We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jesse H. Jones Rotary House International
Nearby Hotels
$210
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$219
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$239
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks(Houston)(Great Value!)
$88
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$184
$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$242
$133
TributePortfolio
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$259
$161
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$139
$105
galahotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveler rating
145
42
9
8
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
42
9
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmd andersonsky bridgemain buildingplace to staymain hospitaldaily activitiesextra tlcrun propertycancer patienthotel connectsenclosed walkwaylaundry areawithin a mile radiusmedical centerupdated hotelmarriott standardscan't beat the location
Filter
Updating list...
189 - 194 of 207 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2012

I've probably stayed here over 10 times, mostly for return visit checkups, but also when I was discharged from the hospital. The advantages are:
1) You're connected by skywalks to the MD Anderson buildings so it's very convenient for keeping your appointments. This also provides a certain feeling of safety for people in fragile health: you know the hospital is just over the skywalks.
2) You can get a suite with kitchenette. Many patients/guests aren't feeling well and one can warm up some sort of favorite comfort food like soup and crackers in your suite and not deal with a restaurant. There's room service too of course.
3) There are many facilities and amenities outside your room not seen in standard hotels:
(i) need a wheelchair? call the front desk and one will be brought up
(ii) there's a little convenience store on site with various food items, including canned soups, fresh fruit etc.
(iii) in addition to the usual bar/restaurant there's a Starbucks, a sandwich bar, and another sort of lunch place.
(iii) in addition to the normal hotel lobby there are three other rooms guests can use, which is ideal if you're staying there a while and don't want to be cooped up in your hotel room. There is a sort of atrium room filled with wicker chairs and couches and potted plants. There is a sort of large living room with plenty of couches and easy chairs and a wide screen TV (usually set at low volume to news). There is a "quiet room", also with couches and chairs, some books, and an aquarium -- people at MD Anderson have a lot on their minds and this is a place to escape and think. There is a patio with some lawn furniture and a fountain off the atrium room, that faces a small park. It's a rather small linear park paralleling busy Holcombe Ave but it's heavily vegetated with green grass, shrubs and ornamental plants and can be a welcome respite.
4) The staff are incredible.
5) There's an office of hospital/guest relations and people there can help you navigate through MD Anderson. It's a large place and first-timers might like a little assistance in figuring it all out.
6) There's an onsite blood-work lab: you can spend 15 mins in the evening getting your blood-work done and then skip the wait and the packed waiting rooms the next day in the clinic buildings.
7) Lastly, no one is there unless they, or a loved one, has cancer. So cancer isn't avoided in casual conversations that you may have with other guests, say if you're hanging out in the "living room". But it's not like everything is a huge downer, most people you meet there have an incredible positive attitude and it can be very helpful to maybe discuss cancer a bit with another guest but then have the conversation move on to other normal topics.
8) The two downsides: (a) unless the place has been refurbished recently some of the guest rooms can seem a bit worn (the public spaces however are bright and clean and comfortable). (b) I thought the restaurant food was pretty bad but obviously that's a very subjective option.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face busy Holcombe Avenue
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank whodat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

We stayed here while seeing a dear friend in the hospital. No online reservations, so had to call. A patient's name is required to make a reservation; they go it confused and made the reservation under his name. No matter, despite no email confirmation the reservation was there.

The room was of adequate size and well-furnished with a comfy bed, desk and recliner. The room and bathroom were spotless. We have a white noise app on the iPad which we use in hotels to block noise which was a good thing as the toilet sounds from other rooms sometimes are noisy.

We self-parked for $5; the 4th floor of the parking garage is conveniently on the level of the walkway to the hotel and the hospital.

We had dinner in The Oaks Restaurant which is on the floor with the connecting walkways. The food was surprisingly good and fairly priced for the quality--$18.95 for the buffet including dessert. A glass of the rather ordinary house Chardonnay added $10 which was a bit much; coffee was another $3. We went through the buffet, however table service is available for those unable to do so. We saw several people who were obviously patients with menus being served. For breakfast we opted for Cafe Anderson, the cafeteria in MD Anderson, since we weren't terribly hungry. It's cheap and has decent coffee which is about all that recommends it.

This is a very convenient hotel for trips which are focused on a visit to the Texas Medical Center.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank texhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

I stay at this hotel every time I come to Mda for checkups as well as surgery. It is more expensive than other nearby hotels but so convenient to the hospital. The parking is 5$ per day with in and out privileges which is cheaper than the hospital parking garage. Many of the rooms and suites can be connected if you are traveling with other family members. The service is excellent. The hotel is geared for patients. Wheelchairs are plentiful. Every bath has a needle disposal and tub handrails. The room service menu includes clear liquid options. There is a phlebotomy station in the lobby open til 8 so I can get my labs drawn the night before my scans and avoid the hospital lab the next morning. This is a clean, well run marriott. There is a self service laundry, 24 hour gym, free wifi. In addition the staff is very accommodating when you need to suddenly shorten or extend your hotel stay. I suspect they plan for some spare of rooms for this purpose. On several occasions I have had to extend my stay by An extra 2-3 days for extra test even when the hotel was "booked" and there was never an issue. There is a patient relations office where you can get your schedules printed and get directions. The staff is wonderful. On our last visit the front staff had called the fire department to check on a guest/patient who had not answered his wake up call, and was not answering the deadbolted door. In the middle of the night you the staff will wheel you over in a wheelchair to the Mda emergency room. Can't say enough good things about this hotel

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mclacl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed here for a weekend nuclear medicine workshop at MD Anderson in October 2011. It is a good hotel that has a skybridge to MD Anderson and some of the adjacent hospitals. I arrived early (in relation to check in time) and they did not have a standard room ready for me so they gave me a free upgrade to a suite room that had a living area, small kitchen and the bedroom. It was a fairly spacious suite. The room was a little dated and was not fancy what so ever. It kind of had an extended stay type hotel feel to it, which was fine since I was barely in the room. It had a sharps disposal in the bathroom for patients. I got the feel that the majority of the guests staying their were either patients at MD Anderson or were doing some sort of training. The hotel had a nice indoor pool and a decent gym. I would recommend this hotel for patients or people doing business or training at MD Anderson. It is not fancy and there was nothing to do around the hotel since it is surrounded by the giant medical complex. Good place to stay for the price and the service was very good. I also ate at the hotel restaurant two times (since I could not find anything else within walking distance) and it was very good.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank letsgo1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

If you are having anything done in the medical center, the Rotary House is the place to stay! The staff knows that you need extra TLC, and while there you do feel a little better in the midst of difficult times. There are programs for the patients and their families. Internet is free. The restaurant is excellent, and the staff ther is amazing! There is transportation around town and in the medical center itself. I wouldn't stay anywhere else when I am in town for my annual check up

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annarc6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews