We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Clean hotel.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Houston - Clear Lake
Ranked #210 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Reviewed March 13, 2013

always have used candlewood suites on trips, this one was clean and the room was nice. Hotel staff okay, not as friendly as others we have stayed at but okay. I was a little surprised that there was no pool. But, no biggie as it is winter. We did enjoy our stay.
*ONe funny thing was they had a cart that the maintenance staff pushed up and down the hallway that is extra noisy, it woke me up...haha, need to get that wheel fixed. But, we would return there...

Room Tip: good for clear lake area....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

35 - 41 of 61 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2013

Location: Great location, a lot of nearby stores and not far away from the Tanger Outlet and Galveston.
Room: Extremely impressed. Very Contemporary!
Staff: Could tell was annoyed by any customer asking questions and was not friendly.
Pet Friendly: Only $15 for pet to stay.
Restroom: Only complaint was that the toilet had yellow stains, gross!
Overall would stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zgenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stop here a few times a year. spent 2, 3 Xmas here. enjoyed the nonsmoking changes and upgrades to the rooms. things are slowly getting better. great front desk staff. awesome location to restaurants. great value for the reasonable rate. great overall bargain here in safe great location. only complaint are mainly are with other guest. smoking rooms vents leak into nonsmoking rooms makes my allergies and sleep quality terrible. my recent stay Dec 23-26 was peaceful although with room change. Changed rooms and everything was peaceful and perfect until check out and thank you Candlewood suites houston/ clear lake:) thank god no kids running wild this time.

Room Tip: can not tell you bc you will ruin my stay.lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caligula r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

A short drive from Clear Lake and the international airport and off a busy highway between Houston and Galveston this is a functional, reasonabley priced 'motel' type establishment surrounded by well maintained offices, a Macdonalds and a Dennys both of which are convenient for breakfast.

The hotel was nearing the end of a refurbsihment program when I stayed so the managemnt kindly left a small 'sorry for the inconvenience' bag in the room containing a small bottle of wine, some nuts and biscuits. There is a coffee making machine in the room with two complementary filter packets, small sacets of sugar and milk.

Decor in the room is a little dull being mainly brown and beige but it is clean and the large bed very comfortable. The towels and hairdryer seemed to be new. For a longer stay the kitchen area would be a useful asset but the noise of the condenser on the fridge and the wall mounted airconditioning unit did not make for a good nights sleep.There is a useful office desk and free wifi.

The hotel has a well equipped laundry in the same room as a 'help yourself' eating area where you can purchase machine coffee, snacks and some easy cook microwave meals for which you can pay using the honesty box or by filling in a usage form to add the charges to the bill.

On site there is an outdoor BBQ area with two large units and several tables and chairs, all under a pavilion roof to shelter from the sun or rain.

Staff were very pleasant and prices reasonable. There is ample parking.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jubits8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

I just stayed here and I have to say the room was really nice and a great value for the money. I stayed on the second floor, the first floor is under construction, but that did not really bother me. What I really like aboutthis place is the "cupboard". They have a large selection of drinks and snacks that you can come and get whenever- there is a slot to put cash in or fill out a card and charge it to your room. I hate dealing with vending machines. There are many places to eat and shop nearby and the drive to Galveston is not too bad.

Sha at the front desk is really friendly and helpful. There are many long-term guests and she seems to make an effort to make sure everyone is comfortable.

I will be staying again with ot without the construction!

Room Tip: Just ask for new construction. The kitcheonettes are nice and plenty of counter space to work with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendywoogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

On April 28 around 6pm made a reservation via 3rd party online reservation system and received email confirmation the reservation was made; even had a confirmation #. Arrived at hotel and a very nice front desk agent (I think her name was N'sha)? told us their were no rooms available and there had not been any available since 3pm that day. She said we were the 3rd reservation she had to deal with, same exact problem. She apologized and made a reservation for us at the Candlewood Suites in Deer Park. During the time she was making the reservation for us another couple walked in. Guess what? They had the same exact problem even though they had email confirmation too.

We asked if our AMEX card would be charged. She said it shouldn't be since the reservation wasn’t in their reservation system. Checked AMEX a week later and of course we were charged. In addition, Candlewood Suites customer service said - as per their policy - we should not be charged for the Deer Park stay due to it being their screw up. Note: We had 3 separate conversations with Customer Service and each agent said this is their policy - credit both stays – we did not bring it up.

First and second conversations; the Customer Service rep contacted the hotels on our behalf and talked to the owners. Said it would take 10 days for our AMEX to be credited. 30 days later; no credit.

The last conversation with Customer Service on 6/2 - they indicated we had to talk to the particular owners of the hotel, even though in the 2 previous conversations THEY talked to the owners on our behalf. When asked for the owners' information they said they were unable to give it to us. Then they said we would need to contact AMEX and dispute the charges. Completely unacceptable making us do the legwork due to YOUR screw up.

The net net - do not use Candlewood Suites, especially this one. Unwilling to take responsibility and fix the problem when THEY mess up.

And finally, the only person in this whole fiasco who displayed professionalism, apologized numerous times, and got us a room was the front desk agent at the Clearlake property. Ironically, she’s probably the least paid and crapped on by her boss, but was still the most helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABC006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Houston - Clear Lake, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2012

Dear ABC006,

Thank you for relaying your concerns to us. Kindly accept our sincerest apology for the unacceptable service that you received and for the extreme disappointment that it caused you. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Rooms were outdated, needs updating - especially bathroom. Location was the reason for the stay at this location. Has McDonalds next door for meals. The kitchenette was a nice additions.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank tran234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houston
2.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Webster
Comfort Suites Webster
#11 of 17 in Webster
160 reviews
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Houston - Clear Lake NASA
1.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Houston NASA/Clear Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Houston - NASA Clear Lake
2.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Houston
2.3 mi away
Courtyard Houston NASA/Clear Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Houston - Clear Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Houston - Clear Lake

Address: 2737 Bay Area Blvd, Houston, TX 77058-1001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #210 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Price Range: $100 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Houston - Clear Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to beautiful Clear Lake, an attractive community hotel in Houston! For business or pleasure, the Candlewood Suites Houston-Clear Lake offers the utmost in comfort and convenience for your extended stay travel. Situated in the Bay Area right on the Gulf of Mexico, Clear Lake is an exciting community in Houston, TX. Students and families visiting the University of Houston-Clear Lake will appreciate this nearby all-suite hotel that is also is convenient to a number of businesses and attractions. We are near Lockheed Martin, Jacobs Engineering and Boeing, making this the ideal hotel for corporate travel. Stay productive during your trip with free high-speed wireless Internet access and a spacious work area. Space Center Houston is a must see for quick trips or an extended stay vacation in Clear Lake, and be sure to visit the beautiful Baybrook Mall, only three miles away. Our hotel is also just minutes from the exciting Kemah Boardwalk! Don't forget to check out downtown Houston while you're in town. We offer the best in amenities, including free guest laundry facilities, our Candlewood Cupboard and our 24-hr Candlewood Gym. After a long day, our suites with more space and full kitchens offer the home-like experience you need to get comfortable. Our friendly staff looks forward to serving you on your next visit to this welcoming hotel in Clear Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Houston - Clear Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Houston/Clear Lake Hotel Houston
Candlewood Houston
Houston Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing