We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical - not great - very noisy room, nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Super 8 Iah West/Greenspoint
Ranked #223 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We ended up at this hotel when the prepaid reservation we had at a hotel next door was sold to someone else and that hotel set it up so the Super 8 would accept us. The front desk staff were pleasant and while we were thankful to have a room - and the room was spacious and clean - it was very noisy through the night from street noise. It was showing it's age - burns in the carpet, minimal quality toiletries, the thinnest towels I have ever seen - virtually see-through and very small bath towels.
The breakfast was basic- cold cereal, bagel, juice, coffee. The room did have a fridge and microwave.
We would not have selected this hotel but were grateful to have a place to stay after being bumped by the other place.

Room Tip: Not sure location contributed to the outdoor noise - we were on third floor at the front. The other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muklukmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 201 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

You cannot expect 5-star quality at an inexpensive motel. We usually stay at "budget" motels when travelling, and I must say that as budget hotels go, this particular Super 8 on the Sam Houston Tollway in North Houston is excellent. The rooms are clean, the atmosphere is nice, the staff were friendly, it's a recently built property so it's not old enough to be having problems, and it's close to TWO major highways.
We first stayed at this Super 8 because it was not far from Sam Houston Race Park, where we were headed, but ever since, we've stayed here when in Houston, even if it wasn't the closest motel to where we would be. There is a wide range of quality in the Super 8 chain, but this is one of the nicest, if you put cost above fancy amenities.
The breakfast was not as good as some Super 8's (although better than others---at least the chain no longer offers the infamous "Toast Bar"), but you could make fresh waffles, there was fruit, there was biscuits, and you can always fall back on oatmeal. If that's not good enough, there's a Waffle House down the street.
Overall, I give it a high rating, as Super 8 motels go. It was clean, comfortable, friendly, and I plan to stay there again when we next visit Houston in March.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank django
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This stay was at the end of a long 3 week family vacation trip so it was just about having a place to stay in the night before our flight. The motel meets all your basic needs: clean, spacious rooms, hot showers, free breakfast. Service was not rude but no big smiles.

Not sure why anyone would stay here if they didn't need to be near the airport because there are no views (other than the roads and the large power station just opposite) and there does not seem to be any POIs nearby. They have free wi-fi and some in-room dining options if it's not convenient for you to go out to buy food.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gumbokins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The hotel was very clean. No weird or disgusting smells. It was a really peaceful stay for my boyfriend and I. There was free WiFi and a pool. Though we didn't get to use the pool because it was too cold. There is also a nice TV, fridge and microwave in the room. Our room key was only programmed for one night instead of 2 as it should have been, but when we went to the front desk to fix it there wasn't any issue. The only negatives I have are the house keeping staff knocked on our door at 9 a.m. to try and clean the room even though we had the "DO NOT DISTURB" sign on the door. Also, they need to put more than just 2 bath towels in the bathroom. Some women, such as myself, prefer one towel for our hair and another for our body.
We don't necessarily favor Houston, but if we had to go back, we would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Room 217 was wonderful. King bed, Good Air Conditioning. Not a great view though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tabberz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

The room was very nice, it was neutrally decorated and everything was clean and pleasant. The internet was okay and there was a nice flat screen tv. The toilet clogged the first time it was used. We mentioned the clogging in the lobby and they just gave us a plunger and didnt even offer to sent someone to take care of it. That would have been fine for a cheaper hotel, we just expected more. The service at the front desk wasnt great at any time. The hosts seemed like they didnt want to be there and it took a while for them to come to the front desk from the back as service was needed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purnukka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
0.1 mi away
Wingate Houston Bush Intercontinental Airport IAH
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus North Houston Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Houston IAH / Beltway 8
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwest Inn & Suites
6 mi away
Rodeway Inn Houston
Rodeway Inn Houston
#378 of 517 in Houston
22 reviews
10.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Houston - Northwest - HWY 290 - Hollister
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Iah West/Greenspoint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Iah West/Greenspoint

Address: 1230 N Sam Houston Pkwy E, Houston, TX 77032-2930
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $69 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Iah West/Greenspoint 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brand NEW Super 8 IAH West/Greenspoint is located minutes away from the Houston George Bush Intercontinental Airport and Greenspoint Business District. All rooms at our Super 8 feature microwaves, refrigerators, wired and wireless internet access, alarm clock radio, hairdryer, Coffee Makers, 32 Inch Flat Panel TVs with DirecTV Residential Experience, including 142 channels with over 80 HD Channels! Complimentary Hot Breakfast is also included! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Super 8 Iah West/Greenspoint reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing