We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well performing for a plaza that's day's gone by...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza
Ranked #42 of 506 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Marietta, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
149 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Well performing for a plaza that's day's gone by...”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I stayed at this hotel once a week for over a year for work. The Greenway Plaza itself is a strange area, being a raised plaza of a city block which has parking underneath. You can tell the concept was new and they didn't quite know what they were doing when it was created.

The hotel itself is well appointed and at moments may feel dated. The breakfast buffet is excellent but repetitive. The bar is quite hotel-prefab feeling as you experience in an airport. The rooms are small, well cared for, and unless you look for an outlet in the floor by the window, you won't notice how old the building is. The rooms are in good shape.

Of all the hotels I've stayed at in this area, this hotel provided me the worst chance of sleep. The halls were filled with traveling groups of kids, traveling groups of athletes (sometimes professional) and large groups of international flight staff.

The parking garage is a dank dungeon that shows it's innards and has low ceilings, so SUV's beware.

The front desk staff is accommodating and professional-- a step above those at the nearby Courtyard, if not a bit dry and impersonal.

Maintenance is always quick to fix issues.

The underground "mall" is a dated memory of yesteryear, and I'm surprised it is still open. The life and business isn't enough to drive it and keep it modern. The hotel does have an in house full fledged Starbucks.

If you can deal with the dungeon like underground parking garage and can handle the "other worldly" feel of the plaza itself up on a raised platform, the rest of the hotel is in check and with a little luck you won't have a loud hall.

If you choke on the price tag and parking fee, consider the Crowne Plaza nearby. It's appointed similarly and isn't quite as busy.

Room Tip: Higher floors are smaller rooms, but if you demand silence normally they'll place you on a highe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    243
    145
    70
    31
See reviews for
131
122
50
484
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaumont Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Our room was perfect. One of the best we've stayed in. Although it was only a standard king, the room was broken up very nicely and felt like a full suite. The lavatory was in a separate room complete with coffee/tea service. There was a nice sized separate walk-in closet with a chest of drawers for clothing storage. The bathroom completed this 3-room section of the room and had the added classy touch of a terrycloth shower curtain. The bedroom was spacious, well-appointed and very comfortable. The bed and pillows were heavenly. The view from our window was beautiful as well. Please take our advice, pay the extra $4 bucks and skip the self-parking. If you fall into this trap, you will corkscrew down, down, down several stories and land in the parking dungeon. Overall we were very pleased with our stay. We will definitely consider a Renaissance property in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyfuntime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

An extremely nice hotel in a great location if you want to visit Lakewood church, The church is across the street connected via the underground car park. The hotel rooms are large and modern. The Lobby offers free wifi and cookies. The staff were very helpful with my needs especially the valet who went out of his way to re configure my garmin system in the rental I had.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RyanColombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Louisiana
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. While my wife attended a seminar at the hotel, my son and I spent the day at the Galleria mall. The hotel was easy enough to find, but opted for valet parking because I was not too sure that our vehicle would make the clearance of the parking garage. The hotel was beautiful and was exactly what I expected from a four-star hotel. Great stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcp001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This hotel is not only centrally located to the medical center and downtown but it is a fabulous property. Rooms are first class and so is the service. The front desk could not have been more pleassant the the breakfast roomservice was perfect. Highly recommend. They also take pets!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyin4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
150 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I loved my stay at this hotel. The room was spacious and well appointed. It was so nice to sleep in such nice surroundings. The staff was so friendly and restaurants are nearby. The only sticking point is the parking situation. There is absolutely no way to avoid either self part of $14 or valet of $18. But, for a business traveler who is working in this office park, you really can't beat it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank O T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This hotel is next to a busy highway. There is a lot of office building around. However, you wont hear any kind of busy traffic sounds even during day time. Isolated perfectly. About an hour journey from intercontinental george bush airport. Go down to the basement level, and you will find a food court connected between the hotel and office building. There is also a nice groceries shop call Kroger accross the highway. For those who love to watch a movie, Edward Cinema is just about 15mins walking from the hotel. This hotel provide free shuttle service to Galleria Mall. Please check with the conciegere about the schedule.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meow_Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Great Uptown
HYATT house Houston/Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
Hampton Inn Houston - Near The Galleria
Greenway/ Upper Kirby
Courtyard Houston-West University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza
Address: 6 Greenway Plz, Houston, TX 77046-0601 (Formerly Renaissance Houston Hotel Greenway Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#44 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#86 Business Hotel in Houston
#94 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel in Houston, TX, offers spacious, club-style guest rooms, all with floor-to-ceiling windows and impressive views of downtown Houston and River Oaks. All of our rooms have modern amenities and feature plush furnishings, sumptuous bedding, WiFi, a walk-in closet and luxury bathrooms with a separate shower and granite vanities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Houston
Houston Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing