We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Houston Intercontinental Airport
Ranked #112 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night because we had a layover at the Houston airport. I'm glad we only paid the reduced hotwire price because it certainly isn't worth the regular price. The airport shuttle was important to us, but when we tried to call them from the phone at the airport they would not answer the phone. Another customer was also trying to reach them on his cell phone and also could not get through. I finally just let the phone ring and ring for about 10 minutes. Once they finally picked up the phone they told us the shuttle would be there in 15 minutes - and it was. When we got to the hotel I realized why it took them so long to pick up the phone. Only two people were working on the front desk and they were very busy checking people in. They needed more people working or maybe someone else should be responsible for answering the shuttle phone. The shuttle GOING to the airport is much better as it leaves every half an hour starting at 4:30 so that was very convenient. The hotel restaurant was decent and the service in the restaurant was very good.

The room was VERY noisy. The heater/airconditioning unit was very loud and clunked on and off all night (not consistent white noise). Our room was on the front of the hotel and there was a lot of street noise and then noise from people outside waiting for the shuttle starting around 5:00. I basically got no sleep and we took the 6:00 shuttle to the airport (instead of the planned 7:00) just to get out of there.

If your purpose is to get a good sleep before a long flight, don't stay here. Maybe rooms at the back of the hotel are better.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2creekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUAP6804, General Manager at Holiday Inn Houston Intercontinental Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Guests, thank you for the feedback. While we're glad that you found us and enjoyed the restaurant in particular, we wish to apologize for the noisy situation from your room. The hotel is large and there are many other room locations that are more quiet. We can appreciate that sometimes early risers step outside and near some rooms. Regards the intermitant noise from the AC, which turns off when cooling is not needed, it is a function of the newer energy saving units. Those that run continuously, from AC to fan, still predominate this hotel provides the 'white noise' you describe and prefer.
We hope you will give us another chance. We can certainly work with your needs as described and insure you will enjoy your stay.
Sincerely, Dennis Miller, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (726)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

545 - 551 of 726 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

This hotel is surely in the mecca of hotels.. there are just too many to choose from. I was put into this one by my agent looking for a deal.

The Pros.
The hotel is close to the airport but then again so are the dozens around.... :)
The shuttle service was prompt when you call the airport rep.
They do have free communication center in the lobby with 3 -4 computers with a printer for use.
The restaurant has a unique way of serving their margaritas with a bottle of beer in it.. liked it.
The rest. staff were friendly
The breakfast Chef exceeded my expectation, when inquired if they had any croissant (which wasn't on the breakfast spread), he got me one from the kitchen.... surely he was rewarded for his kind gesture.

The Cons.
The driver of the shuttle cared less on greetings and helping with bags... and boy! he was expecting a tip.
The rooms were mediocre but livable... The houskeeping could surely step up here.

To sum up..
You get what you pay for... It a good hotel for the price and bearing in mind it's close to the airport you can't go wrong with this one, but then again there are just too many to chose from...

Room Tip: make sure you call the hotel as soon as you reach Houston, to make sure the hotel staff dispatches...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hyginus F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUAP6804, General Manager at Holiday Inn Houston Intercontinental Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Guest: Thank you for the nice overall rating. We're glad for the positives; prompt shuttle, free wifi & lobby computers, and really enjoyed hearing the nice compliments about the Good Eats Grill for drinks & breakfast. We're excited to share this with the staff. Thank you also for sharing the comment about the shuttle driver. We will insure a discussion takes place & look for immediate improvements.
Glad you found us among all the competition. We value your business and hope you'll return.
Sincerely, Dennis Miller, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I would rate it as zero if possible! Too expensive fr the quality!
We waited 30 minutes for the stupid shuttle to arrive and pick us up from the airport (it takes only 10 minutes to the hotel) and it happened because they have only one shuttle. The lady kept saying that it will be there in 5 minutes and we were standing outside in the cold weather. And we arrived NOT a single word of we're sorry!!!
Room was OK but the PILLOWS were not actually pillows. They were more like small decorative cushions you put on your bed when not using it. Awe-full and uncomfortable! I would not call it a *** hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUAP6804, General Manager at Holiday Inn Houston Intercontinental Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Guest: Thank you for letting us know about the difficulties surrounding your stay- particularly the shuttle & the room pillows>We should have had two drivers, and if over 20 minutes delay we are to offer to pay a cab for you. These are standards and I'm very sorry that we did not get it right. Regards the pillows, The 20X24 pillows are Holiday Inn standard, 4 per bed with two being soft and two being firm pillows. In addtion we have a pillow menu. Located in the directory we list three other types of pillows that can be delivered for your comfort. I hope you'll forgive us and try us again. Sincerely, Dennis Miller, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

There were really only two things that were average about this hotel, the bed and the TV. Everything else was below average. Cold water in the shower, which looked like it hadn't had a proper cleaning ever. Room decor was out of the '60s. Since we were only there overnight to catch an early flight out of IAH it was fine, and the price was reasonable, it served the purpose, but we won't be back. There are other SPG properties, including right next door, that are newer and probably much better.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xbioman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUAP6804, General Manager at Holiday Inn Houston Intercontinental Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Guest; Thank you for your feedback. While we're glad the bed and TV met your satisfaction I wish to apologize for the issues with the water, cleaning & decor. Having recently had all three boilers given their annual check up, we are disappointed to hear this- I hope you let us know the room number so we could identify & check this closer and also about the cleaning so we can check & correct any particular room cleaning. As with the decor, our designer did take a 60's/70's theme (plus airplanes) with freash modern colors- and while liked by many, we understand that it can be controversial. I hope you might try us again. We appreciate your business. Respectfully, Dennis Miller, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Nothing special about this Hotel. They seems a bit overwhelmed by the number of people staying there. I stayed here because of a ftlight delay which they seem to get alot of customers from the airlines. In the room was a sign saying they had toothbrushes but at the desk they said they had been out for a few days, next day none again. Wifi is spotty, shower/tub plumbing was in poor repair. The room was clean and comfortable. The exercise room was nice and the out door pool looked good too. Resturant food was run of the mill, served day old rolls and freezer burnt butter, main course was better.
I would not choose to stay here but with the airline paying for the room it was acceptable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnyDaysInBelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUAP6804, General Manager at Holiday Inn Houston Intercontinental Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Guest; we appreciate your feedback and glad to learn that many aspects of your stay were good. However, we also appreciate you sharing that some nights such as yours, when we receive delayed airline guests that it can sometimes be a bit hectic. We have continguency plans in place to help displaced travelers when this occurs and will continue to look for ways to respond better. Sincerely, Dennis Miller, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Ended up in Houston on a flight delay, needed a place close to the airport to sleep at, to make an early departure the following morning.

Requested by hotel to call them when I arrived to ask for shuttle (was late arrival) and inform them of the terminal we arrived at. Shuttle arrived 12 minutes after I called, not bad. Normal shuttle service from hotel is 30 minute intervals starting @ 430 AM. Not sure when regular service ends, but must be after 11 as we were that late.

Check-in was fine, gentleman was polite, quick and efficient, asked me if I was a Priority Club member. Offered me a breakfast coupon, but I could not use as they didnt open until 6AM and I was leaving @ 530. Also offered me a goody bag with 2 waters and 2 snacks.

Arrived at room (#176) at the end of a wing. Was not impressed overall. Room was clean. Bed and pillows were very good. Room temp/control was fine. This particular room was adjacent to the elevator, VERY NOISY. The wireless service was horribly slow. Rooms and hotel in general would benefit from some renovation as the design appears dated. It was late and I only had about 5 hours of sleep ahead of me so I put a pillow over my head and went to bed. There are a lot of options on this street for lodging, not sure about the others but might try something else next time.

Room Tip: Do not get a room ending in '76 or '77
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BeachLeech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUAP6804, General Manager at Holiday Inn Houston Intercontinental Airport, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Guest, thank you for the overall good comments. We appreciate hearing that our front desk was polite, recognized your membership status and that both the check in & shuttle service was quick. We're also glad to hear that the room was clean and comfortable, however, we apologize for the noise from a nearby elevator. We have noted this room with our staff and will try to limit selling this particular room in the future. We appreciate your business.
Sincerely, Dennis Miller, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed about a week here , good comfortable hotel, great shuttle service
Attached bar restaurant was good value , enjoyed the zindfel wine one evening.
Very at tentative staff , will stay here again
Only downside is the location if you don't drive nowhere to go , guess that's the us rather than the hotel

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank russellh731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUAP6804, General Manager at Holiday Inn Houston Intercontinental Airport, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear Guest, it was a pleasure to read your nice review. We're glad the staff was very attentive, the hotel comfortable and the shuttle was great. Being away from home for over a week can be challenging but we're pleased to hear we came through for you and made your visit comfortable. Thank you! hope you'll have a chance to stay with us again.
Sincerely, Dennis Miller, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Houston-Bush Intercontinental Airport
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Bush IAH South
0.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Houston Intercontinental Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Doubletree Houston Intercontinental Airport
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus JFK Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Houston Intercontinental Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Houston Intercontinental Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Houston Intercontinental Airport

Address: 15222 John F Kennedy Blvd, Houston, TX 77032-2306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#122 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $87 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Houston Intercontinental Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience relaxation and renewal at the newly renovated Holiday Inn hotel in Houston, Texas.With a casually sophisticated atmosphere, first-rate facilities and a welcoming staff, Holiday Inn Houston - Intercontinental Airport Hotel offers the very best in Texas accommodations. Leisure and business travelers alike will appreciate our Houston hotel's convenient location off I-45 and Beltway 8 as well as our complimentary shuttle services to the IAH Airport, which make transportation trouble-free during your stay.These modern accommodations provide easy access to many popular attractions, including H&H Ranch, the Astrodome, Sam Houston Race Park and SplashTown Houston. Our hotel is close to great shopping at Deerbrook Mall and the famous Houston Galleria, as well.Lodging at our upscale Houston hotel provides corporate travelers with top business services like a 24-hour business center, free Wi-Fi and flexible meeting space. From a beautiful ballroom to an intimate boardroom, we have the perfect facilities for your next Houston event. Our accommodations are also near major corporations like Halliburton, Continental Airlines, ExxonMobil and Nat'l Oilwell Varco.We go beyond ordinary Houston hotels to offer the best in traditional hotel hospitality and services. Relax in the outdoor pool and enjoy your favorite comfort foods at our ranch-style restaurant. Discover premium comfort and affordable rates at the Holiday Inn Hotel in Houston, Texas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Splitty, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Houston Intercontinental Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Houston Intercontinental Airport Hotel Houston
Intercontinental Houston Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing