We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Houston NASA/Clear Lake
Ranked #136 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2012

The rooms were very nice, clean and quiet. We stayed here to see the Houston Air Show and this hotel was pretty close without being on the main highway.

There was a small bump in the road, however the management made good on it and all is well.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank TX-1096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn Houston NASA/Clear Lake
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 128 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2012

In the past year, Residence Inn has become my go-to hotel. I've stayed at many Residence Inns this year, whether I've made the reservation or I've traveled with someone who has made the reservation. The stay at this particular Residence Inn with my husband for the Wings Over Houston Air Show last month was the first time there has ever been an issue.

Check-in went smoothly. I made the process longer than it needed to be by not having the right credit card readily available, but the check-in clerk (can't believe I forgot her name!) was so nice and never got impatient. As we were concluding check-in, I asked about lock box availability because my husband had an item that could not be taken to the air show. She said it wouldn't be a problem. In the time it took to go outside to the car and ask my husband a question and then come back inside, the check-in clerk told me she had asked the manager and he said that my husband could not use the lock box.

On the way to dinner, my husband stopped at the front desk and asked to speak to the manager. I stayed in the car, but my husband says he got nowhere with the manager and was unable to store the item in the lock box, even though he explained that his job allowed him to have the item, showed the manager proof of his job and explained the law that backed him up. The manager could not point to a policy backing up his decision to refuse to store the item.

We were so excited about staying here due to the proximity to the air show, but now, we had to drive the opposite way to find a place to store the item, and then drive back to the air field and fight traffic, watch the air show and then fight horrible traffic leaving the air show to drive the opposite way of the hotel back to retrieve the item. What should have taken about 10 minutes in the morning and 30 in the afternoon now took 35 minutes in the morning and 1 1/2 hours in the afternoon! It definitely put a damper on our trip.

The room was very clean, breakfast was good, and with the exception of the manager that didn't know his own company policy, we received the wonderful service and hospitality that we've come to expect from Residence Inn. However, we decided that we would never stay at another Residence Inn again. My husband sent a letter to Marriott asking them to clarify their policy regarding lock boxes. We didn't expect anything to happen, but he received a reply asking for more information and then a promise that they would look into it. Still not expecting anything, we were shocked when we received an apologetic e-mail yesterday from the hotel manager! She admitted that they were wrong and offered compensation for our inconvenience.

Who admits any wrongdoing these days? That means so much! I am so happy because I love Residence Inn and was disappointed that we would no longer be able to stay at one if they refused to accommodate my husband. I hope that they re-educate their staff so that we don't have to go through this again, but at least we know that if there is a problem, it will be resolved! We look forward to our next stay and we are grateful for the wonderful customer service we have received.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Pros:
- location affords access to every type retail, restaurant and entertainment imaginable (Sbux immediately next door was great)
- laundry on-site
- offers a 2-bed, 2-bath suite
- able to park right outside your room

Negatives:
- place was disgusting & seemed as if it hadn't been cleaned ... spots of blood on the sheet and wall, kitchen counter was filthy, bathroom was cleaned
- daily cleaning service wasn't very good either really improve
- rooms were a bit small (2bed, 2bath seemed less than 700 sqft)


I am a Marriott Platinum member & stayed with Marriott for 15 years, and have never seen anything like this ... Dear Marriott, please investigate !!!





so you

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DQC_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I've stayed here a few times over 2011-2012.

The one negative experience was a one time situation involving a complicated refund. It all worked out in the end but it was pretty labor intensive to resolve.

Apart from that my day to day experience at the hotel has been great. Very presentable attractive rooms, nice facility w/pool-jacuzzi. Gym is undergoing renovation and the worn elliptical machines are being replaced. Good breakfast, cheery service, located close to restaurants nearby and Johnson space center is a close drive.

I'm looking forward to my next stay here!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen H, Sales Coordinator at Residence Inn Houston NASA/Clear Lake, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

We sincerely appreciate your loyalty to Residence Inn Houston Clear Lake!

Thank you for feedback. I'm so happy to hear that any issue was resolved. We look forward to your stays with us in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I was looking for a hotel that would serve my needs for an extended stay. I found that in the The Residence Inn. The hotel was newly renovated and extremely clean. The staff is helpful and friendly. Its nice to stay where they know your na

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with any room.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen H, Sales Coordinator at Residence Inn Houston NASA/Clear Lake, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you for your positive feedback! I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to seeing you again at Residence Inn Houston Clear Lake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We spent two very comfortable weekend nights in ground floor studio unit. A major renovation and update of the entire property was recently completed. The weekend rates were very reasonable. The studio was very spacious with flat screen TV, full kitchen, breakfast bar, desk, lots of closet space, and nice new furniture. The king bed in our room was very comfortable with lots of pillows. We liked having a separate bathroom sink from the toilet/ shower room. Although the bathroom was a little on the small side. Our room was very quiet. There was nice warm décor in our room, the lobby and breakfast area. Everything looked and smelled new and fresh. The Wi-Fi worked well in the room. The climate control for the room worked well.

This hotel is conveniently located only a few miles from the Johnson Space Center. It is located about 1.5 miles from I- 45, and back from the local street, so there is little or no street noise. It is a good location for access and driving to both sites in southeast part of Houston and Galveston.

The staff was friendly and helpful. The free breakfast buffet was excellent with a good choice of both hot and cold items. We certainly enjoyed are stay and will not hesitate to stay here again when we visiting this area of Texas.

Room Tip: Rooms near the sports court and pool may be noisy at times.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJLJOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen H, Sales Coordinator at Residence Inn Houston NASA/Clear Lake, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

We're so glad that you enjoyed your weekend stay. We hope to see you here at the Residence Inn Houston Clear Lake again soon.
Thank you for the positive feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Tristan was super helpful with my reservation process over the phone. It didn't stop there. We arrived: smooth, quick ckeck in by Tammy. The room was spotless and everything was perfect, not to mention room to spread out &a full kitchen to prepare a meal. Great location, close to everything: NASA, Kemah, Baybrook Mall, Restaurants, even an HEB grocery store. We got back around 6pm on Wednesday &were thrilled to be greeted by Tristan &have an evening reception prepared, the food was delicious, served with salad, also beer &wine. This is definately where we will stay when we come back to the area. If you have to be away from home, this is it.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank dwellingplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen H, Sales Coordinator at Residence Inn Houston NASA/Clear Lake, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are so glad that your stay with us at Residence Inn Houston Clear Lake was excellent!

We look forward to your future stays with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houston
Clear Lake
TownePlace Suites Houston Clear Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Houston NASA/Clear Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Houston NASA/Clear Lake

Address: 525 Bay Area Blvd, Houston, TX 77058-2602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Houston
#113 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $115 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Houston NASA/Clear Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All guest rooms include spacious guest rooms, full size stainless steel appliances (a full sized refrigerator, dishwasher, and microwave), Studio suites include a two burner stove top, Two bedrooms suites include an oven, granite countertops, free wifi, bathroom amenities from Paul Mitchell, 32 inch flat screen televisions in the living area. Enjoy a breakfast buffet every morning in our gatehouse and we also serve complimentary beverage and snacks during our weekday guest reception, Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Houston NASA/Clear Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Houston Clear Lake Hotel Houston
Houston Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing