We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great concept for a base hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Houston by the Galleria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aloft Houston by the Galleria
Ranked #160 of 492 Hotels in Houston
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great concept for a base hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Modern rooms which are compact and simple. Everything you need all combined in a neat small space. This is perfect if you need somewhere as a base hotel, its not a hotel you would want to relax in.

The beds are super comfortable.

The air conditioning unit is huge and very noisy which would be my only criticism of the room. Parking is expensive at $16 per night.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IntrepidMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    105
    62
    17
    13
See reviews for
45
58
19
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This hotel really does have a great concept going... Check-In was awesome great staffs was accommodating with early check -in... received free self parking part of their fortune cookie drawing Room was clean... Shower water pressure what one of the best one I seen in awhile. Bedding was super comfortable made me didn't want to get up. Love the decor for the hotel. Overall it's a great Hotel with a unbeatable price point

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thaiviet16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
551 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 337 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Aloft Hotels are owned by the Weston Group that also owns The W Hotels. Aloft is (for lack of a better word) lesser version of The W. It still has the great staff and some of the quirky décor, that's a compliment BTW, and awesome furnishings. I have been to bouquet hotels that try to do what The Alofts has done but they always seem cheesy. This hotel is in a great location right by The Galleria and you can walk there for shopping and plenty of dining choices.
Now there isn't a restaurant on the premises however The Capital Grill delivers room service...cant beat that! There is no pool...which kinda sucks and Im not sure if any of The Alofts have them or not to be honest. They are dog friendly and even provide snack and bowls for you pooch just like The W's do.
I guess my only complaint is that there isn't any ice machines in the hotel! Weird, indeed! We found this out by asking a janitor where the ice machine was. He didn't speak English very well but lead us down the elevator and thru the bowels of the service area of the hotel, I was actually a little nervous, then lo and behold and ice machine! I guess it was for the bar. It was very nice of him to take us there provide a small ziplock bag so we could "fill up".
Over all a great place to stay and its always affordable.
There is a nice bar...the server the night we were there sucked tho.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Montecore1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I don't get on here to write reviews often. The rooms were great... until the very very very very loud music played all night from the bar across the street. Trust me do not stay here if you want to sleep.

Room Tip: Maybe get a room on the other side of hotel?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CodyPhotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
max j, General Manager at Aloft Houston by the Galleria, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve and we truly apologize. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short due to our neighbors across the street. We work diligently with local law enforcement to ensure our guests are not interrupted by the venue and their music and we do everything from room moves to offering ear plus as well and informing local law enforcement when the venue crosses the line in local noise ordinance. If you had notified us of this we would have been more than happy to help you. I am very happy to see that you rated 4 & 5 stars in value, location, service, rooms and cleanliness. Please accept our most sincere apology and thank you again for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Houston hotels

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Great location in walking distance to the galleria mall. Self-parking available with as many in-outs as wanted. Very friendly staff. Clean and modern rooms and bathroom.
as there is not much to do in the city center i would stay there again

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank plomme9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma S, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Houston by the Galleria, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments - it’s always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels. I am glad to hear you found the hotel clean and modern.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Houston.

Sincerely,

Emma S
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

1 vallet who is not a security guard on level 1 of a 5 level parking garage

this is non smoking facility which sounds great - until you see people using the parking garage as a smoking lounge all night.

contacted the front desk regarding some suspicious individuals in the parking garage TWICE during our 1 night stay.

Desk employee was very understanding and concerned.
allowed us to park on level 1 for the night where the vallet could watch our vehicle.

this does not change the fact that facility needs a security guard walking the parking garage at least at night - there is none.

while this is a 2 block walk to the mall , it may also be central to an urban bar scene.
not the best area.

next time i visit houston, i will more likely stay in the memorial area west of here.

manager contacted me via email following my starwood review, seemed less concerned about my issues than his staff (they were great for having only 1 desk clerk, 1 vallet and 1 bar tender working the entire hotel.)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pauleskine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
max j, General Manager at Aloft Houston by the Galleria, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for your review and we truly apologize for your feeling of lack of security during your stay. I am very happy that our team addressed your concern by allowing you to park your car in our Valet area and ensure that you were not charged the valet fee for your issue. We work diligently in ensuring that our team is trained to address any security concern, as you mentioned in your review, that a guest may have and we offer security throughout the week on our property. While we are located within a short 2 block walk to the Galleria Mall and there are many hotels and other venues that are located within this area that hotel guests and the Galleria neighborhood residents visit on a daily basis. We do take each and every guest issue very seriously and address them immediately. We do apologize and thank you for bringing them to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
151 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Stayed at a couple of Aloft's this week and although the concept is pretty much the same (and it's a good concept), the Houston Aloft is in a great location and is a well tuned property. Plenty of parking with access to rooms directly from the garage which is nice. Decor is standard Aloft which is W-Hotel chic and a bit of Euro flair. I always find it enjoyable.

Service was good although had a short wait checking out. Rooms were clean and in complete functioning order including high speed wifi.

For the price point and location, don't think that you can go wrong.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dlscps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
Hyatt Regency Houston/Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
HYATT house Houston/Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Houston by the Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Houston by the Galleria

Property: Aloft Houston by the Galleria
Address: 5415 Westheimer Rd, Houston, TX 77056-5301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 492 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aloft Houston by the Galleria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appealing to on-the-go and in-the-know travelers, the Aloft rooms at Aloft Houston by the Galleria are equally carefree and bold. Nine-foot ceilings and extra-large windows create a bright, airy environment full of natural light. You’ll face the windows—not the walls—as you drift to sleep in our ultra-comfortable platform bed topped with plush bedding. Choose a 285-square-foot king room for one big bed, or grab a little more breathing room in the 315-square-foot rooms with two queen beds. Business or pleasure, work or play, each loft-like space keeps you connected. Your always-available in-room “office” includes an ergonomic workspace, plus complimentary wired and wireless High Speed Internet Access. You have your own entertainment center thanks to plug & play, our one-stop connectivity station. Leave your chargers at home: it juices up all your electronics—laptop, cell phone, MP3 player, and more—and connects them to a wall-mounted 42” flat-screen TV. A flip of the switch gives you high-def screening of your favorite flicks (or tomorrow’s presentation). In the sleek stylish bathroom, details are designed to stimulate your senses. Natural light illuminates the walk-in shower through a full-length frosted glass panel, which faces the guest room for a free flow of light with plenty of privacy. The eco-friendly dispenser doles out super-sudsy bath amenities specially created for Aloft Hotels by Bliss® Spa. Every Aloft room is attuned to you: whether you’re settling in or zipping out the door, you’ll find a host of helpful standard amenities to customize your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Aloft Houston by the Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Houston By The Galleria Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing