We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hot dogs in Texas” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of James Coney Island

James Coney Island
Ranked #4,636 of 8,115 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Fast Food, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best hot dogs in Texas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband is a hot dog connoisseur and these were the best hot dogs he's every had. We wish James Coney Island would open locations in San Antonio. For now, we'll have to drive to Houston to get our fix.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank 55colleenp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
El Paso Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not like it used to be”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

My old bud from SMU carried on the tradition from the 1940's at this place. Now he doesn't own it, and the attention to detail is missing. It's turn the famous coney island spot from downtown Houston into a fast food join all over the town. I still liked the coneys, but the ambience of the old place is gone.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wretch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingram, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The location on the SW Freeway in Houston has been our quick go to place for fast food in Houston. As usual, good chili and dogs. It was their last 89 cent Thursday for the summer-busy place but quick service.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank BillBon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A real Roadside Diner!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

As a travelling Brit on business I really love to get into a real diner as often as I can. And this was just about as authentic as you can get!! A fab chilli burger with all the trimmings and a regular sized coke for less than $5 bucks is pretty good value to me!! I will certainly be back for more!!

Helpful?
Thank Phil223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

I'm sorry but these are not coney dogs. A coney sauce is somewhat sweet. They are not the best chili dogs I've ever had either. I have to agree with my husband that wienerschnitzel is much better. And the fries were grease soaked! I'm not going back. Sorry Texas but yucky!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed James Coney Island also viewed

Humble, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to James Coney Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing