Nothing to fancy about the theater itself. Its in the northwest corner of downtown near the Bayou Center but otherwise not near too many other dining options; hence, four stars instead of five.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AuxTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    29
    6
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
560 reviews
120 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
“I was let down...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

Now normally when we go to The Wortham Theater we have a splendid time however this past Friday was terrible. It was a production by The Gilbert and Sullivan Society of The Sorcerer. It was awful and I mean awful! We left about 30 mins into it! It was a mess from the beginning ...when we went to pickup our tickets from will call they were on hand written slips of paper which didn't even have the time of the performance on them!
When we arrived at the theater the usher taking tickets (there was another affair going on simultaneously) he didn't even know what these tickets were... Disaster

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Montecore1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“World Class Theater”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is the home of the Houston Ballet Company... I have never been a fan of the Ballet till last year... Oh what a surprise.. The talent of the dancers and the music of the orchestra is excellent.
I now have season tickets.. See one and you can become HOOKED.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ragusecastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
141 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Ballet is a disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Went to the ballet for years, they are not up to a tour d' force of performing Ravel works, good, but not great.
They are more of a Tchaikovsky 1,2,3 , dance tempo. A standard family ballet who cannot compete with the creativity and daring of a European troupe. Their Dracula was very good, Rites of Spring and Daphnes et Chloe was quite good, but when they run out of ideas, they run around the stage in a line until the next few measures are positioned, they lose their thread of the narrative. Houston has a long way to go to say they are a cultural city.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank fjorthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Houston Ballet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

Saw "Swan Lake". This performance was outstanding. If you've never been to the ballet, this is a great first one to see. It is quite long, so maybe not great for young children.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasTraveller512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wortham Center also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Wortham Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing