We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Room & Service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlewood Suites Houston - Clear Lake

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Houston - Clear Lake
Ranked #223 of 501 Hotels in Houston
San Jose, California
2 reviews
“Nice Room & Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

This would have been a 4 star rating if the quality of the room was a little better. The room was average, on the older side, with a kitchenette, full size fridge, microwave, pots & pans and dishes. I couldn't get the wireless to work, but the ethernet was fine. The tub leaked profusely and the ice maker didn't work. I asked to have them fixed. The fixes were to remove the on/off lever from the ice maker, and to tighten the knob on the tub to the point where it wouldn't leak and I couldn't turn it. Not what I expected or wanted.

There were free breakfast items (oatmeal packets, milk, juice, muffins) and a "store" where you could get assorted items and have them billed to your room. Word to the wise - if you have double occupancy, make a point of it because our room was actually for one person and the bed was in the corner, with only 1 nightstand. I had to crawl into bed from the foot of the bed.

We had to have several large boxes of medical supplies delivered before we got there and there were no problems with that. Due to a delayed flight, we arrived several hours later than we intended and there was no problem checking in. The staff was very nice.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrGirlfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    23
    13
    1
    5
See reviews for
6
18
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
110 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

Last minute booking for a local place near NASA. As a Platinum member I was upgraded to a larger suite and given a coupon for 50cent purchase from the cupboard. I was surprised to find that there was a free breakfast provided. Free Wifi and a PC terminal with printing facilities is there too. Didn't use the laundry or gym.
Staff really helpful and friendly.Only 3 miles to NASA so very convenient for me. Overall very impressed and would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ourunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buckster75
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

Only thing missing was a king size bed. Rooms were a little cramped but everything was there.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buckster75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lerum, Sweden
Level Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

Stayed for just one night during visit to JSC and USRA. Good location for that. Feels small scale and familiar. A bit hard to see it from the Bay Area Blvd. Complimentary WIFI nice.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank filber70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

I thought this was Towne Place Suites, a place down the street in which I had previously stayed and thought was a great value. Planning to have a romantic get away with my sweetheart, I reserved the suite for 3 nights, with a late-arrival guarantee. I got to the hotel and realized my mistake, but decided to check in anyway. After waiting at the front desk for more than 20 minutes, someone finally arrived to check me in. I made my way down the small, dingy hallway to the room. The furniture looked old. The bedding was pilling. Only two pillows on the bed. Minimal numbers of thread-bare towels on the bars. The two-burner electric stove looked like something out of a 50's era dorm room. The room smelled...not quite right. The only positive note was that the place was cheap and gave free washer/dryers. $19 a night would not have been a low enough price!!!
I instantly knew this was not to be our romantic love-nest! In tears, I hoped Towne Place had vacancies, but it was not to be. They suggested Residence Inn. So, I got a room there, but paid for Candlewood also, for the first night. RI was $139 a night, plus the Candlewood $65, but it was worth it to not have to stay in that horrible room even 1 night.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank felisnondomesticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

we traveled here for an expo and vacation. through priceline.com, we were able to book queen bed suites for $65 each room. we did have some trouble with the system going through, but it worked overall. the first room we recieved was fine & normal. the second was unfortunately in the smoking floor. we reserved a nonsmoking room. the smell continued to reek while we slept there the first night. it wasnt until 5PM the next day, when they cleared out a nonsmoking suite for us. the queen bed was not bad. comfy enough. the room also came with a pullout chair. one of our family member slept on that throughout the trip. the bathroom is good, although we had a ineffective hair dryer. the kitchen in our room was workable. although we decided to rewash the silverware they provided. the cabinets were stocked with pots, pans, bowls, a measuring cup, spoons, and spatulas. there is no oven, but a microwave, fridge, dishwasher, and stove. in the room, there is also a small dining/work table. the hotel does provide high speed internet; cable or wireless. there is complimentary breakfast only available on the weekends from 6-9AM. there are bagels w/ cream cheese, muffins, milks, and OJ. there is a Denny's and McDonald's located nearby. the front desk is helpful and nice. although theyre not always at their desk, you can call them with the phones in the hotel. we only had one problem with a clerk when we asked him a question and gave us a false answer. there is a small gym & a guest cupboard and laundry that we went to every night. the cupboard is a mini convience (<--misspelled) store. there is no swimming pool. oddly, housekeeping only comes weekly, not daily. overall, the stay was good with an afforadable price.

Room Tip: suites are nice. you can request foam or feather pillows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ihaveamustache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2011

Customer service is horrible So do not stay at this place

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fhhy1234467890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houston
Clear Lake
TownePlace Suites Houston Clear Lake
Comfort Suites Webster
#10 of 16 in Webster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Houston - Clear Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Houston - Clear Lake

Property: Candlewood Suites Houston - Clear Lake
Address: 2737 Bay Area Blvd, Houston, TX 77058-1001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #223 of 501 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Houston - Clear Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to beautiful Clear Lake, an attractive community hotel in Houston! For business or pleasure, the Candlewood Suites Houston-Clear Lake offers the utmost in comfort and convenience for your extended stay travel. Situated in the Bay Area right on the Gulf of Mexico, Clear Lake is an exciting community in Houston, TX. Students and families visiting the University of Houston-Clear Lake will appreciate this nearby all-suite hotel that is also is convenient to a number of businesses and attractions. We are near Lockheed Martin, Jacobs Engineering and Boeing, making this the ideal hotel for corporate travel. Stay productive during your trip with free high-speed wireless Internet access and a spacious work area. Space Center Houston is a must see for quick trips or an extended stay vacation in Clear Lake, and be sure to visit the beautiful Baybrook Mall, only three miles away. Our hotel is also just minutes from the exciting Kemah Boardwalk! Don't forget to check out downtown Houston while you're in town. We offer the best in amenities, including free guest laundry facilities, our Candlewood Cupboard and our 24-hr Candlewood Gym. After a long day, our suites with more space and full kitchens offer the home-like experience you need to get comfortable. Our friendly staff looks forward to serving you on your next visit to this welcoming hotel in Clear Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and IHG so you can book your Candlewood Suites Houston - Clear Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Houston/Clear Lake Hotel Houston
Candlewood Houston
Houston Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing