We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun with Caution” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hermann Park

Hermann Park
Book In Advance
$35*
and up
Houston from Above and Below: Chase Tower and Underground Tunnel Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The first public park in Houston provides a wooded site with picnic areas, running trails, lots of on-leash dog walking areas, the Houston Zoological Gardens, a public golf course and an outdoor theater featuring plays and live music.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
96 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fun with Caution”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This park has a wonderful picnic ground and outdoor garden that is great to peruse in the evenings. However, beware of the homeless population there. Unfortunately, on more than one occasion, my students have witness inappropriate scenarios. In addition, the water sprinklers can be dangerous with so many children playing on slippery, wet concrete. Beware!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank DeniseYRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    424
    246
    50
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice Park, Always packed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Hermann park is a nice place. We went there to kill some time and fed the ducks before we went to the Zoo. Tons of people everytime we go...not the park to go to if you're trying to unwind....more along the lines of a place for kids

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My husband and I love to pack a picnic and come to Hermann Park on the weekends. We typically relax near the reflection pond and there are plenty of perfect spots under the huge trees to throw down a blanket and get comfortable. It's so nice to people watch and enjoy nature. We always bring a couple of things to do (Frisbee, football, dominoes, etc.) and spend a couple of hours out there. The Miller Outdoor Theater is extremely close and there is always something going on and it's typically a free event. Sometimes the parking lots fill up so try to get there a little early (we normally park by the gardens) and if that is full there is always the parking garage connected to the Museum of Natural Science. Whenever we are out there we always notice a few homeless people but never enough to feel uncomfortable and there are plenty of families nearby so I suppose everyone else feels comfortable as well. There are a bunch of things to do nearby (zoo, golf, museums, outdoor theater) and within walking distance. Bring a camera because there are lots of nice spots to snap photos. Great spot to visit for both locals and visitors!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrsHoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Favorite spot in Houston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Hermann Park has quickly become my favorite spot in Houston. Great place for picnics, workouts and free shows at the Miller Outdoor Theater!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank hawkrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
212 reviews
129 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“Nice afternoon in the sun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Hermann Park is very large and there is plenty activities to keep you entertained. The reflecting pool is very similar to the on in Washington DC. There is splash pad for kids to enjoy at one end of the reflecting pool which is great on a hot day. Nearby is the Japanese Gardens. They are very lovely gardens that are worth a walk through. It wasn’t too busy on the Sunday we were there but it was extremely hot so that could be why.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank kesibmik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hermann Park also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Hermann Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing