We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Call Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza
Ranked #42 of 510 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
1 review
“Great Place to Call Home”
Reviewed December 14, 2009

I have been traveling to Houston for business each week since April. Each time I'm there, I stay at the Renaissance. The staff there couldn't be better. It only took a few times for them to know my name. The personalized attention is great but the hotel itself is spectacular. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhill51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    249
    148
    72
    33
See reviews for
139
125
51
497
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2009

I stay at the Renaissance Greenway quite often as I travel as part of my job. I always enjoy my stay from the moment I arrive until I leave as the front desk staff is always pleasant even if my flight delays me until 2:00 am. The concierge staff is very friendly and extremely helpful and keep me informed on the "happenings" in Houston and help with recommendations, directions, etc. The shuttle driver is always happy to cart me to local restaurants and shopping areas. In short, the staff is outstanding.

The rooms are comfortable, the beds are fabulous. I just wish they had HGTV on the television.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelQueen019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2009

Everyone . . . .and I do mean everyone at this hotel treats you like royalty. Extremely nice, friendly, personable and very accomodating to your requests.

The rooms are big, clean and quiet. The lounge and restaurant are both comfortable and the food always arrives hot and delicious. Fitness center is new and elipticals, treadmills and bikes are well kept and have their own TV monitors. Free weights (up 50#) and universal machines allow for a complete workout. Towels and water are provided along with a locker room.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eagleman_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fightingbuck
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2009

Stay at the Renaissance every week. The property is nice, but, the most important thing is the great people who work here.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fightingbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
1 review
Reviewed November 24, 2009

I have been staying at this hotel since June 2008 on a weekly basis. Over time the staff here has done its best to make me feel at home. They greet me by my name, try and keep me in a consistent room, provide great service and even sent me a card and a free desert on my birthday. The concierge, Chai Lee (not sure I spelled it correctly) greets us all every morning with a smile and brings our food to us--for me it's a hard boiled egg and a milk, for my co-worker she prepares his bacon extra crispy by placing it in the microwave for a few extra seconds, she always brings everyone beverages, and she truly shows interest in what we do.

My only complaint is that I am an avid user of the fitness center, particularly the treadmill as I am a runner, and find that their fitness center is not adequately air conditioned. It gets pretty hot, especially in the summer months.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emartina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
Reviewed November 24, 2009

I have been staying at the Renaissance for 3-4 nights for approximately 9 months now and it feels like my second home. The staff is extremely friendly and attentive to my needs. Some rooms are better then others (the layout of some of the rooms is on the small side) but when I get one of the larger rooms I have plenty of space to get organized for the week and feel very comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank working_in_houston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2009

The hotel itself is fine. The rooms are decent and the service was friendly enough. What ruins the experience is the location. I did not know Houston well and came to the hotel for a trade show thinking it was downtown within walking distance of shops and places to eat. I didn't rent a car - big mistake.

It turns out it is outside the downtown in a concrete office tower nightmare of a location. No place at all to walk to. The few outside shops and food court are located underground and were mostly closed up by 5pm. Greenway plaza embodies everything bad about urban planning.

One other gripe: $12.95 for internet and it isn't even wireless????? This isn't 1999...

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SSVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenway/ Upper Kirby
Courtyard Houston-West University
Modern B&B
#72 of 510 in Houston
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza
Address: 6 Greenway Plz, Houston, TX 77046-0601 (Formerly Renaissance Houston Hotel Greenway Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#44 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#86 Business Hotel in Houston
#94 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel in Houston, TX, offers spacious, club-style guest rooms, all with floor-to-ceiling windows and impressive views of downtown Houston and River Oaks. All of our rooms have modern amenities and feature plush furnishings, sumptuous bedding, WiFi, a walk-in closet and luxury bathrooms with a separate shower and granite vanities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Houston
Houston Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing