We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Houston Hobby Airport
Ranked #275 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Staff and service was great. Really loved the shuttle service.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUHBCourtyardGM, General Manager at Courtyard Houston Hobby Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review. We are so glad you enjoyed our great service and complimentary shuttle. I will be sure to pass your kind words on to the staff. Please come see us again when your travels bring you to Houston.

Sincerely,

Alberto Hernandez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 183 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2012

I stayed at this hotel down by Hobby airport in March 2012 for business. I can't remember the room number - but I do remember that it was located right next to another room being renovated (sticky plastic on carpet outside door adjacent to mine). At 7am the next morning (which was fortunately 15 minutes after I woke up), I began to hear loud construction noises from the room next to mine (electric drills, hammering, etc.).

Aside from that annoyance, the hotel is actually quite nice. The lobby is renovated into the new Courtyard style - which includes a bar / coffee station. This was nice since I was travelling with two co-workers as well and we were able to go relax in the lobby late at night and enjoy a drink while watching a basketball game.

Room Tip: Ask about which rooms are being renovated and make sure you're not right next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prouddaddy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUHBCourtyardGM, General Manager at Courtyard Houston Hobby Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2012

We apologize for the noise you experienced as part of the renovations we completed in March. We appreciate your patience and understanding in the matter. Rest assured we are 100% complete now. We are glad you enjoyed our new lobby and Bistro which brews Starbucks coffee. It is a new stay at the Courtyard Houston Hobby and we can't wait for your next visit.

Regards,

Alberto Hernandez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I stayed at the CY Hobby on February 16, 2012 and I think I was in room 142.

The hotel is going through construction right now and it is causing some very large problems that they are trying to limit the disruption. That being said, I would not choose to stay at this hotel again.

Pros:
1. Close to Hobby airport. Less than 5 mins to drop off a rental car.
2. Bed and pillows were pretty comfy.
3. Room was recently remodeled.
4. Staff seemed apologetic to the current state of the hotel
5. Quiet for a being so close to the highway and airport.

Cons - Hotel:
1. Construction is reaking havoc on hotel operations: Check-In was in a conference room, Gym relocated to a dimly lit room, getting from one side of the hotel to the other required going outside.
2. Recently remodeled room was less than impressive. The AC unit was very loud and would NOT shut off at all. Mirrored closet didn't have door handles to open the doors. Room was very small. Hot water took forever to come on.
3. Parking is very limited. Most of the parking is in front of the building which is very inconvenient considering you cannot enter the hotel in the front of the building. You have to enter the side or back of the building.
4. Room internet was very slow.
5. Only one working ice machine in the hotel and they could not tell me exactly where it was.

Cons - Location:
1. Scary neighborhood. Enough so that they have the parking lot gated off but apparently not scary enough that they ever lowered the gates! Makes you feel really safe.
2. Difficult to get to if you are not familiar with the area. It is a "You can see it but cannot get there from here," situation. It is located on a one-way access road that runs beside the highway. You need to exit the highway to the north of the hotel to get there or circle around on a different road to hit the access road.

It might be a better hotel when all of the construction is complete, but I was in a new room that still had lots of problems.

No matter how much construction they do, it will not change the neighborhood.

Hopefully their attitude toward their guests safety will change.

I am a loyal Marriott member and I wont be back to your hotel. Sorry...

Room Tip: My tip would be to try a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank honeymoonin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUHBCourtyardGM, General Manager at Courtyard Houston Hobby Airport, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2012

We appreciate your feedback and apologize for the inconvenieces caused by our full renovations. We will be moving back into our lobby on February 28 so guests will no longer have to check in at our temporary front desk location. Instead they will enjoy a new lobby with more inviting space where they can eat, drink, and connect. Our renovated fitness center which will be well lit and overlook the pool & spa, will reopen February 23. Parking is located all around the building with the exception of the south side. However, we understand the inconveniences casued by a portion of the parking being temporarily closed off. That portion will be reopened early March. Ice machines are located on each floor. They were disconnected only on floors being renovated. We will ensure the staff is aware of this. The gate that surrounds the hotel is consistent with all hotels in the area. It is designed with the guests safety and security in mind. Our gate arms are up during the day and down overnight. This is desinged for both the safety and convenience of our guests. Please feel free to give me a call if you would like to discuss any of the inconveniences you experienced 713-910-1700.

We appreciate your patronage to our hotel and loyalty to Marriott. We look forward to seeing you at any of our hotels worldwide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Spent 2 nights this week. Bar available as well as small restaurant facility in the lounge. A swimming pool and gym room available at the bottom floor.

Wireless doesnt work in all the bedrooms, so if you need it, worth checking rooms closer to the reception

Last but not the least, bedrooms at the bottom floor have a large window on the car park. Remember to check whether it is properly locked, mines was not...anyone could come in from the outside,..outch

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUHBCourtyardGM, General Manager at Courtyard Houston Hobby Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2012

We apologize for the inconveniences caused by the wireless signal and the sliding glass door. It appears that you were getting a great signal from the lobby and that the wireless hub closest to your room may have had an issue. We'll check all of them to make sure they are up and running. In regards to the sliding glass door, we take the safety of our guests seriously and appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We'll review this with the Housekeeping team and ensure it is not overlooked again.

We appreciate your feeback and look foreward to your next return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Room was great and breakfast was bettter quality than expecting.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Creengr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUHBCourtyardGM, General Manager at Courtyard Houston Hobby Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2012

Many thanks for sharing your experience. We are glad to have exceeded your expecations.
We hope to see you again after renvations are complete this spring.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

I have stayed in this hotel numerous times over the last few years normally on business. It is always clean and friendly and the staff are great.

A few points of note, maybe cost savings over the last 12 months which includes the bottle of water not being in the room any more and scaled back breakfast buffet both other than that all facilities do the job.

Rooms are maybe getting a little tired but the beds are large and comfortable and the A/C works.

Fine for 1-2 nights, other than that, make sure you have a car!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesandCarolin... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUHBCourtyardGM, General Manager at Courtyard Houston Hobby Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate your continued loyalty to Marriott and patronage to our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed the great staff and clean facility. You will be pleased to know that our renovations have begun and will be complete this spring. We are looking forward to our new look that will compliment our new restaurant the Bistro. On your next stay, please take advantage of our complimentary shuttle. It will not only take you to and from the airport, but also local businesses and restaurants within a few mile radius.

Thank you once again for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again after the renovations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

The place is old, outdated, smells like feet, the fire alarm lights are covered with either corn pads or bandaids and this morning I noticed there was still standing water in the shower from my husbands shower last night. I think this is the worst hotel I've ever stay at, and I've stayed at many hotels. Think about this seriously. Ugh!! Shame Marriott!!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Npgirl1315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUHBCourtyardGM, General Manager at Courtyard Houston Hobby Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a survey. Your feedback is important as it helps us to better serve our guests. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations this stay. It appears as though the smoke detector indicator was covered by the previous guest and overlooked during the inspection process. In addition, the slow drain was not addressed in a timely manner. We will use this experience as a training tool for our Room Attendants and Room Inspectors. You will be please to know that our renovations are fully underway and set to be complete this spring. We are looking forward to a new look and latest in technology.

Once again, thank you for your feeback. We hope to see you after our renovations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Houston Hobby Airport
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Hobby Airport
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Hobby Airport Houston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Houston Hobby Airport
0.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Houston Hobby Airport
0.2 mi away
Houston Marriott South at Hobby Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Houston Hobby Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Houston Hobby Airport

Address: 9190 Gulf Fwy, Houston, TX 77017-7009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #275 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Price Range: $96 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Houston Hobby Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel with convenient access to Houston Hobby Airport. We offer spacious guest rooms, complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Houston Hobby Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Houston Hobby Airport Hotel Houston
Houston Marriott
Houston Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing