We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch place, too!”
Review of Oporto Cafe

Oporto Cafe
Ranked #467 of 8,239 Restaurants in Houston
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Greenway/ Upper Kirby
Katy, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great lunch place, too!”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Came here several years ago for a business lunch, and since have gone out of my way to come again for lunch as much as possible. They make a fabulous Portugese chicken soup, and they also serve great litte "personal" pizzas and wonderful salads (you can't help but eat every little bit). The desserts are home-made, TDF! I don't get there often enough, since I work at Greenspoint and live in Katy, but writing this review reminds me that it's time to go back! I can't say enough good things about this tiny little restaurant!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    15
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
569 reviews
381 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Excellent tapas wine and service”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

My wife and I stopped by after the ballet on Saturday night and they were going strong. We got a table right away and ordered three plates and two glasses of wine. The portions are large for tapas and the three dishes were plenty as a late dinner. The prices were very reasonable and a great selection of wine by the glass.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikel12323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, VA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Tapas Prices During Happy Hour”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Ate hear because it was close to my hotel. They have a 5-7 happy hour with $3 tappas, normally $6. Missed the happy hour but it was still decent prices and very good food. Had about four different things and all were great. Can recommend the chorizo, empanadas, hummas and wings, all very good, especially if you like it spicy. Fast service. I even like the sangria. Nice atmosphere. I was in Houston on business but this would also make a good date night.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hubby11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best tapas ever!”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

The happy hour crowd is friendly, food is amazing, staff is friendly. This is the best and most reasonable tapas in the City. Great wine selection and a full bar. Love the atmosphere. Can't wait to go again.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Viola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It works on so many levels”
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Very good little restaurant in the Greenway Plaza area (inside the 610 Loop). Too many good dishes on the small plates menu to list, but they'll be glad to tell you the favorites. We like to start with a few dishes such as queso de cabra and just add-on as needed (or our stomach allows). It's nice to walk over to this place after seeing a movie at the nearby Edwards Cinema. The wine list is a bit eclectic (in a good way).

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wjk3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oporto Cafe also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Oporto Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing