We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful Stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sycamore Heights

Sycamore Heights
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sycamore Heights
Ranked #14 of 44 Houston B&B and Inns
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The hosts were very accomodating and friendly, and the house was charming and comfortable. We stayed in the West Suite, and the only negative aspects for us were that our restroom was not connected to the room itself, and that there was no television in the bedroom, but instead in the sitting area of the suite. This room would be perfect for a family of four because the sitting room does not have couches, but has two twin sized beds. Some of the things that we especially enjoyed, however, were that there was a small fan in the room that provided white noise for sleeping and a breeze, and the bed was extremely comfortable. There were comfy robes for our use in the closet, and we sat out on the front balcony and shared a bottle of wine as we waited on our taxi (which never came, by the way, so I wouldn't recommend relying on yellow cab in that area). Breakfast was delicious and we thoroughly enjoyed the company of the other guests. All in all, we had a great experience here and would certainly stay again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    7
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
10
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
146 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

The people that own the house are very nice. Rooms are large and very clean. Location is in Houston Heights with many shops and eaters. Great location to atay central. You can walk the neighborhood. Great place yo shop antiques because in historical area of Houston.

Helpful?
Thank Bear4747
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I tried to book a room at this inn for a holiday weekend. Only after making the reservation did they tell me they wouldn't be honoring their cancelation policy stated on their website. Then a month later, they asked me to cancel my reservation because they received a 'better offer' - another guest willing to stay additional nights vs my reservation. No where on their website was a minimum stay required. Now my husband and I are scrambling to find an alternative. The owners are very short in communications and use poor English or just don't take the time to explain their intentions - I would think twice before staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jeanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I love B&Bs and have stayed in many over the past 20+ years. My best friend and I stayed in the "Carriage House" of Sycamore Heights for a weekend in mid-July, 2012. I'll start with the positives: 1) The B&B is one short block from W. 19th St., with antique and other "fun" shopping and casual dining options. 2) The back courtyard (between the main house and the "Carriage House") is beautifully landscaped (and, for the most part, well-maintained) with fruit trees, flowering shrubs and vines, water features and towering mature shade trees. 3) The "Carriage House" provides privacy and plenty of room for two guests.

Unfortunately, the negatives outweigh the positives for this property: 1) The "Carriage House" looks like a poorly maintained garage apartment. The main door leading onto the courtyard has unfinished framing, as if the entryway was never completed. Ditto for door at top of stairs leading into the suite. 2) Bathroom has cheapest possible builder-grade fixtures and a cracked and dried out dollar store shower caddy to hold toiletries plus doorknob is about to fall off. 3) No central A/C and when we first arrived most of the interior was uncomfortably warm, esp. the bathroom. Also, A/C unit is in the dining area, not the bedroom. Bathroom was not adequately cool throughout our stay. 4) Much of the "antique" furniture was in desperate need of refinishing. 5) Interior of refrigerator and outside of kitchen trash can were dirty. 6) If you stay in the "Carriage House," you do not have access to the main house except at breakfast. 7) Breakfast, while tasty, was nothing special. 8) The property needs numerous minor and a few major repairs throughout and overall gives the impression of being unfinshed and slightly neglected (and I don't mean that in a romantic "shabby chic" historic house kind of way).

Other things to know: parking is on street and the iron is chained to the ironing board!

Overall, a disappointment and not recommended...

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, choose rooms in the main house and avoid the "Carriage House."
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank texastraveler522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

For this price you could probably stay in one of the many freeway-side suites, but then you wouldn't have a quiet, pleasant neighbourhood to wake up to, and a delicious breakfast served to your table.

The house itself also makes for a welcome change from the spartan interiors of many hotel rooms; grand old antique furniture everywhere, original wood panelling and big heavy doors. This does make it a little darker inside than your normal fluorescent-drenched interior. At the same time there is free Wifi and decent aircon.

The owners really made our stay, they were very friendly and helpful, and served up a great breakfast. I wish we our stay had been longer. We will certainly return when we are next in Houston.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YourLocalGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wylie, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

We stayed for three nights in the apartment over the garage that looked over the garden and it was perfect for us. The furnishings in the apartment aren't antiques like the rooms in the house but everything was comfortable and cozy. The apartment included a kitchen, dining room, living room and bedroom and the bed was very comfortable. I especially appreciated how clean everything was. The bathroom looked like it had recently been updated and the tub and floor were sparkling clean. The house itself was very impressive with beautiful bedrooms upstairs. Pat and Sergio were gracious hosts and supplied us with a delicious breakfast each day. Their home is located in the middle of the Heights area in Houston and we were in walking distance of charming shops and antique stores. We are in Houston several times a year and plan on staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask about Wifi access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanaTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, Mississippi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights here and it was just perfect for us. Nice old Victorian home with creaky floors which added to its charm. We had the East room--very comfortable bed and great water pressure in the walk-in shower. Sergio's breakfasts were tasty and wonderful! Good coffee, too. But the best part was the location--in walking distance to the shops on 19th Street in the Heights. I was somewhat apprehensive about visiting Houston again after many years of being away (traffic, crime, etc.), but the neighborhood feel of the Heights made our trip very pleasant. The place was very easy to find and we were also not far away from the places we had come to Houston to see.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nooboo29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 489 in Houston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,071 reviews
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Houston
Magnolia Hotel Houston
#20 of 489 in Houston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,652 reviews
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#3 of 489 in Houston
4.5 of 5 stars 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sleep Inn & Suites
#139 of 489 in Houston
4.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Downtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sycamore Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sycamore Heights

Property: Sycamore Heights
Address: 245 W 18th St, Houston, TX 77008-4005
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Greater Heights
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sycamore Heights 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Sycamore Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing