We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to have a wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE
Ranked #4 of 508 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Great place to have a wedding”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

First of all, Hotel Sorella is well designed and thought out hotel. the planning is evident in everything from the exterior down to the smallest room. We've stayed before but this is the first review I've written. We were at the hotel for a friends wedding which was well done and the hall was perfect for what the bride and groom had planned. Helpful staff. at one point during the night, salads came out and my told me she couldn't eat hers due to the blue cheese crumbles. It was no problem to have it switched out for one without and it came out fast. The food was not only great but prompt as well. There was one problem, our toilet, in our room, was broken and wouldn't flush which was no fault of ours. The management sent up a nice guy to check out the problem and quickly confirmed that we have a major problem and will have to move up to another room. Moving to another room isn't ideal but the staff handled the problem quickly and concisely. We moved to another room and in the morning we ordered room service which was excellent. The in-room coffee was surprisingly good and the bed was sooooooo comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hustler2174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SorellaGM, General Manager at Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
We are very sorry you had to relocate during your stay. I am very happy to see the rest of your time with went well, we look forward to your return.

Ryan Gullion
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    228
    70
    19
    19
See reviews for
133
265
37
401
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
460 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 390 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Hotel Sorella is a very nice, modern hotel located in Houston’s City Centre, just west of downtown and the Galleria area. It is a medium- size hotel with nice accommodations, beautiful rooms, very good service, and great convenience to the shops, restaurants, and taverns in the City Centre area.

This hotel is memorable for many reasons and chief among them is the rooms. They are modern, classy, and offer large, floor to ceiling windows that allow the natural light to shine through as well as offer sweeping views of the area. For the best views and fun, try to get a room facing the plaza area. You will be able to view the action and, on the nights when there is a live band or other entertainment, you will have the advantage of viewing and enjoying from your room. If you prefer quiet, then ask for a Westside view.

Hotel Sorella offers several nice amenities outside of the rooms such as a restaurant, bar, and pool. The restaurant, known as the Bistro, is a little pricey but the food is quite memorable and it almost always posts some type of special to help keep tourists’ costs under control. The same can be said of the Monnalisa bar. The pool, adjacent to the bar, isn’t very big, but it does feature several cabanas and a certain aura of luxury.

Houston has many nice hotels in its vicinity and Hotel Sorella is certainly one of them. The rooms are very contemporary, the décor is elegant, and the service is above average. It’s a nice place to enjoy a weekend away from home and the shops, restaurants, taverns, and theaters of City Centre are all within walking distance. Try it out, and enjoy your stay at this award- winning west Houston hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with a westside view are quieter. The plaza side offers better views, but also more noise as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan_Carey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SorellaGM, General Manager at Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your detailed feedback regarding your stay with us. We also like our rooms on the west side of the hotel, great views of the Texas sunsets! Hurry back!

Ryan Gullion
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We booked Hotel Sorella for the location over July 4th weekend. Not only was it an excellent location, the shopping and restaurants in City Centre were amazing. We stayed 3 nights, the beds were extremely comfortable, complimentary continental breakfast was much more than advertised, and the service was impeccable. 3 main reasons we chose Hotel Sorella - complimentary wifi, no parking fees for hotel guests if you self park, and the breakfast. 3 reasons we will keep coming back - service, service, service! We had a wonderful July 4th weekend and cannot wait to get back.

Room Tip: Life Spa right around the corner has wonderful spa services and large spa facilities for those looki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cahill1397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SorellaGM, General Manager at Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay. I will be sure to share your feedback with the team!

Ryan Gullion
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Hotel Sorella City Center, Houston, Texas was a GREAT place to get away to for the long weekend.
Our room was great, overlooking the active patio area. The room was well furnished and kept clean daily. Your choice of food is not lacking in the hotel or the restraunts within walking distance. The various stores in the area offer a great opportunity to pick up those things forgotten or something new to take back home. The morning Continental Breakfast was a great hit with all that were staying at the hotel. This was not our first stay at Sorella and surely will not be our last.

Room Tip: A room with a patio view is really great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnwa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SorellaGM, General Manager at Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for spending your holiday with us. We appreciate the feedback, the fourth is very popular here, so please let your friends know to book early for next year.

Ryan Gullion
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just spent the weekend (7/5-7/7) at this hotel. It was our first experience at this property and I would highly recommend it to anyone. Its clean, modern, well run, and has all the amenities one would want in a hotel. The pool area is clean though a bit small. the rooms are luxurious and have all the modern conveniences you want. The staff was friendly and attentive- front desk staff courteous and helpful, valet parking very quick to take your bag or bring the car around, and the whole staff seemed eager to please their guests. City center offers lots of bars and dining options all within walking distance so you really don't need to get a cab or even leave the property. The restaurants are above average as are most of the shops in the area. If you want a family friendly place to stay, this is it. Lots of things for everyone to do and very kid friendly.

Room Tip: the higher up you go the more quiet it will be!! Also, rooms facing the Green may be a bit noisy so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nolaluvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SorellaGM, General Manager at Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us! We can't wait for you to return!

Ryan Gullion
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

I was really looking forward to my stay-cation here at the Hotel Sorella. Upon arrival to my double room I was surprised to see how small it was. the decor was minimalist at best, and while I appreciate knowing that my sheets are clean it really looks like my grandmother made up the bed with linens tucked under the mattress like she used to do in the country. I opened up the window to catch a glimpse of the view and saw dirty fingerprints all over the glass. now I'm no neatfreak but these greasy fingerprints are 100% distracting! I called the front desk and they offered to send someone up to clean it. I went in to take a shower and noticed that there was only one bar of soap but again I'm in a double room I would expect to have at least two bars of soap. I love City Centre, the ambience, shopping, entertainment complex, but for the price point this hoteI left me asking for more. I was also surprised because this hotel has a TON of excellent reviews. (Thats one of the reasons i chose the place) I'm not feeling it. Next time I will go somewhere else like Hotel Icon, Derek or Granduca.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TCSwanky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SorellaGM, General Manager at Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments regarding your recent stay. We are sorry we fell short of your expectations. We do hope you try us again!

Ryan Gullion
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We just spent our 2nd 4th of July at the hotel and it was great. Reserved a room overlooking the Green and sat eye level with the fireworks. The hotel is clean, modern and very quiet, and never heard a peep out of our neighbors through the connecting door. We ate at the hotel's Bistro Alex, and was slightly disappointed with the food. Management told us it was going through an ownership change and the menu will be changing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLG_houston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SorellaGM, General Manager at Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for spending America's birthday with us! We have a great time here every year and can't wait for you to join us again next year!

Ryan Gullion
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Hotel Granduca Houston
Hotel Granduca Houston
#2 of 508 in Houston
775 reviews
Downtown
The Lancaster
The Lancaster
#1 of 508 in Houston
1,438 reviews
Hotel ZaZa Houston
#6 of 508 in Houston
1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Whitehall Houston
The Whitehall Houston
#5 of 508 in Houston
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE

Property: Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE
Address: 800 Sorella Ct, North Building, Houston, TX 77024-1488
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 508 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE 4*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Houston's Energy corridor and the Westchase district, in West Houston's CITYCENTRE development, Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE is a sophisticated modern boutique hotel. Ideally located, and within steps of sophisticated retailers, dining, entertainment and nightlife and nearby outdoor adventure in the form of jogging trails, biking paths, parks and recreation. Hotel Sorella offers 266 guest-rooms, suites and Penthouse suites. Hotel Sorella offers luxury and sophistication and is the perfect choice for for a romantic getaway, a short or extended business trip, or a group or conference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelPower, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing