We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Convention and Meeting Center - Could Use More Signs”

George R. Brown Convention Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$39.95*
and up
Houston Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #29 of 290 things to do in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Convention and Meeting Center - Could Use More Signs”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My lovely wife and I went down to the GRB today to check out a couple of the shows/sales setups. I love this place from the point of view of it being well-laid out and well-designed. Plus, if you don't mind paying $10 for parking, you don't have to walk too too far. My one complaint: It's hard to figure out exactly where your show is. This place is huge and the signage out front is not. I recommend that you try to locate the specific portion of this very long building that you're headed for before you're down there trying to decide which parking lot to head for. Other than that, it's far better than most of the huge big convention and meeting facilities you find in most places.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank edwardsjbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    104
    45
    11
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Columbia, Texas
Level Contributor
139 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I've been here for different functions. The place is large and can hold different events simultaneously. This is where we volunteer to feed the less fortunate at Thanksgiving. Discovery Green is across the street. The hotel has a walkway to it. Parking is all around. It's always clean.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank adventurermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“So much to do.”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Went there for a fishing show and loved it. Restrooms are clean and it's wide open to where you don't feel like your going to get run over by others.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank tjzizzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Huge”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

There is so much space here and so many rooms, be careful you do not get lost! Parking can be expensive if there is something going on at Minute Maid park down the street, and parking is a little hard to find because of Discovery Green across the street. The Starbucks upstairs is supposed to be open daily and it wasn't the whole time I was there. Not too many food establishments close by and can be kind of confusing to find an entrance from the expressway.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, AR
Level Contributor
263 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Take your walking shoes”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The Convention Center is big so take your walking shoes. There are several entrances and exits, but for crowd control they may let use just a few at the NRA show.
We had to walk another three blocks to into the building when we got to the building.
We had to pay $30 to park within four blocks and you could not get to the underground parking directly across from the convention center.)

Food is limited and expensive. We had a hard time finding restaurants that were open in the area on my trip.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank lsj1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George R. Brown Convention Center also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to George R. Brown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing