We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Athens Hotel Suites
Ranked #318 of 511 Hotels in Houston
san antonio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Welcoming”
Reviewed April 28, 2011

First things first the receptionist was so friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean and beds were so comfortable. Perfect spot if you need to get anywhere downtown or Toyota center. I went to the Lil Wayne concert with my brother and his gf and the fact that the only way to get in the hotel itself is by your room key....talk about safety!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sporty3921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    40
    13
    14
    54
See reviews for
13
27
41
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2011

Only 1 block from House of Blues, Easy walking distance to main street ,shopping,staff was helpfull with directions

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gregnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2011

Charming rooms with kitchen, fridge and - of course - air conditioning! :)
little but nice fitness room and terrasse.

the hotel is very well placed as it's downtown and pretty right by the metro, shops and museums.
I kept an excellent souvenir of this place and if I go back to Houston in the future, for sure it would be here!!!
Indeed, we've been very touched by the kindness of the people working down there and by all the information given to know better the city and things to do.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Decaf033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2011

I stayed at the Athens with a collegue for a professional conference. The first room we were shown smelled like fried fish and was nauseating. We were offered another room, which was okay, but we were distressed by the porter's comment, "I don't know why they let the winos clean the rooms." we decided we wouldn't need maid service. The kitchenette is equipped with stove but bring your own pans if you plan to prepare anything. There are cups, plates, and silverware. Parking was a nightmare. The hotel staff were downright unhelpful about locating an economical place to park. We parked on the street and fed the meter most of the time. One night I went out to dinner with some friends and my colleague stayed in alone. About 9:00 pm someone knocked on the door and then proceeded to try to enter the room. They said it was hotel staff, but didn't bother calling up from the front desk to say they were coming up. Luckily she had the door chained and the person went away. Also there is a person who lives downstairs behind a metal fence with Tourrette's who yells profanity and paces around his area after dark. I saved a few bucks staying here and it was certainly an adventure. Safe to say I won't be allowed to pick the next hotel next time we travel together. I forgot to mention that the free wifi was not reliable.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank felizjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2011

Staff were among the best I've seen anywhere, so helpful, location is handy to anything downtown, and it's 5 minutes away from downtown, the only drawback is the lack of eating options close by.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrNoname1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2011

I and two colleagues stayed at the Athens Hotel for 7 nights. It was very comfortable, and we appreciated that they had a kitchen with full fridge, oven, etc. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It was only a short walk to the Convention Center, in a very safe neighborhood, with lots of restaurants (and the Houston Pavilion) within walking distance. The staff had good dinner recommendations.

We saved a lot of money by staying here over the Hilton, Hyatt, etc. It seems to be family owned and operated, and all of our needs were well taken care of. If you are driving in, just be prepared to pay for parking, but it was very inexpensive in the nearby lots.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel very highly, especially for budget travellers who don't like the high costs associated with larger chains and for those who like to support the "little guys."

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RTSMITH33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2011

This hotel was a miserable experience. The staff was rude, unfriendly and often not at the front desk. The breakfast was nothing more than stale cereal, lukewarm milk and spoiled fruit. One of the two queen beds in the room blocked the door so that I needed to open door, step behind the bed and then close the door before being able to enter the room.

The hotel offers no parking but points you in the direction of a nearby lot which offers 12 hour parking options. Each day we parked around 7pm and had to wake up at 7am to fed the meter or else run the risk of a ticket.

The hotel is walking distance from Minute Maid Park and the Toyota Center, but the area gets sketchy at nightime and is not near any other major areas.

I would not stay here again for any price,

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NYtraveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainbow23, Public Relations Manager at Athens Hotel Suites, responded to this review, February 24, 2011
We at Athens Hotel Suites regret that your stay here was not pleasant. Our hotel staff strives to make every effort to accomodate a guest's needs and requests. The Hotel is located in the heart of the convention centers of downtown Houston, allowing visistors easy access within walking blocks of the venues and also the light-rail that runs in and out of Downtown Houston. Any visitor to Houston enjoys the local "green" park for relaxing and jogging all times of the day or night, and the local restaurants and meeting places are buzzing late in the evening with locals. We offer a continental breakfast that is placed out every morning at seven A.M. and we only use fresh food and beverages, the breakfast closes at ten A.M. All rooms at the Athens Hotel Suites are equipped with full size beds, some double, some single, a full kitchenette, and bathrooms. Sometimes some of the furniture may get moved in the cleaning process and we will certainly address any concern or inconvenience that a guest brings to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Houston hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
#121 of 511 in Houston
102 reviews
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Houston-Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn Houston Downtown
Downtown
SpringHill Suites Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Downtown
Club Quarters Hotel in Houston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athens Hotel Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Hotel Suites

Property: Athens Hotel Suites
Address: 1308 Clay St, Houston, TX 77002-7102 (Formerly Rainbow Inn)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #318 of 511 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Athens Hotel Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Athens Hotel & Suites is your home away from home when you come to visit beautiful Houston, TX. Book a room today for your next stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Athens Hotel Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing