We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but probably would pick another location next time.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Westchase-Westheimer
Ranked #286 of 508 Hotels in Houston
Alexandria, Louisiana
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ok, but probably would pick another location next time.”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This was my first stay at this Candlewood. For the most part, the hotel has a convenient location -- easy access. My problem was that I felt like I was walking into a college dorm. There seemed to be college age kids everywhere. The staff seemed to keep the place clean, but the laundry room was like a sauna. The room was clean, but had a musty odor and the AC would only run if the room motion sensor was active. I later found out at checkout, they could have disabled that feature. Also, there is only weekly housekeeping. You must exchange towels at the front desk. Over all for the cost of the room, I was disappointed with my stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask the front desk to tweak your AC to not turn off with not movement in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcp001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
4
2
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Upon arriving at hotel for hubby's business trip (my 1 yr.old and i came along), we were greeted by friendly front desk personnel by the name of Wen. Were shocked to see how small the efficiency room was that the hubby's company reserved for us. Talked to Wen (and remind you, it was a Sunday) and he contacted the hotel's sales manager and she contacted my hubby's company and we got upgraded to a one bedroom on the company's dime. They both went out of their way to accommodate us! The one bedroom is much more suitable for a family.
Room is spacious and the bedroom is seperate from the living room/kitchen/bathroom. Only complaints i have is that the entire second and third floor smell like curry powder. BLAH. The third floor and our room reek of it. The property has a nice pool that is upkept well and a nice grilling gazebo area with two newer grills and tables and chairs. Hotel is right off of Westheimer Road, which is a main road in Houston with tons of restaurants and shops. Weekly, the hotel puts on a meet and greet every Wednesday and provides free food and beer/soft drinks. Nice way to meet people. As far as feeling safe here, there are shady apartments behind the hotel (seperated by a tall fence) and we did not feel threatened during the day or night outside because the hotel has security at night time. It isn't an area that you can walk to things though. Westheimer is a four lane highway and the area has some shady characters walking around. There is a sonic right in front of hotel for last minute food. The staff were absolutely wonderful and accommodating and became like our family while we were here! Would reccommed this hotel to out of towners and business people.

Room Tip: Ask to face the back (you have a view of the pool)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trendytraveler0611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

The title really says it all. It's more of an extended stay kind of place in a slighty dodgy neighborhood. If you want a place with a full sized fridge -- then here you go.

My other choices were sold out -- next time I won't stay here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustinTraveler78759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

I was stayed here (Studio suite, ground floor, just behind the pool gazebo) 2 weeks for business purpose and I loved it. Despite that they don't clean the room everyday (every 2-3 days or so as I remember), the place is actually quite enjoyable.

Things you need to know;

- No breakfast served. But Waffle House & Sonic are just a stone's throw away. There's also a small mini-market called "cupboard" near the receptionist with variety of foods and drinks to choose from. If you want halal food, there's an Iranian run restaurant called "Hafez", just across the hotels on your right.

- They clean the room every 2-3 days or so. Couldn't remembered exactly, but for sure not everyday. This be the main cons. Not sure if this is part of corporate deal, but other reviews stated daily cleaning. Better check your deal first.

- Gym was more than OK.
- Laundromat is free!
- Kitchenette inside the room is quite small but beyond my expectations. Fridge is big, everything working fine.
- Free internet/Wifi !! :)
- Free local calls
- Pool was OK, there's a fire up grill and gazebo to hanging around.
- I love the bed and pillows so much.
- The receptionist (forgot the name, 3 of them I think) were all very hospitable and very friendly. They took care everything we need and provide reliable information for places around the hotel.
- Complete amenities; Irons, hairdryer, etc
- Flat screen and DVD in the room! :D.. love it! Aside from hundreds of good (HD) movie channel, you can borrow a collection of DVD titles available at receptionist for free!
- Parking slot is ample and we felt security is OK.
- There's a small but reliable business corner with online desktop PC and a printer.
- Location is in Westheimer Rd where you could go to a lot of places to eat.

Overall I would recommend this place to anyone and definitely will stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid the room near the pool gazebo. You could hear the people's voice outside the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ravvlivius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

No breakfast, ok outdoor swimming pool, smelly room, noisy aircon, terrible noise isolation from other rooms and surroundings, ok kitchenette but noisy refrigerator. Stay somewhere else if you can.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tvergastein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunan, Montrose, Angus, Scotland
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2011

After seeing some reviews of other Candlewoods, I approached this visit with a little trepidation. It wasn't helped by a colleague, who didn't like the area and insisted on calling it "CandleHood"

Actually, I was pleasantly surprised. The receptionists were consistently cheerful and helpful, the room was scrupulously clean, the bathroom had loads of towels, the bed was comfortable, there was no shortage of hot water, and everything worked. The kitchenette was actually very well provided (and the fridge was enormous!) and the "Pantry" was well-stocked with essentials, and never ran out of anything.

To be fair, the amenities were basic rather than luxurious: the aircon worked well (essential in the heat of a Houston summer) but was a bit noisy, The shower was adequate rather than gushing, the internet (free!) was occasionally a bit flaky (probably weight of traffic), and the room could have done with a bit more lighting.

Location was fine. There was more than enough parking front and back of the building, there were dozens of places to eat within easy walking distance (though the locals never walk anywhere!), and the area was clean, well looked-after, and felt perfectly safe.

Once I'd got the hang of the place, I quite liked it. It's quite nice not to have to dress for breakfast, but just to grab something out of the fridge. Three-times daily maid service is nice (as the posh hotels do) but it's even nicer to have a space that feels like it's your own when you have to spend a few weeks there.

I liked it. I'd stay again.

Room Tip: Not signposted from the road, so you might miss it. Turn right at the Waffle House sign.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LunanLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2010

The Candlewood was your standard Candlewood venue but what made this property standout was the staff. Nothing was to difficult and they were always available to help. In addition,
Gary seemed to be resident at all hours and ever so happy. Many more expensive hotel in Houston could learn from Gary. He is why people return to a hotel.
I had an issue with the A/C and Walken came to the rescue. As it was Sunday he called the maintenance personnel and resolved the problem by follwing instruction from them on the phone. When is the last time the front desk that??

Both these gentlemen exhibit superlative service and mad this stay memorable.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PBaba58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Westchase
Courtyard Houston Westchase
Courtyard Houston Westchase
#244 of 508 in Houston
123 reviews
Westchase
Candlewood Suites Houston Westchase
Comfort Suites Westchase
#213 of 508 in Houston
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westchase
Hilton Houston Westchase
Hilton Houston Westchase
#77 of 508 in Houston
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Westchase-Westheimer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Westchase-Westheimer

Property: Candlewood Suites Westchase-Westheimer
Address: 11280 Westheimer Rd, Houston, TX 77042-3223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #286 of 508 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Westchase-Westheimer 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Comfortable Accommodations at our West Houston Hotel Welcome to the Candlewood Suites in west Houston situated between I-10 and the West Park Tollway. Our Houston, Texas extended stay hotel is located in west Houston with easy access to local businesses and attractions. Leisure travelers lodging in our metro Houston hotel enjoy convenient access to nearby attractions. If you want to spend the day outdoors, the Houston Zoo, George Bush Park and Memorial Park are all within 20 miles of our hotel. If you'd like to stay indoors, you can visit the Galleria Mall, Reliant Stadium, the downtown Aquarium and the Houston Museum District, which features 18 museums, including the Health Museum, the Children's Museum of Houston, the Menil Collection and the Houston Museum of Natural Science. Our Houston extended stay hotel is conveniently located near many area businesses, including Halliburton, Western Geophysical, Citgo/Exxon, Quest Diagnostics, Honeywell, Conoco Phillips and BP. Our metro Houston hotel's superb business services include complimentary high-speed, wireless Internet access, copying services and two meeting rooms. Our west Houston hotel offers cozy accommodations with amenities that offer the Comforts of Home. Amenities include an on-site convenience store, complimentary laundry services, a movie library and a fitness center. Book your Houston hotel reservations today at Candlewood Suites in West Houston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, HotelPower, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Westchase-Westheimer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing