We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Staycation Ever!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE
Ranked #7 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Staycation Ever!!!”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

This hotel was our choice for a weekend getaway for an anniversary celebration. Boy, were we impressed!!! Great customer service, fast check-in/check-out, excellent amenities. The pool area was exceptional, overlooking the heart of CityCentre. All the best dining and entertainment that Houston has to offer was, at most, three block away. We received a complimentary bottle of champagne just by mentioning it was our anniversary. Everything, from top to bottom, was exceptional. Free parking right next door, great water pressure in the shower, I mean everything. We will definitely make this our go-to spot for intown getaways!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SorellaGM, General Manager at Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
We are very happy to see you enjoyed your anniversary with us and hope you are able to make staying with us an annual tradition. Thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely,

Ryan Gullion
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    685
    234
    74
    21
    19
See reviews for
137
274
38
417
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I travel to Houston frequently and always stay at Hotel Sorella. The staff is very customer service focused and friendly. It is nice to be greeted by name and have the staff remember you and treat you like family after just a few repeat visits. George Tays always greets me by name when I arrive. Their rooms are comfortable and spacious. Their location is perfect for evenings after work. The Monnalisa is a great place to wind down after a long day at work. Curtis, Maxina, Maria and Raul are the best and always take care of me!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sajones332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SorellaGM, General Manager at Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to see that we consistently exceed your expectations.

Ryan Gullion
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I travel to Houston frequently and stay at the Sorella each time. The Hotel is in a great location and the rooms are great! The staff is very customer focused always trying to exceed their customers' expectations. From the front-desk (Stacy and Sarah do an outstanding job!!) to the management.

Room Tip: Corner Suites are roomy and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SorellaGM, General Manager at Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Stacy and Sarah do an outstanding job, thank you for recognizing them.

Ryan Gullion
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The hotel was great. Very convenient to shopping, dining and local business. It's well appointed with a modern elegant feel and has all the amenities you would expect in an upscale hotel.

I did not experience the noise issues that some reviewers complained of, but I did have a room on the upper floors. Perhaps it would be good to request that.

Room Tip: Try to get upper floors to avoid noise at ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beerdevil72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SorellaGM, General Manager at Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your feedback. We look forward to your many return trips.

Sincerely,

Ryan Gullion
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My wife and I visit houston at least once a year. We have stayed at several hotels in different areas including the St. Regis and the Four Seasons. The location of this hotel is by far the best location.

We were lured to booking this hotel as it had free wifi, free breakfast, and “complimentary” parking.

This hotel is ideally situated from a lot of restaurants, a great spa/salon, and some shopping stores (nothing luxurious).

The continental breakfast was limited but perfect. The fruit and croissants were fresh, and the ability to get a latte was just ideal.

The pool deck has a vibe to it. The chairs are limited and therefore we highly recommend you secure your seats as soon as you can. People used to leave their items on their benches, go out for breakfast/lunch, and come back.

And here is where the hotel lacks… The service of the staff at the hotel is very mediocre in nature. There is no ‘management’, there are no real answers to the questions being asked, and no one seems to know what to do other than what’s written in their job description.
For starters, we called the concierge to find out if local calls were free, we had to wait for someone to call us back which took 20 minutes.

We headed to the pool one morning and the chairs were fully taken. We sat on the towel basket until we can get a spot. One of the hotel guests came up to us and told us if we go to the concierge we can request a couple of chairs (which was something they did the previous day). So off we went to concierge (half a minute away) and requested our chairs. She confirmed that we will be out by the pool waiting for chairs. 3 hours go by, and nothing was delivered.

We wanted to get a suit for a wedding dry cleaned, and therefore we were tight on time. We called concierge to confirm that the dry cleaning service does take 24 hours, and they had to call us back to confirm. Upon our return to our room the next day, the suit wasn’t delivered, no notes or messages were left. We had to call and wait for the concierge to locate our suit and deliver it after 1 hour (1-2 a.m. at night).

And finally, upon checkout, we discovered that the complimentary parking was self-parking at the garage next door, meanwhile, we valet parked our car for 3 days and incurred a $21 dollar charge a day. Sadly, when we arrived, we confirmed with the parking attendant that this is the complimentary parking that the hotel provides, and he confirmed that it was. We felt like the booking should clearly indicate that complimentary parking is a self-park at the garage. And when you ask for clarity, you expect a correct answer. We felt bitter leaving the hotel as they refused to waive or reduce the fees.

The place is ideally located, clean, and has a vibe to it. But when the service is missing, it really ruins it for the hotel. I don’t think we will be staying here in the future. The lack of management or professionalism needs immediate attention, otherwise, I don’t see how a hotel can survive like this in this day and age.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank N0Ra_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SorellaGM, General Manager at Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you very much for your candid feedback regarding your stay. We do not feel your feedback is indicative of the service we provide. We are sorry we did not exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,

Ryan Gullion
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Just driving away from our one night stay at this beautiful hotel! I use trip advisor all the time to read reviews, but this is my first time to write one. Our stay was so great and the service was amazing. It was our 3rd anniversary and without asking, the hotel upgraded us to a room with a view and had champagne and chocolate covered strawberries waiting in the room. It was such a nice surprise. You can't beat the location and the bar overlooking the grassy area is great! We spent last night sipping our champagne while listening to live music on the large patio section of the bar. Would totally recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikijbrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SorellaGM, General Manager at Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for celebrating your anniversary with us. We do hope you make it an annual tradition.

Sincerely,

Ryan Gullion
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Be aware of what you are getting yourself into. Although a very nice hotel with super convenience to shopping, restaurants and night life, it is also very noisy at night. If you are unfortunate enough to get a room overlooking the courtyard of the local restaurants, you will be treated to music and crowd noise until the bars close. We were on the fifth floor and heard the crowds all night until closing time. I was unaware that live bands performed on the weekend until 11 PM. You will not receive any notice when you check in that your location will be noisy.

I was not going to complain in the middle of the night and try to move my entire family, but management was very apologetic and offered me a significant discount due to this problem when I checked out the next morning.

Otherwise, the hotel is chic and has some nice features that make it a great spot for an urban getaway. Hotel staff were johnny on the spot for any service issues needed. The courtyard was a kid magnet, and the kids loved playing with all the other kids that were down there. Though there was no playground equipment, all the kids seemed to be enjoying themselves with impromptu ball games and tag.

I DO recommend a visit as long as you get the room that you think you're getting, noisy or not.

Room Tip: Stay away from the courtyard area if you want a good night rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank txjsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SorellaGM, General Manager at Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. The courtyard side of our hotel is a lively environment on the weekends, many of our guests love the energy this adds to their stay with us. I am sorry to see that you did not share this opinion, but thrilled to see that we resolved this issue for you. Please return soon.

Sincerely,

Ryan Gullion
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#2 of 517 in Houston
808 reviews
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 517 in Houston
1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE

Property: Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE
Address: 800 Sorella Ct, North Building, Houston, TX 77024-1488
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE 4*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Houston's Energy corridor and the Westchase district, in West Houston's CITYCENTRE development, Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE is a sophisticated modern boutique hotel. Ideally located, and within steps of sophisticated retailers, dining, entertainment and nightlife and nearby outdoor adventure in the form of jogging trails, biking paths, parks and recreation. Hotel Sorella offers 266 guest-rooms, suites and Penthouse suites. Hotel Sorella offers luxury and sophistication and is the perfect choice for for a romantic getaway, a short or extended business trip, or a group or conference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing