We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent room for price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Houston - Clear Lake
Ranked #220 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Rooms were outdated, needs updating - especially bathroom. Location was the reason for the stay at this location. Has McDonalds next door for meals. The kitchenette was a nice additions.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank tran234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
There are newer reviews for Candlewood Suites Houston - Clear Lake
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

39 - 45 of 59 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2012

I'm forced to stay here for work on occasion. Never very enjoyable. The rooms smell stale - like too many have been smoking rooms in the distant past, but at least they don't smell like smoke anymore. They are suites that have a kitchenette with plates, fridge, silverware - but it is basic stuff - laminate, coil range almond fridge. There is not couch or feeling of a separate room. The AC unit a little loud - thermostat on wall didn't work - had to use controls on the unit.

Don't expect your bed made daily, when they say weekly service, they mean it, no one will go in your room.

The cleanliness is OK. seems a little dusty by the AC unit and the corners, but at least it seems clean where it's important - bath and bed.

TV's are old, not flat screen or high def. Carpet looks older than newer and repair where taking place in the hall.

Staff is helpful, not exactly all smiles, but not rude either.

I'm not sure why one would choose to stay here, unless they are getting a really good deal...

Room Tip: Haven't run into a room much better than another...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KJAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Houston - Clear Lake, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2012

KJAustin,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you were not fully satisfied with the accommodations received. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Ben J
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We stayed at Candlewood Suites for about 2 weeks, and we were quite pleased. The staff was friendly and efficient. The room had a nice kitchenette, wireless internet, a large closet and a good-sized bathroom. The free laundry was great and there is coffee available all the time, which we really enjoyed. We have no complaints and would recommend it as a good value.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Texas_Surfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

This would have been a 4 star rating if the quality of the room was a little better. The room was average, on the older side, with a kitchenette, full size fridge, microwave, pots & pans and dishes. I couldn't get the wireless to work, but the ethernet was fine. The tub leaked profusely and the ice maker didn't work. I asked to have them fixed. The fixes were to remove the on/off lever from the ice maker, and to tighten the knob on the tub to the point where it wouldn't leak and I couldn't turn it. Not what I expected or wanted.

There were free breakfast items (oatmeal packets, milk, juice, muffins) and a "store" where you could get assorted items and have them billed to your room. Word to the wise - if you have double occupancy, make a point of it because our room was actually for one person and the bed was in the corner, with only 1 nightstand. I had to crawl into bed from the foot of the bed.

We had to have several large boxes of medical supplies delivered before we got there and there were no problems with that. Due to a delayed flight, we arrived several hours later than we intended and there was no problem checking in. The staff was very nice.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrGirlfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Last minute booking for a local place near NASA. As a Platinum member I was upgraded to a larger suite and given a coupon for 50cent purchase from the cupboard. I was surprised to find that there was a free breakfast provided. Free Wifi and a PC terminal with printing facilities is there too. Didn't use the laundry or gym.
Staff really helpful and friendly.Only 3 miles to NASA so very convenient for me. Overall very impressed and would stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ourunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Only thing missing was a king size bed. Rooms were a little cramped but everything was there.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buckster75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Stayed for just one night during visit to JSC and USRA. Good location for that. Feels small scale and familiar. A bit hard to see it from the Bay Area Blvd. Complimentary WIFI nice.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank filber70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houston
Clear Lake
TownePlace Suites Houston Clear Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Suites Webster
#10 of 16 in Webster
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Houston - Clear Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Houston - Clear Lake

Address: 2737 Bay Area Blvd, Houston, TX 77058-1001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Best Value Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $75 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Houston - Clear Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to beautiful Clear Lake, an attractive community hotel in Houston! For business or pleasure, the Candlewood Suites Houston-Clear Lake offers the utmost in comfort and convenience for your extended stay travel. Situated in the Bay Area right on the Gulf of Mexico, Clear Lake is an exciting community in Houston, TX. Students and families visiting the University of Houston-Clear Lake will appreciate this nearby all-suite hotel that is also is convenient to a number of businesses and attractions. We are near Lockheed Martin, Jacobs Engineering and Boeing, making this the ideal hotel for corporate travel. Stay productive during your trip with free high-speed wireless Internet access and a spacious work area. Space Center Houston is a must see for quick trips or an extended stay vacation in Clear Lake, and be sure to visit the beautiful Baybrook Mall, only three miles away. Our hotel is also just minutes from the exciting Kemah Boardwalk! Don't forget to check out downtown Houston while you're in town. We offer the best in amenities, including free guest laundry facilities, our Candlewood Cupboard and our 24-hr Candlewood Gym. After a long day, our suites with more space and full kitchens offer the home-like experience you need to get comfortable. Our friendly staff looks forward to serving you on your next visit to this welcoming hotel in Clear Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Houston - Clear Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Houston/Clear Lake Hotel Houston
Candlewood Houston
Houston Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing