We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE
Ranked #3 of 504 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
USA
2 reviews
“Nice boutique hotel”
Reviewed May 11, 2010

I have traveled frequently for business and this is by far one of the best, luxury boutique hotels I've ever stayed in. Very much like the boutique hotels in the UK: staff was pleasant, rooms modern and classy. They have an ultra lounge on the patio with music/band in the evening; nice continental breakfast spread in the a.m. Great location- would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank successfulbf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    223
    68
    19
    17
See reviews for
131
253
36
388
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
2 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2010

Although confusing to locate (not on rental car gps system) ; and once located it was difficult to find the hotel entrance (on 2nd floor), we finally managed to check in at the Hotel Sorella in the City Centre (located at the southeast intersection of the Katy freeway and the Sam Houston tollway). City Centre is a new development and has some great restaurants and a large movie complex. Hotel Sorella has contemporary styling throughout the public areas and the rooms. A complimentary breakfast buffet was delicious. We dined at several restaurants for at both lunch and dinner and enjoyed the variety of cuisines available. Bistro Alex, adjacent to the hotel lobby, has the most intriguing menu.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lemonlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2010

What a great find. Beautiful hotel about 15 minutes east of Downtown. The rooms were absolutely immaculate and inviting. The full bay windows gave us a great view of the surrounding area and high rises(not of downtown) in distance. The beds were very comfortable. The setting was very sleek and trendy. During dinner time, the area gets very busy with locals eating at the fancy places!! Beautiful walk in the area and lot of shopping in walking distance. The staff paid incredible attention to us. Morning breakfast is great, especially if you sit outside in the balcony overlooking the plaza. All in all, this is one of the best hotels I have come across throughout my travels. Very sleek, modern, moderately priced, quite yet not too far from entertainment. Parking is free at the attached parking garage.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gtd068a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
1,030 reviews
402 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,158 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2010

I stayed here for three nights as it is close to work and we get a good rate.

I liked that you weren´t stuck at the hotel and had many dining and shopping options a short walk away. As others noted, rooms are beautifully designed, spacious and super clean and modern. Wifi speed excellent. High Def. TV. Only issue with the room is dim lighting and low desk and chairs, making it cramped to sit down for those of us who are tall. Bathroom is great with high end toileteries. Service is friendly. Continental breakfast is free and high quality. Tiny gym and swimming pool a negative.

I wil be back.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poleinahole1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2010

Stayed one night before a business meeting the next day. The rooms are great: very comfortable and very well decorated, with a particular attention towards lots of "hip" details. The free internet is just one of the elements of a room with other amenities such as a clock radio with an iPod dock, a desk offering a connection to the TV for the laptop, and even a USB charging connection.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VancouverZep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2010

I decided to book a night at this new hip hotel for Valentine's Day. I got one of the "Valentine Day Romance: Do Not Disturb Package" I was very impressed with my room and the huge shower. The room is very big and comfortable. I did ask for a better view but they told me the hotel was booked-solid so I had to stay put. I loved the hotel hallways, staff and the complimentary breakfast downstairs (some of the best tea bags I have ever had)

The drinks were OK in the bar area and it was way to cold to sit outside by the pool but the atmosphere by the fire place in the bar was out of the world. I loved the room service (can you believe RA sushi delivers to the hotel?)

I really enjoyed myself at this hotel. Perhaps next time I will try to make it a true staycation and stay a couple of nights to take in some of the shops and wine lounges in CityCentre.

I will be back!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillPwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2010

Stayed at the Sorella for aprox 4 weeks over Feb /March.

Overall, very nice hotel, clean and all staff are courteous. The hotel is a tthe junction of I10 and Beltway 8, beside the Shearaton 4 Points Hotel. Its a new build in the new Town & County "Village" development, that has a number of bars and restraunts nearby. The majority of the village outlets have still to be rented, but the place is quite buzzing at weekends.

Bad points:
1. Difficult locating the hotel. The hotel has a roadsign on the Freeway sliproad, but when you enter block where the hotel is, there is nothing to tell you which building it is. The hotel building has a large sign in the window saying "Alex Bistro"? The hotel reception is on the second floor of the building.
When walking nearby the hotel, I have been asked by many people where the hotel is when they are practically outside the building.
2. The lift has an annoying beep that sounds at every floor it passes. As I was on the 8th floor, it gets annoying.
3. The swimming pool advertised doesn't isn't really more than an outdoor paddling pool. Its also next to a bar and restaurant, so not very secluded.
4. The lighting in the room is wierd, as its quite dim, and doesn't have a central point beside the bed to turn room lights off. You have to get up and switch lights off..........probably a minor moan, but after 4 weeks, its gets to you.
5. There is a gym, but its basically been stuck into a converted room in level 3. There are only 5 machines and weights. There is a proper gym across the way from the hotel that has all the facilities including a pool, but costs $10/ day entry.

Good Points:
1. Very new hotel, with quite funky touches to it. The decor is pleasant, and quite different from the mainstream hotels. Breakfast is a simple continental buffet in a funky lounge area that has a balcony overlooking the pedestrian area below. Quite pleasant in sunny mornings.
2. All staff are pleasant and courteous. Nothing was a problem to any (little) requests I made.
3. Very clean with large room (by European standard) and comfy crisp bed linen. Shower was pretty good with powerful jet.
4. Free WiFi, but some of the locations had low signal strength. Quite slow to log into, but once logged in, reasonable accessability.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beck_hoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 504 in Houston
1,364 reviews
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#2 of 504 in Houston
727 reviews
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#4 of 504 in Houston
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel ZaZa Houston
#5 of 504 in Houston
1,617 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE

Property: Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE
Address: 800 Sorella Ct, North Building, Houston, TX 77024-1488
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 504 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE 4*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Houston's Energy corridor and the Westchase district, in West Houston's CITYCENTRE development, Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE is a sophisticated modern boutique hotel. Ideally located, and within steps of sophisticated retailers, dining, entertainment and nightlife and nearby outdoor adventure in the form of jogging trails, biking paths, parks and recreation. Hotel Sorella offers 266 guest-rooms, suites and Penthouse suites. Hotel Sorella offers luxury and sophistication and is the perfect choice for for a romantic getaway, a short or extended business trip, or a group or conference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing