We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Nasa and allows pets”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Houston - Clear Lake
Ranked #228 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Reviewed February 8, 2011

I stayed here last night. I felt the price was not bad. I paid $105/taxes and all for a queen suite with kitchen included. The pet deposit was only $15 and well worth it. Residence/Marriotts were charging $100/stay.
The staff was nice/ very helpful. There is no one manning desk after 11p but they can be reached. They have a little supply of snacks etc that they sell at reasonable prices on the honor system. You leave money or write down what you got. Also gym/laundry/internet available. The rooms have dvd/vcr and kitchen well enough supplied to cook if you desired.
Nice clean comfortable bed/nice towels. Overall good experience. Mostly used by travelling professionals I believe. Felt safe as it is also next door to police station.
Nasa was right around the corner which was what we were there to see.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smilinggypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
There are newer reviews for Candlewood Suites Houston - Clear Lake
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 55 of 59 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2010

Overall this Candlewood Suites is acceptable. I normally prefer Holiday Inn Express or Hampton Inn when choosing a mid range hotel, but given we were just looking for a cheap night to get an extra promotional credit, we were happy with this location at less than $60 this location is a good value.

We knew we would have fewer perks, but would also have all we needed for the night. Candlewood is a designed as a limited service extended stay so do not expect your typical mid range business traveler perks. However the location is clean, staff is friendly, and if you know what to expect with the Candlewood brand you will not be disappointed with this location.

I would imagine in most instances you would have a car at this location as we did, but if you do not have a car there are plenty of dining options within a 5-7 minute walk. With a car you have nearly unlimited options within 10 minutes. Right next door is a Denny's and McDonalds if you do not want to venture out.

This Candlewood, as all others, does not have front desk staff from 11pm till 7am, though they do say that they have on site staff all the time. We booked a studio suite and that is what we were given. If you are staying for more than one night there is limited housekeeping service.

The room and common areas were clean though a bit dated. All rooms have a nice size fridge, microwave, sink, kitchenware, microwave, and kitchen table. The room has a work desk, leather chair, and Queen size bed. The bed was comfortable, though the bed is very close to the wall on one side. The rooms are not very large, but are comfortable. The climate control system worked well, and the blower can be set to on for white noise while still using the air conditioning. The room has a TV, VCR, DVD Player, CD player, etc. The TV is a old CRT style TV but had plenty of channels. The free wifi service was easy to connect to and was relatively fast for a hotel. Carpet, furnishing's linens, and furniture are all clean but showing some wear and tear.

As for the common facilities, they have quite a few unique offerings. Outside there is a nice sitting area with a gas grill available. (No pool at Candlewood.) Inside, they have a small but sufficient workout room with treadmill, weight machine, bikes, and some other equipment. They have free use of washers and dryers to do your laundry. They also have an honor system for convenience foods - just choose and charge to your room or pay cash. Also, they offer free video and DVD checkout.

One major thing that I always find lacking at Candlewoods (thus the reason I do not choose them for business trips often) is that they do not have a business center or guest printer. Keep this limitation in mind if you are in need of printing.

I would recommend this hotel for either an extended stay or a quick on night stay if you are looking for a budget option in the Clear Lake area.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pcsanity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

The Candlewood Suites hotel was a pleasant and quiet place to stay in the Clear Lake area of Houston, TX. The room was a one bedroom with a living room and full kitchen primarily designed for business travelers. The room was clean and pleasant with a large kitchen table/desk arrangement for both eating a working. The bathroom was clean and the staff was pleasant. We liked the "Cupboard" / "Laundry Room" available to the guests. The Cupboard was one of the most well stocked "markets" we've seen in a hotel. There was a small, but well outfitted fitness room also. There was no pool with the facility.

The downside of the hotel was that none of the rooms had a king-sized bed. Only queens were available, and my wife and I would have liked a little roomier bed. The main complaint was the HVAC system which was a type I had not encountered before. It could "sense" when someone was in the room and when they were not. A placque above the control panel stated that it was equiped with an energy saving feature that could sense when someone was not in the room, and would save energy (by not runnng as much, I assume) when no one was in the room. It said to wait 15 minutes after returning to the room for the temperature to return to what you had set it to. The 15 minutes was more like 2-3 hours to return to temperature, and it seemed to think that when we went to bed at night, we were not there. I found the energy saving feature to be quite annoying and not very customer friendly. I would prefer to stay in a hotel where the HVAC lets the customer decide when and how it should be on and running, not vice versa. I hate to think what the room might have been like if the outside temperature was in the mid to upper 90's outside instead of the 70 to 80 degree weather we had.

Overall, I would recommend the hotel, but with a caveat regarding the poorly designed HVAC system.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrGoosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2009

This Hotel is very clean, efficient, and well located. They offer a full kitchen, even a dishwasher! Found the staff very helpful, Marvin & Felicia went over and above the call of duty for me. If you have business in the area, this is your home away from home.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Businessman22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Jackson MS
14
Reviewed June 25, 2003

I loved this place. The staff was friendly and went above the call of duty to make everything right. During making reservations I mentioned that my wife and I would be there during our anniversary and when we checked in they had a fruit basket in the room waiting.

I use to stay at the Holiday-Inn family of hotels but from now on, if there is a Candlewood in the area I will stay with them.

The only complaint, They have some energy saver on the A/C and while your not in the room it cuts off or cuts back, no biggie just would rather come in to a cool room.

  • Stayed: June 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2003

I am currently staying at the Candlewood Suites in the Clear Lake area and it has been an entirely pleasing experience. The room, which has a full kitchen and nice work area, is perfectly sized for one person on a business trip. It's small and compact but tastefully furnished and well insulated. I haven't once heard any of my neighbors! The TV has a VCR and there's a great selection of videos for free at the front desk. I'm not sure of the listed price of this hotel, as I booked it off of HotWire and got it at a great price of $35 a night. Of course on HotWire you can't tell what hotel you are booking, but Candlewood Suites uses them alot, so chances are good if you are booking a hotel with a kitchen icon in the Clear lake area you will end up at the CandleWood. Good Luck!

12  Thank coando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ヨシタロウ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Houston - Clear Lake, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houston
Clear Lake
TownePlace Suites Houston Clear Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Suites Webster
#10 of 16 in Webster
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Houston - Clear Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Houston - Clear Lake

Address: 2737 Bay Area Blvd, Houston, TX 77058-1001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #228 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Price Range: $75 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Houston - Clear Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to beautiful Clear Lake, an attractive community hotel in Houston! For business or pleasure, the Candlewood Suites Houston-Clear Lake offers the utmost in comfort and convenience for your extended stay travel. Situated in the Bay Area right on the Gulf of Mexico, Clear Lake is an exciting community in Houston, TX. Students and families visiting the University of Houston-Clear Lake will appreciate this nearby all-suite hotel that is also is convenient to a number of businesses and attractions. We are near Lockheed Martin, Jacobs Engineering and Boeing, making this the ideal hotel for corporate travel. Stay productive during your trip with free high-speed wireless Internet access and a spacious work area. Space Center Houston is a must see for quick trips or an extended stay vacation in Clear Lake, and be sure to visit the beautiful Baybrook Mall, only three miles away. Our hotel is also just minutes from the exciting Kemah Boardwalk! Don't forget to check out downtown Houston while you're in town. We offer the best in amenities, including free guest laundry facilities, our Candlewood Cupboard and our 24-hr Candlewood Gym. After a long day, our suites with more space and full kitchens offer the home-like experience you need to get comfortable. Our friendly staff looks forward to serving you on your next visit to this welcoming hotel in Clear Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Houston - Clear Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Houston/Clear Lake Hotel Houston
Candlewood Houston
Houston Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing