We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Soto Exhibit a Must See” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museum of Fine Arts, Houston

Museum of Fine Arts, Houston
Book In Advance
More Info
$59.00*
and up
Houston CityPass
Ranked #2 of 283 things to do in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The first municipal art museum in Texas is most well-known for its Impressionist and Post-Impressionist art, and also includes Baroque and Renaissance art, African tribal art, a sculpture garden and a teaching wing, where the works of students and top Texas artists are displayed.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
125 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Soto Exhibit a Must See”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

A fun, interactive exhibit that made us feel like kids again. Be sure to have someone take a picture as you are walking out of the tubes. Also go to the lower level and walk through the James Turrell light tunnel.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgetown78626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,906 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,327
    476
    81
    15
    7
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Deserves all the credit gets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

They've worked very hard to build a top flight museum and they've succeeded. It's worth every penny and it's important to keep an ear out because they are constantly rotating their collection and bringing in touring collections from around the world. I've spent hours wandering around and have enjoyed it immensely.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachBoysFan1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“If you love art, go here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

We loved this place. It didn't hurt that the very first thing we did upon entering was experience the massive interactive installation piece "Houston Penetrable" by Jesus Rafael Soto. Astounding. The rest of the exhibits were great too. Some great pieces in the temporary exhibition "Houghton Hall" as well.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank thursowick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Exquisite art”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

I really enjoyed partaking in the cultural atmosphere of this fine museum! The artwork is very beautiful and thought-provoking! I enjoyed the variety of subjects in this museum. In the future, I plan to visit again when I am in the Houston area because there are too many fine specimens to cover in one day, unless you set aside an appropriate amount of time.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Seniorita_surfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“We are members - it's worth it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

We absolutely love this place. This is one of the better art museums in the USA. Ever-changing exhibits and special features the visits never get old. As members we can come & go and not feel like we have to "get our money's worth" each time. It's a great place to spend a hotter than h*** afternoon, among the cool marble halls and fantastic art.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank visitor_67220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Fine Arts, Houston also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Museum of Fine Arts, Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing