We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whimsical, cosy and so welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Robin's Nest Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #3 of 49 Houston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Whimsical, cosy and so welcoming”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I only stayed here one night with my family, but it was most definitely a trip highlight. Cecelia's Room was just beautiful; such lovely furnishings and colour scheme. Indeed the common area's were just as fun and unique. Robin was a very gracious host as were the other staff. The guests were all fascinating and warm too. The breakfast though was a stand out! Oh my goodness it was amazingly delicious! I absolutely loved staying here and want to return to Texas just so I can visit again. For longer this time hopefully. The negative reviews here puzzle me though. The furniture was old but that of course is part of the magic. Everything was clean and kept in good order. I wish my house was as beautiful as Robin's B&B.

Room Tip: All the rooms are decorated very differently. Check out their website to pick your favourite. I chos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinsNestTx, Owner at Robin's Nest Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
It takes one to know one. . . You are gracious, whimsical and delightful. Come back to see us. I appreciate your taking the time from a busy schedule to remember us. The girls send their thanks yous and their appreciation. They take a lot of pride in their work.. Until the next time. Best, Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    48
    13
    12
    7
See reviews for
32
69
25
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I regret having to write this. I know everyone is having a tough time in business these days.
I gave Robin ample chances to resolve our issue but she has ignored every request.
So, here goes -

I booked Robin's for a week in early July, to serve as my base while house hunting in Houston. The room I had was adjacent to the kitchen. The second night night I woke up in the middle of the night, turned on the light to find german cockraches crawling across the floor of my room. I killed them, and went on to the kitchen to get a drink of water. When I turned on the Kitchen light literally THOUSANDS of roaches were crawling EVERYWHERE, walls, floors, on the counters and food prep areas, in and out of cabinets. I'm so glad I never ate food out of that kitchen.

I left immediately and stayed the night on a friend's sofa. The next morning, I returned to gather my things, and talk to Robin, who I thought would be as shocked as I was.

Of great surprise to me, Robin wasn't surprised at all. She readily acknowledged her ongoing roach problem. I told her this was untenable for me and I would have to check out. SHe apologized and agreed to refund me the unused nights, but that refund has never materialized.

Do yourself a huge favor and give Robin's a pass. Houston has so much better to offer than this jaded tear-down.

Room Tip: Avoid this location altogether.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank texasjane2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinsNestTx, Owner at Robin's Nest Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
I remember this guest. She left without telling me of her issue. I would have gladly moved her to another room and comp'd her the previous night. Her room was on the first floor of a pier and beam c.1890 Victorian Farmhouse, and adjacent to the kitchen. Houston has not had a freeze in several years. I don't use our warm winters as an excuse but rather an acknowledgement that we have to stay on top of this in a sub-tropical climate, and evidently we weren't on top of it on this particular room. I don't use highly toxic chemicals so a close schedule is mandatory. We're on it now. Anyone who reads our reviews will see that consistently we have high marks generally but specifically in housekeeping.

An irony: the offended guest left us with her charming dog's fleas. . .

Thank you for the opportunity to respond. Robin @ Robin's Nest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Our group (4 adults, 1 toddler) stayed 2 nights in the 2-bedroom apartment called "The Montrose Suite" while we were in town to attend the Rice Centennial. We had a great experience and left feeling very glad we had chosen Robin's Nest for our stay. The apartment is comfortably furnised and the decor is charmingly quirky. Loved the luxury shower head in particular. Easy on-street parking and close to everything - easy walk to pharmacy, restaurants/bars, Fiesta grocery store and light rail train system. Breakfast both mornings was delicious, and we all loved meeting and chatting with the eclectic collection of guests, the owner, and her staff. Everyone could not have been more welcoming. We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Houston - highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeccaS806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinsNestTx, Owner at Robin's Nest Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for your review. You, my guest, are very important to me. You're right: a good breakfast with interesting people is a great way to start the day. I look forward to your return. You are a good addition to the table. Until the next time, Best, Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Once charming and very artistic environment, alas a bit grimy and tired. Not worth the price for sure. We had to turn on the tap using the valve under the sink. The place is so dark for dramatic effect, after turning on all the lamps we tried to open the drapes and blinds to find all the cords were broken, then filthy windows. The querky paint job is worn out and the decor is so cluttered we could not function in the room. Only one dish of peppers with scambled egg is offered for breakfast, sweet rolls and no toast. Time for a complete redo!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cjcatchall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinsNestTx, Owner at Robin's Nest Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Upon investigation, It appears housekeeping and the office were not communicating. The hot water spigot (housekeeping) had been turned off because it was leaking, but the plumber had not been called (the office). So it appears there was a slip between the cup and the lip.

This guest has us confused with someone else regarding what we served them for breakfast. We don't serve peppers and eggs, and we certainly never serve anyone sweet rolls. Our unerring preference is fresh, whole foods.

In terms of "tired" surroundings, I think that may be in the eye of the beholder as it may appear that way to another eye. This is an 1890 Victorian Farmhouse. I lean toward artsy, funky, elegant, as well as plebeian pieces. What is tired to one person, may be character to another. Notwithstanding, I appreciate the input and will make another walk through of the Inn with a critical eye. It could surely be that something needs to be replaced. Robin's Nest has been in business 21 years and we're not perfect. Well, in some things, maybe . . . Thank you for your time and the opportunity to respond, Robin @ Robin's Nest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
157 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This place is pretty text-book B&B. It does feel like you are staying in someone's home. The self check-in was convenient. Breakfast was exceptional. The folks we met at breakfast were mostly professionals doing some extended stays for their work - a very interesting and smart bunch. The only stumbles were the weak A/C in the upstairs bedrooms (it was fine at night, but couldn't keep up in the daytime) and the weak internet signal upstairs. It is a very walkable neighborhood.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindymae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We choosed Robin´s nest because we wanted to stay somewhere close to westminister road (for shopping) and midtown (for eating and drinking) and this was the only alternative within our budget. In reality it wasn´t close to anything. (Or close to everything if you have a car) Robin´s nest is exactly what it wants to be and what they claim to be. If you are not interested in feeling like you are staying at someones home than you should choose another accomondation.
Things are worn and not top-notch but it´s clean and the staff do everything to make you feel welcome.
Parking is on the street and there are lots of free spaces. Breakfast is very good but tell them in advance if you have a special diet. I´m a vegetarian so my boyfriend had to eat two plates:) The room was huge with a kitchen and private bath. There was even a little "balcony", see photos. There were lots of different books in our room about Houston. This was very appreciated!
I recommend this place to everyone who wants to meet other people and don´t want to stay in a big unpersonal hotel. That´s what I prefer so I will probably not come here again but the rating is because it is a great place if you are into that thing and it is what they say it is.

Room Tip: Antonios room is upstairs and there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Great place, great rooms, private baths, friendly staff...breakfast tries to be too fancy, if that makes sense, so if you have any special dietary needs make sure they know in advance, the only issue we had was with breakfast. I even forgot something and they mailed it to me

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank issiis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Modern B&B
#62 of 506 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Hotel ZaZa Houston
#5 of 506 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 506 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#4 of 506 in Houston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Downtown
Hotel ICON, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robin's Nest Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robin's Nest Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Robin's Nest Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 4104 Greeley St, Montrose Museum Historical District, Houston, TX 77006-5609
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Robin's Nest Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Robin's Nest consists of three houses setting side by side (The Big Nest, an 1890 Victorian Farm house; The Little Nest, a 1920s Craftsman, and the Third Nest, a 1938 Southern Saltbox), in Houston's Museum and Arts District, also called Montrose; adjacent to downtown Houston and the Texas Medical Center. We serve a full or continental breakfast. We were voted Audience Winner by Citisearch and best B & B in Houston by Houston Press. We welcome children and pets. The rules are the same: We ask that they be clean, groomed, pest free, and well behaved. Several suites are suitable for long term stays. Robin created Robin's Nest in 1990 after another Houston oil bust. There have been numerous articles on the Inn, among them The New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Houston Post, Houston Chronicle, Texas Monthly, Southern Living, Houston Press. Come see us in the heart of Houston. You are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Robin's Nest Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robin`s Nest Hotel Houston
Robin`s Nest b&b Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing