We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Houston Intercontinental Airport
Ranked #114 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I was recently a visitor to the Holiday Inn at Houston Intercontinental Airport. I often visit as I transit through Houston. I have to comment on the extraordinary kindness shown to me by Ms. Lilian Pereyra who was working the front desk. It was the end of a long day for both of us. She had been dealing with endless guests, and I had been dealing with the bizarre homeland security at the airport - for four solid hours! Lilian's welcoming smile and kindness brightened my evening and I highly recommend the Holiday Inn at Houston Intercontinental. Kent

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUAP6804, General Manager at Holiday Inn Houston Intercontinental Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Guests; It was a pleasure to read your review and compliments to Lilian on our staff. We are very happy that she helped to make your day a little better after all the airline challenges. Thank you also for choosing to stay with us. We hope all your future travels are smooth and trouble free and that you can stay with us again some day. Sincerely, Dennis Miller, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (724)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

389 - 395 of 724 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed here for one night prior to heading to the port of Houston for a cruise. The room was decent and we had a good night's sleep. We had breakfast the next morning at the on-site restaurant, which was pretty good.

The disappointing part for me was the way some items were handled by the front-desk staff. I experienced this before, during, and after my stay. When I called from the airport to catch the shuttle to the hotel, I was asked which terminal I was in. Not being familiar with IAH airport I didn't know which one it was. The lady was fairly short with me and I told her my airline, but that didn't appease her. Since each major airline falls under one terminal, and probably 90% of their business is from IAH, it seems reasonable to me the hotel staff should know this.

Check in went okay, though there was some confusion as we had booked two rooms. I thought the billing had been straightened out, but there was more confusion the next morning checking out, which fortunately got quickly resolved. I had also been expecting a package to be delivered to the hotel and I was told it hadn't arrived when checking out. I then asked when it did arrive to please return it to sender. Well, I found out after getting home the package actually did arrive 30 mins before I checked out. Getting it sent back took two weeks and several phone calls. The staff just seemed disorganized. I can't see that I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BradfordBunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUAP6804, General Manager at Holiday Inn Houston Intercontinental Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Guests; Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and are glad that you found the room and restaurant to be very good. At the same time we wish to apologize for any short-coming with our front desk interactions. We're always looking to improve where ever it is needed and your comments will be discussed as a learning opportunity. We wish you smooth travels in your future and hope that you will again consider visiting with us. Please let me know if I can be of assistance.
Sincerely, Dennis Miller, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Twice I have stayed at the HI on JFK Blvd (October 2013 and March 2014) because I needed a place close to the airport to catch a few hours of sleep, when I knew I'd be arriving late and leaving again very early.

Twice I have had to wait more than 45 minutes to be picked up from the airport terminal. Both instances were after 11 pm and before 1 am, both times I called the hotel directly to ask to be picked up by the shuttle, and both times I had to be back at the airport before 7 am to catch a morning flight.

Both times I was frustrated at missing out on some extra (but much needed) sleep because I had to wait so long for the shuttle. Particularly since I was paying nearly $100 a night per room, and would miss out on the free continental breakfast and coffee in the lobby (there are no coffee makers in the rooms).

The hotel also doesn't offer bagged breakfasts to take on the go, like a lot of other hotels do for guests that have to catch early morning flights (although I did find it interesting this last stay that when I asked at check-in about bagged breakfast I was told it was not a service that was offered, but in the lobby the next morning while I was waiting on the shuttle back to airport a group of about 20 or 30 men that were clearly traveling together were given bagged breakfasts).

I was also disappointed that I didn't get a little welcome/thank you baggie of goodies for being a loyal customer, like other IH hotels offer.

Getting a shuttle back to the airport in the morning is also a little stressful because the shuttle doesn't start to run until 4:30 am and there always seem to be a lot of people that need transportation. Luckily on this past visit, the large group of guys that were traveling together got their own bus for transportation. Otherwise I likely would have missed my flight altogether.

Otherwise, I like this hotel. The desk staff is professional and accommodating. The rooms are clean and quiet. But if you just need a place to lay your head down for less-than-a-full-night's sleep between flights, this probably isn't a good bet.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crissy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUAP6804, General Manager at Holiday Inn Houston Intercontinental Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Guest: thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your feedback. I am uncertain why we are having shuttle difficulty late night on Saturday night, but I assure you we will attend to this issue and get it improved. In the meantime, no one should ever wait more than 20 minutes. Please take a taxi and the hotel will re-imburse the fare, no question! We do not ever want to cause you discomfort, or a short night of sleep.
We were glad to see your very nice comments about the staff friendliness and the room comfort. Regard the coffee maker, they are located in the cabinet which is supposed to be labled. This was a recent change due to feedback from many customers that wanted us to provide more room on the counter-top. As for the welcome amenity bag, this is an option now for our IHG members, who can now choose to take bonus points instead, if preferred, and is a new standard by the Brand that we must follow.
We value your business and we hope we can earn another opportunity ot be your host on your next excursion through Houston. Sincerely, Dennis Miller, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I work offshore and got stuck in Houston due to some major weather fluctuations. Here's my humble take on the Holiday Inn at IAH:

Staff- Pretty good overall. Just about every hotel employee I saw walking down the hall at least smiled and said "hello" to me. A few of the restaurant servers were rather sluggish/inattentive, but there was only one bartender in particular that was just downright grumpy during the entire time I was here. The rest of the restaurant staff was great. The front desk staff was fantastic, and Angela in particular was absolutely great. She laughed and made jokes with me with me. She was a very kind and friendly person.

Room- Somewhat average. I was in a two-double-bed room. I've stayed in a LOT of La Quinta and Fairfield Inns. Overall I'd say some of these other rooms I've stayed in were nicer than this Holiday Inn room. The chairs and upholstery were older looking but the furniture was very modern. The mini fridge was very mini, and was simply sitting on the floor with a microwave on top of it. The coffee maker and ice bucket were hidden in a cabinet and I didn't actually find them until my second day here. The beds were moderately comfy. Staying in as many mid-end hotels as I have though I feel like it was a little above average and you're not gonna get an AWESOME bed unless you stay in a high end resort. The bathroom was nice. Large shower, large toilet and a decent amount of counter space. Of course, with my job I'm usually limited to 33 lbs for traveling, so I didn't have a whole lot to put on the counter top.

Restaurant- The hotel restaurant known as Good Eats Grill was average at best with a few exceptions. Four dollars for a domestic draft or bottle and almost every entree that wasn't a salad or sandwich/burger was at least $12. I'm no food critic, but here's my recommendations:

Do not order:
Ribs- overpriced and overcooked. Great flavor, but about as crispy as bacon.
Muschroom-Swiss chicken- charred, dry, too much cheese, canned mushrooms.
Salmon- overcooked, tiny portion.


DO order:
Buffalo bites- another exception to the chicken dishes. I had these three times and they were always delicious. GREAT flavorful, spicy-but-not-too-spicy sauce. They went perfect with a little ranch and a cold beer. And you get a whole plate full of them!
Pork Chops- tender and flavorful flame grilled chops, but a bit pricy.
Burger- flame grilled, juicy, big and average priced. Very yummy.
Broccoli rice casserole- tender rice, not too much broccoli, and cheesy. Just, mmm.
Baked potato- Excellent. Large, cooked to perfection and served with plenty of butter, cheese and bacon (I'm not a huge sour cream or chives fan, but they come standard).

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUAP6804, General Manager at Holiday Inn Houston Intercontinental Airport, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Guest; Thank you for finding us and for all your feedback. We're glad to know that your overall review and comments are very favorable. We know our staff also appreciates feedback and we will thank the staff for the good work and also tighten up on the areas you noted for improvement. We hope your future travels will again bring you through Houston and that we can once again be your host. Sincerely, Dennis Miller, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We booked 6 rooms with Hotwire for a single night stay on Feb 16, 2014 at the end of our cruise. We arrived at the hotel before 11am and were able to check into 2 of our 6 rooms. Our room was big and we didn't hear any noise from the hallways. Angela at the front desk went above her job requirement and found a plate of food for my 83 year old mother in law, who was hungry. (restaurant had closed and wasn't reopening for an hour). The hotel offers free scheduled shuttle service to DeerBrook mall. We took a cab to the mall for $23 and took the shuttle back to the hotel in the afternoon. I wanted to reserve our places on the shuttle to the airport for the morning but was told no reservation was needed. They have more than one shuttle van and can accommodate all guests who want to be on the shuttle. The restaurant, Good Eats, that is in the hotel has amazing food! The only problem that happened was when the last of our group tried to check into their room, the desk clerk said we only had 5 rooms booked and that Hotwire had made an error and we had to contact Hotwire. We had previously phoned the hotel 2 weeks prior to make sure all 6 rooms had the correct bed configuration. Angela wasn't at the desk and this gentleman insisted we only had 5 rooms, even though Angela knew it was 6 rooms earlier today. Finally he did go to the back and talk to someone and realized the error and gave us the 6th room. The hotel also gave the couple a credit for $30 for the restaurant in apology for their error. Well done!

Room Tip: All 6 of our rooms were excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RhondaOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUAP6804, General Manager at Holiday Inn Houston Intercontinental Airport, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Guests; we are very glad that could stay with us in Houston and we really appreciate the extra time you took to share all your positive feedback. We have a good staff here and Angela is certainly among our best. I know she will appreciate hearing that she made a difference for you. Thank you also for mentioning the restaurant. We receive a lot of compliments about the service and food and we're glad you were able to experience and enjoy. We hope that you will have the opportunity to stay with us again and we wish you all very smooh travels in your future. Sincerely, Dennis Miller, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

On Saturday night February 15th, I returned my car to the IAH Car Rental facility at 10:47 PM and took the shuttle bus back to the airport. Upon arriving back at the airport I called the hotel around 11:00 PM to request a shuttle pickup at Terminal A.

Three phone calls and an hour and a half later, the shuttle finally arrived at 12:30 AM! This was after initially being told it would be there in 10 minutes, then during my second phone call just 15 to 20 minutes. I don't know the peak times for shuttle service between the airport and hotel but I'm confident that 11:00 PM is not their busiest time.

Upon returning to the hotel, I spoke w/ a polite associate named Cheriti (I believe) and explained that I thought it was unacceptable to wait 90 minutes for a shuttle. She apologized by saying there was a shift change at midnight and the information may not have been communicated. She then asked what she could do to make up for the delay. After taking my complaint and information, she said the information would be given to her manager and she would be requesting that airline miles would be credited to my account for the inconvenience.

Aside from the shuttle service, the location is good and the sleep quality was very good. Just be wary of the timeliness of the shuttle service, especially if you are rushed to make a flight.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IA_Hawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUAP6804, General Manager at Holiday Inn Houston Intercontinental Airport, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear Guest: Thank you for sharing your feedback on your stay with us in Houston. I' hope you'll accept my apology for the shuttle delay. I'm glad the front desk lady was able to assist you. Our policy has always been clear, our Guests should not have to wait more than 20 minutes to get picked up and we'll gladly reimburse a taxi fare from the airport, no questions, if we can't do that, While the shuttle service promptly delivers hundreds of Guests each week, occassionally the service can get backed up- when that happens we want to make it right. We will review this again with the staff and insure this is being communicated. We appreciate your business and we hope that the concern with this portion of your trip will not dissuade you from choosing to stay with us again. Respectfully, Dennis Miller, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We were scheduled to stay at the Hotel one night then take our flight towards home. Our plane was cancelled two days. When inquiring if we could extend our stay, Ruby told us the hotel was full, but managed to rearrange things and we were able to stay in the same room for our second night. The staff was informative on what to do with our day in Houston. The hotel offers a free shuttle to and back from a local Mall. Everyone at the hotel gave us great service.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUAP6804, General Manager at Holiday Inn Houston Intercontinental Airport, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear Guests; thank you for taking time to share your very nice compliments! The staff, and certainly Ruby, understand that Guests with airline disruptions often need some extra help from us. I'm glad the they came through for you. We hope you can visit us again in Houston and get to see more of what this area has to offer. We appreciate your business and wish you smooth travels in your future. Sincerely, Dennis Miller, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus JFK Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Houston-Bush Intercontinental Airport
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Bush IAH South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Doubletree Houston Intercontinental Airport
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Houston Intercontinental Airport
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Houston Intercontinental Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Houston Intercontinental Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Houston Intercontinental Airport

Address: 15222 John F Kennedy Blvd, Houston, TX 77032-2306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#122 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $88 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Houston Intercontinental Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience relaxation and renewal at the newly renovated Holiday Inn hotel in Houston, Texas.With a casually sophisticated atmosphere, first-rate facilities and a welcoming staff, Holiday Inn Houston - Intercontinental Airport Hotel offers the very best in Texas accommodations. Leisure and business travelers alike will appreciate our Houston hotel's convenient location off I-45 and Beltway 8 as well as our complimentary shuttle services to the IAH Airport, which make transportation trouble-free during your stay.These modern accommodations provide easy access to many popular attractions, including H&H Ranch, the Astrodome, Sam Houston Race Park and SplashTown Houston. Our hotel is close to great shopping at Deerbrook Mall and the famous Houston Galleria, as well.Lodging at our upscale Houston hotel provides corporate travelers with top business services like a 24-hour business center, free Wi-Fi and flexible meeting space. From a beautiful ballroom to an intimate boardroom, we have the perfect facilities for your next Houston event. Our accommodations are also near major corporations like Halliburton, Continental Airlines, ExxonMobil and Nat'l Oilwell Varco.We go beyond ordinary Houston hotels to offer the best in traditional hotel hospitality and services. Relax in the outdoor pool and enjoy your favorite comfort foods at our ranch-style restaurant. Discover premium comfort and affordable rates at the Holiday Inn Hotel in Houston, Texas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Houston Intercontinental Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Houston Intercontinental Airport Hotel Houston
Intercontinental Houston Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing