We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, nice and friendly hotel by the Lakewood Church”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza
Ranked #43 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2008

We visited Lakewood Church in Houston. This Hotel is very close to the church (walking distance). Clean, nice and friendly hotel buttttt.. it's hard to get to the hotel from the interstate (if you are not familiar with the area). No restaurant/fast food close to this hotel (business district). The price is reasonable.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jelita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (978)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

919 - 925 of 978 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2008

Bad location, really nothing is convenient walking distance. Literally sandwiched between what looks like to be freeways. Took room service 45 minutes to bring us a menu (our menu was missing from the room). The bed and quick elevators, and some friendly people seem to be the only thing that are the pros about this hotel. I would not recommend this hotel for over 1 or 2 nights at the most or else you start to feel trapped if you are without a car. TV's in room are way out dated. If you have a choice...stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank awhit2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2008

The whole staff worked really hard to make this the best EDNF Conf,. Yet! A few problems but they were handled quickly and porfessionally! The food was great! Pleanty of it too.

The rooms were well taken care of and the whole staff made our stay a pleasure! Very plesant and concerned, polite too!

Would love to stay her again some time!!

Hugs from SD
Miss Lani

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Luckylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2008

Like many accommodation choices in Houston, the Renaissance Greenway Plaza seems to be stuck out in the middle of nowhere, surrounded by roads, freeways etc. and little else! This is definitely a vehicel-oriented town, (and I've stayed in quite a few areas of the city...finding a sidewalk/pavement on which to walk is a hard task!) To say it is located in a 'shopping centre' is something of a mistruth..yes, there are a few shops/eating options across the road, but choice is very limited and the road in question is a busy, multipl-lane freeway which would necessitate transport to cross! I wonder quite why this place is where it is...I suppose there are quite a few offices etc. nearby but usually I find Renaissance hotels are more centrally-located, (I get the feeling it was built on the premise of other great things following on, much of which never materialised!)

It's not a visually stunning place, darkened glass and slender and little else. Yes, it is a little tired, (especially in the public areas, e.g. lobby, lounge bar etc.), and could do with some TLC. The outdoor pool is reasonably-sized and a welcome addition when it gets hot and steamy down in Houston, but it's right beside yet another road so not exactly a haven of tranquility!

My room, on the 8th floor, overlooked offices and more offices, (but you don't come to this area for a view!) It is in the accommodations where this place hits the mark. The room was spacious and well-kept, clean and neat and featured many pleasant little touches. As always, I'd have liked a mini-fridge as standard, (I believe you can call and request one, but my time here was short so didn't think it was worth the bother!), as it's nice to be able to have some cool drinks on hand without heading out to the ice machine! But apart from that, the separate walk-in closet with 'tall boy' was roomy, and the vanity/basin unit, (separate from the shower/bath and WC), again had plenty of space. There was a small vanity table, with adequate lighting, for you to be able to use as a hair/make-up 'station' without any danger of your products getting wet, (it's away from the sink), which is handy. All tiled floor is separared from the rest of the carpeted room, which had a lovely comfy king-sized bed, (pillows of dubious quality though - I had to use all three to get any kind of support, so if anyone else had been sharing the bed I'd have had to call for some more!) There were two armchairs and an adequate work desk with plenty of power sockets. I managed to access a free wireless network, but of course this could be down to chance so cannot comment on the reliability etc. of the hotel's 'wired for business' package, (standard to the Marriott chain at US$9.95 plus tax, noon to noon).
Huge floor-to-ceiling windows let in a lot of light, which was welcome as you can often feel a little 'hemmed in' in places like these!
I cannot comment on any food/beverage services as I didn't partake of either, but I did find the complementary shuttle van to be useful, (if not a necessity - with no car of your own, it's a lifeline to get anywhere!), and reliable.

All in, a good option if your priority is a good nights' sleep in a comfortable room, (and even better if it happens to be close by something, or someone, you've made the trip to see!)

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Alec P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2008

Stayed two nights on a business trip. Price was reasonable at $160ish plus tax, for this area of Houston.

A bit dated - not up to the national Renaissance standard - food just ok - front desk very pleasant - the shuttle / entry staff is not friendly or helpful. I thought security was on the low side. Details....

Room is relatively small and older vintage at maybe 13x13 plus hallway and bathroom but you can tell they refreshed / updated the bed (soft, nice comforter, double sheets). For example the electric outlets are in the floor. The bath is older except for the toilet (high and newer) and the shower curtain (extended out in the half bend to keep it away from your body) - all else are undersized and tight quarters - I would not want to have to share this with another person. The bath amenities are very nice and on a par with Ritz - lemon grass soap and mint shampoo and travel packet of qtips / nail file - a nice touch. TV was just OK
- smallish set maybe 25inches and not an LCD - HBO and HBO Family as the only movie channels - and the ppv in-room movies did not work for the two days I was there. I did not try wireless - but my Sprint card worked great.

As noted, this is part of an office / hotel complex - which are all
connected by a large underground area of shops (which only 70% or so were rented / in-use) and parking garage. The part that disturbed me on security is that you could walk right into the hotel business / meeting rooms area on the ground floor, and then hop into an elevator up to the rooms without anyone monitoring (I saw room attendants twice down there in two days - never saw a security guard once). Admittedly, this is a
professional place, so unlikely to have problems anyway - but this is pretty pitiful control. The underground space had a print center, a couple of restaurants including a burrito place that was good, and a little dry goods store with decent prices for something so close to a hotel. Members of our group walked to Tony's (a high end fru-fru place) and Jack in the Box. We also cabbed it over to a great BBQ place called Lulu's (about $20 cab ride).

The business space was adequate for our meetings, although the seating was not that comfy (your butt hurts after a full day of sitting on their chairs). Catered food was good but typical - the only high point was a great fruit salad (huge blueberries and blackberries). The business center is decent, although only two computers - but I never saw more than one person in there at a time.

The hotel exercise facility is decent with relatively newer equipment, and the pool is outside (I did not use it) and is pretty big.

We hosted a business dinner and it was decent tasty food - I have no idea on the pricing - but our hosts joked that they must have brought it in from outside the hotel.

The outside plaza is beautifully landscaped and worth a short walk through with palm trees and a nice setup (lot of concrete though).

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank munchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2008

This hotel does not meet the Renaissance standard. It is an older hotel that needs updating. The service at the hotel restaurant was exceeding slow, such that it makes up wonder if the kitchen was in another building. At lunch, when we were the only 2 persons in the entire restaurant, we waited over 30 mins for a simple burger and burrito. From that point we made sure to only do the buffet and still we had to wait 15 mins for coffee, which we finally got, after telling the hostess who was making the rounds amongst the tables. The prices, even at hotel rates are pretty steep, $5 for a dish of chocolate ice cream at lunch!!

The complimentary shuttle service left us stranded at a restaurant less than a mile away. We call three times and finally walked back, when we were told on the third call that it would be an additional 45 mins, after we had already waited 50 mins. One of the reasons I choose the hotel over others is the service, so it was very disappointing. I choose to use taxis for the rest of my stay. The Assistant Manager did offer reward points for the inconvenience

However the front desk staff is professional and friendly. A mistake on my bill was quickly taken care of. The room service and housekeeping staff did a great job. My request for foam pillows only ( allergic to feather) and a fridge in the room ( for medication) was addressed and the room was very clean

And as always the Renaissance Bed and linens were wonderful

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank alyce888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2008

I wish I could write glowing remarks about this place, but I am so frustrated. If you are a business traveler that needs wireless connection (and not LAN), do not stay here. Wireless is available only in the lobby...expect to work in the lobby (or check into another hotel).

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank workerbee8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Medical Center
Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza

Address: 6 Greenway Plz, Houston, TX 77046-0601 (Formerly Renaissance Houston Hotel Greenway Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#44 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#86 Business Hotel in Houston
#94 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $92 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel in Houston, TX, offers spacious, club-style guest rooms, all with floor-to-ceiling windows and impressive views of downtown Houston and River Oaks. All of our rooms have modern amenities and feature plush furnishings, sumptuous bedding, WiFi, a walk-in closet and luxury bathrooms with a separate shower and granite vanities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Houston
Houston Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing