We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was okay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza
Ranked #43 of 508 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“It was okay”
Reviewed September 13, 2010

The hotel was clean and nice decorated. The bed was comfortable and lines clean. The a/c was making a rattling noise when we arrived. We complained to the man who brought us room service but no one came to do anything about it.The next morning we complained AGAIN about it to the front desk person. The food was good and room service came quickly. You have to pay for the internet and there is no free breakfast as with some hotels. The parking is also very confusing we parked in the Greenway parking and were charged 10 dollars for the night. We were also charged 14 dollars for parking in the hotel parking lot. When we complained about the a/c she did take both parking charges off our bill.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherrijan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    245
    147
    72
    32
See reviews for
136
124
51
489
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2010

This hotel is not in the downtown area and doesn't have much of a bar scene but the staff are really nice. I got in late and needed food and the van driver volunteered to drive me to get sushi. He also picked me up there when i was done eating free of charge. Not having a rental car in houston made life difficult but the staff at this hotel really helped me get around that.

They also drove me to my business meeting the next day which was a 5 min drive from the hotel but a VERY far walk. Overall this is a great hotel for business travelers who need to be in the area. If you are visiting for pleasure, it is still a good hotel but perhaps you would want to be closer to the downtown area where there is more going on.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonBow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
99 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

Good hotel overall and the bar with waiter "Wayne" excellent. Two points are noteworthy that let this hotel down
1) Parking although plentiful has terrible height restrictions so if you drive a SUV you cannot park in the multi story parking and must use valet
2) left bags with bellman when checking out but when wanted to collect them it took 40 minutes and then had to go and collect them myself.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelandtravail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2010

The staff is incredible and I have really enjoyed my long term stay here. The only downside is that the rooms and TVs are a bit dated. However, the bed and gym are all great.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UnShopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenHouston, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza, responded to this review, July 13, 2010
Dear "Amazing Service" Guest,

We read your review and are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Renaissance Houston Greenway Plaza Hotel and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Houston. I am please to inform you we will be placing new flat screen into our guest room in the fall.

Sincerely, Matt Jones, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
102 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2010

Really fabulous rooms. Spacious, clean, friendly staff, and the bar was great. Location is near the center of downtown and city activities. Thumbs down on the hotel parking - $7 dollars in and out.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kdsedward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2010

A nice location only if you're on a business trip and your office is located in Greenway Plaza, as the hotel is connected to the underground corridors. Going out even to the barber or shopping spots across the highway is a challenge with such a hard time finding sidewalks!
Service was great throughout my stay especially in the restaurant, that had such a friendly and considerate staff.
Rate $110/night excluding breakfast & internet

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paris12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2010

Stayed through priceline - 2 rooms. They were nice and got us adjoining rooms. Rooms were nice. Location is in the middle of a business highrise park hard to find the first time, nothing nice nearby, no grounds. Valet parking only, expensive, but not as bad as downtown.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank satipatipatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenway/ Upper Kirby
Courtyard Houston-West University
Modern B&B
#66 of 508 in Houston
199 reviews
Great Uptown
Hampton Inn Houston - Near The Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza
Address: 6 Greenway Plz, Houston, TX 77046-0601 (Formerly Renaissance Houston Hotel Greenway Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#44 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#86 Business Hotel in Houston
#94 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel in Houston, TX, offers spacious, club-style guest rooms, all with floor-to-ceiling windows and impressive views of downtown Houston and River Oaks. All of our rooms have modern amenities and feature plush furnishings, sumptuous bedding, WiFi, a walk-in closet and luxury bathrooms with a separate shower and granite vanities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelPower, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Houston
Houston Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing