We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultra trendy and stylish... and just a little odd”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE
Ranked #5 of 511 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Ultra trendy and stylish... and just a little odd”
Reviewed December 15, 2009

I had read that Hotel Sorella was the latest and greatest addition to Houston's hotel scene--it opened in Summer 2009--and I was happy to score a promotional rate of under $200/night. I hadn't known what to make of its location when I was researching it online, and after having been there, I'm still scratching my head a bit.

Don't get me wrong... this is a terrific, upbeat place to stay. The rooms are spacious--I love the bare floors and especially the tubless shower. But like Houston itself, a huge city with zoning laws that allow for taco stands next to mansions next to massage parlors next to skyscrapers, where it's located strikes me as odd. At the southeast quadrant of the intersection of Beltway 8 and I-10, hardly the epicenter of trendy, hip Houston, you'll find Hotel Sorella and the new CityCentre complex. That's all well and good, but it's not marked, or at least not very well. I found that the best way to enter the complex was from the I-10 frontage road, immediately inside Beltway 8. Once you make the turn onto Town and Country Road, you'll be faced with a couple of inadequately marked options. Head to the parking garage and put the car there. Eventually, you'll walk to the opening that leads the hotel.

CityCentre has some interesting restaurants, but not a whole lot else... probably a result of the economy. The Galleria and other shopping isn't too far away. But if you're looking for something different and new in this part of town, at a reasonable price, this is it. My one solid negative is that the workout facility is lame. It's basically a guest room or two, divvied up to be one part fitness, one part spa. I understand that there's a snazzy Lifetime Fitness facility at CityCentre... had I stayed more than one night, I might have sprung for a day pass from there.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George_PConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    677
    231
    72
    20
    19
See reviews for
135
270
38
410
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2009

Hotel Sorella was very clean, simple, modern, comfortable, good service, worth every penny. I was attending a holiday work party and staying over night. My wife was with me. We have a 10 month old so sleep and nice hotel was important to us. The rooms are very modern and simple. Bathrooms are neat, large shower, bed was ver y comfortable. Love the HD tv and FREE WiFi everywhere (incl rooms). Staff was nice, you can tell it's a new hotel. I recommend you park in the garage vs the $20 valet, it is a very short walk, covered to the hotel. Most definently would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJMCSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gambier, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 30, 2009

I found a great deal at this hotel and it is brand new and the staff really wants to be helpful, which is nice to see. I have family that lives nearby and it is great that there is finally a nice hotel in the area to stay at when I come to visit. The room was spacious and well appointed. Housekeeping did an outstanding job, even putting my shoes in a row neatly in the closet.

The only negative I have, and this did not bother me, but there are a few bars directly below the hotel so you can hear the music and some of the crowds at night. It did not bother me, but if you are a light sleeper, just ask for a room on a higher floor or away from the bars.

The positives very much outweigh any negatives. Free WiFi in the room, free self parking in the garage, walking distance to shopping and restaurants, overall a great hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwblaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
Reviewed November 9, 2009

The Hotel is very crisp, elegant and modern with a hint of European class. The lounge/Bar is absoutly devine. I was very impressed with the professionalism of the staff, and the precise cleanliness of my room. Top star and great price. I will stay again and again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadybugfromMontery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2009

Talk about a hotel that pays attention to detail - clean, modern design with a unified design theme, a dramatic street-level entry, outstanding hotel bar and pool... so much to like about this place. We're so glad to see the Hotel Sorella opened up in CityCentre. The rooms are nice and spacious - about 400 sq ft with comfortable beds and views overlooking the west Memorial area. Love the lobby area for breakfast (simple continental style breakfast like you would find in Europe) and easy dining options at places like Straits, Eddie Vs and Ra Sushi. Look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brichford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

This hotel still is having construction work done so wait awhile before you book. The area near the hotel also has construction going on. The layout was also very odd with the lobby on second floor . So as you drive around it is hard to figure out from the outside where to go. The bellmen where great with the front desk needed some polishing. I asked for something we forgot to bring and they had none which I thought was odd.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brucesprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#2 of 511 in Houston
790 reviews
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 511 in Houston
1,466 reviews
Hotel ZaZa Houston
#6 of 511 in Houston
1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE

Property: Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE
Address: 800 Sorella Ct, North Building, Houston, TX 77024-1488
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 511 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE 4*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Houston's Energy corridor and the Westchase district, in West Houston's CITYCENTRE development, Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE is a sophisticated modern boutique hotel. Ideally located, and within steps of sophisticated retailers, dining, entertainment and nightlife and nearby outdoor adventure in the form of jogging trails, biking paths, parks and recreation. Hotel Sorella offers 266 guest-rooms, suites and Penthouse suites. Hotel Sorella offers luxury and sophistication and is the perfect choice for for a romantic getaway, a short or extended business trip, or a group or conference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing