We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to Holiday Inn standard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston West-Energy Corridor
Ranked #295 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I thought all the Holiday Inn at least in North America were renovated to a certain standard, which in my opinion this location certainly did not meet. Lobby decorations and room furniture were all very old. Even if they are going for that classic Texas look it's not very well done at all. Light bulbs in the rooms are all bright white, not pleasant. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank chunerrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston West-Energy Corridor, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear chunerrrr,

Thank you for posting a review of our property. I am happy to know that you found our location to be suitable for your needs. However, I apologize that your stay was negatively affected by the condition of the lobby decorations. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Despite your disappointment, I do hope you will consider to return and stay with us again at some future date when you can be assured of our very best attention.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston West-Energy Corridor
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 69 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

This property is smack dab in the middle of no-place-exciting, but since I had business nearby, it was a good choice for me. The staff is the best--every one of them! They went out of their ways to be friendly and accommodating. The room itself was average, with some wear-and-tear showing on the furniture. Still, the bed was comfortable and the hotel was quiet, so for just a couple of nights, it was a good choice. Breakfast was decent and the staff there, like elsewhere in the hotel, very helpful. The steakhouse across the parking lot was a decent choice for dinner, offering everything from sandwiches to Texas-size steaks. I thought it to be a little pricey for the location, but nothing way far out of whack.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimatthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston West-Energy Corridor, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear jimatthebeach,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. I am appreciate your kind words regarding our staff and am pleased that you like our location. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

When you come to a city for the first time, you just do not know what to expect. I'm grateful this Holiday Inn meet my expectations. The rooms were clean, spacious, and quite. We compared other hotels in the area and this was the best deal for a mid-range price. They have a complimentary shuttle that runs within a five mile radius to the hotel which was very helpful with getting to the training to/fro every day without additional costs.

Room Tip: I was on the 4th floor and the hotel is far enough off the fareway that you do not hear any of the t...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This hotel is wonderful!! It is very clean, spacious and renovated!! When we arrived at the hotel, they gave us a complimentary upgrade to a 2 Queen Suite. It was very big, and very clean. The beds are very comfortable, and the furniture is updated. The breakfast is really good, with cinnamon rolls, pancakes, eggs, and cereals. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is traveling in the Houston area.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Excellent option in Houston, we paid 112 Dlls per night and it was GREAT, recently renewed, LCDs, amazing bed, good service and great location!!!

Room Tip: I picked a 2 floor bedroom, nice and quiet...no problems
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unpardeviajeros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Great property by Holiday Inn Express. If you have stayed in one of these before, you'll know what to expect. Room was very clean and modern with micro wave and small fridge.

Breakfast was typical with scrambled eggs, bacon as the hot items.

GPS lead us to the wrong end of the street, not a biggy, when I called to ask directions was given easy directions.

Staff was very helpful as we had luggage that was misplaced by AA delivered over night.

Was a great jumping off point for our trip west of Houston .

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhotoHog2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We stayed here during a wedding in Houston and was an amazing weekend stay! Rooms are soo comfortable and hotel had all the amenities to make the stay even more pleasant. Breakfast was quick for us but really good! Overall loved the hotel and we definitely would stay here again! Loved the nearby reastaurants and shopping as well made it even a plus!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvserveall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Houston Energy Corridor
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Houston West Energy Corridor
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Houston - I-10W, Energy Cor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Houston I-10 West/Energy Corridor
2.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites At CityCentre-Energy Corridor
3.0 mi away
Hyatt House Houston-West/Energy Corridor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston West-Energy Corridor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston West-Energy Corridor

Address: 12323 Katy Freeway, Houston, TX 77079
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #295 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Price Range: $95 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston West-Energy Corridor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This West Houston hotel offers the perfect mix of business and pleasure, located less than two miles from CityCentre and 15 miles from Downtown Houston. There are two restaurants that are within walking distance from the property, Becks Prime and Texas Land and Cattle. There is also plenty to do nearby with Memorial City Mall, Katy Mills Mall, Studio Movie grill, and Topgolf just minutes away. Corporate locations nearby include ConocoPhillips, Shell, BP, McDermott, Exxon, Shell, Technip, and Citgo just to mention a few. We provide complimentary shuttle service to nearby corporations and event centers. Enjoy everything that the Energy Corridor has to offer. Hotel Amenities Complimentary Express Start Breakfast Complimentary Happy Hour Complimentary High Speed Internet Complimentary Daily Self-Parking Complimentary Newspapers Shuttle Service Meeting Room 24 Hour Business Center On-Site Fitness Center Outdoor Pool Local Attractions CityCentre Studio Movie Grill Memorial City Mall Katy Mills Mall Terry Hershey Park George Bush Park Topgolf Marq*E Entertainment Cente Must See Johnson Space Center, Downtown Aquarium, Houston Zoo, Galleria Mall, Bayou Place, Discovery Green, Houston Museum Natural Science, Must Do Houston is the center of many space exploration activities. Johnson Space Center is a world known tourist place for visiting and experiencing the unique opportunity that NASA has to offer. Houston is well known for the Museum of Natural Science, Houston Zoo, Downtown Aquarium, and the Galleria Mall. Also, depending on the season every tourist should catch a Houston Rockets, Texans, or Astros game. Don’t Forget CityCentre is a thoughtfully planned and meticulously executed self-contained community of sophisticated retail and elegant dining. CityCentre is also home to Life Time Athletic, a state-of-the-art urban fitness facility and spa, and Studio Movie Grill, an eight-screen premier cinema facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Houston West-Energy Corridor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing