We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice stay convenient to most places”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Houston NASA/Clear Lake
Ranked #130 of 506 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
334 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Very nice stay convenient to most places”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

One week stay in a studio which was plenty of room. Full kitchen provided opportunity to avoid eating out every meal. Bathroom was small but at least the sink area was separate making it much better. Comfortable bed and furniture. Nice pool area and lobby area. Breakfast varied from day to day but Texas shaped waffles always can be made. Did not enjoy the hot items on two of seven days but enough other items to make do. The most impressive thing was the responsiveness of the front desk when we checked in. We arrived early before check-in time and a room was available. However, it was in building 18 which was quite a walk and my wife could not physically make the walk. We called the front desk and within ten minutes we had a new room assignment in building eleven almost next to the pool and lobby. Went to Kemah one night and it was a short drive. Passed the space center on the way. Mall, restaurants all nearby. McDonald's, Starbuck's and Perry's Steakhouse all walkable from the hotel.

Room Tip: If you cannot make the walk you need to be in a building number of 12 or less
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sometrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen H, Sales Coordinator at Residence Inn Houston NASA/Clear Lake, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
We appreciate your feedback!

We are so happy to hear that your original room assignment was modified to better fit your personal needs even after initial check-in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    35
    14
    6
    6
See reviews for
54
27
4
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
austin, texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Stayed here for two nights on a great priceline deal. My kids, ages 6 and 8, loved the pool and basketball court. Breakfast was good -- many choices. Starbucks was next door -- a plus. Rooms were recently redone -- great job. We had a studio with king bed and pull out sofa. It was nice have a breakfast bar area and full fridge. Everything was very clean and the staff were very helpful

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texasmomAustin_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen H, Sales Coordinator at Residence Inn Houston NASA/Clear Lake, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
184 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Large, modern lobby with fireplace, good sized eating area, plus nice couches for relaxing. Small gym with modern equipment, nice sized outdoor pool with decent patio area including gas grill for guest use, lots of tables, a nice comfy outdoor couch grouping and a basketball court.

We had a studio room, included king sized bed, sofa bed, recliner chair, large flat screen tv and a small, full kitchen with full sized fridge with ice maker, cooktop, microwave and dishwasher plus utensils and cookware, well furnished. Even a corkscrew and wine glasses. Nicely decorated in warm colors, main room seems newly updated, bed was super comfy with nice thick duvet, lots of pillows and good side lighting for reading. TV swiveled for either view from living area or bed. Room also included a desk, lots of closet/drawer space plus small eating bar area. Towels were plentiful and large, on the fluffy side, I would say the only downside was the toilet/shower area was not updated, plus (a downside for me) the light switch was a combo with the fan and also located outside of the bath area. Tub was worn but spotless, with curved curtain and updated shower head with lots of hot water and good stream. Our room was on the main floor, bldg 2, faced the front parking lot. Quick walk to pool area and/or lobby where there is a small but substantial breakfast included every morning. Hot, fresh coffee, hot water and decaf, two hot offerings were eggs, sausage and gravy, choice of cereals, oatmeal and make your own waffles, a bowl of fresh fruits, yogurt and breads. Enough to get your day off to a nice start, we took ours out by the pool and enjoyed the breeze. All rooms have an outside entrance, I did not see an elevator for the second story.
Note: when we sat outside we noticed the noise from the kids playing in the basketball court, which would have been bothersome to me if I was in that area. Also we could hear a train close by, but not from our room, so not sure if it didn't run in the nighttime or we just had a great spot, we had no outside noise at all where we slept. Front desk check in went quickly and smooth, on check out, we did not receive a receipt under our door (as we were used to getting) so did need to stop at front desk, there was a small line but it went quickly. I would definitely stay here again when in the area. NASA was just a few miles out, Starbucks and McDonalds both next door while a HEB, Kroger and Walgreens all within a mile, plus numerous resturants. Great location to visit Kemah!

Room Tip: Avoid facing the basketball courts, rooms that faced the front of the hotel seemed quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen H, Sales Coordinator at Residence Inn Houston NASA/Clear Lake, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
We’re so happy that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you again at the Residence Inn Houston Clear Lake in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemount, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

The property was beautifully kept up, with Palms around the swimming area, many tables and seating areas adjacent to the pool as well as other seating throughout the property. The staff was very helpful, and went so far as to allow me to use a computer in the office to print off my tickets to the space center when I had difficulty using the computer and printer provided for guests. I brought my two kids aged 23 and 16 and we stayed in a 2 bedroom suite which was very spacious and comfortable. I would definitely stay here again if I was in the area, and would highly recommend this property to others.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lissy_Fritze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen H, Sales Coordinator at Residence Inn Houston NASA/Clear Lake, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
We’re so happy that you enjoyed your stay!

Thank you for your positive feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas, texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed in a one-bedroom suite for three nights. We chose this location for proximity to Galveston, NASA, and Houston sites - it was a good location for our needs, with plenty of convenient stores (HEB, Target, mall).

The remodel work is nice. The kitchen was the best feature of our room. The bathroom was just okay, I don't think they did much, if anything, to renovate there. I found the bed too soft in the middle (another reviewer said it was too firm, so maybe some rooms have newer mattresses?) but the linens were good.

We didn't use the pool or sport court, but they looked great for kids. I think the rooms around the pool are the nicer location than our room facing mcdonald's, but I'll glad we weren't near the pool because I saw a couple dozen beer bottles around the pool in the morning and wondered if those rooms may have been noisy. Even in our location, the windows need replacing, and we did wake up to the dumster pick up (early am) and a train in the middle of the night.

Breakfast was acceptable quality and included a variety of options (cereal, eggs, sausage, waffles, biscuits/gravy, breakfast burritos, packaged donuts/muffins/bagels).

I have no significant complaints about this hotel, but it wasn't exceptional. I would probably stay there again if the rate was right.

Room Tip: Rooms around the pool have a nicer view, but may be noisy until pool closes at 10pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gogogo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen H, Sales Coordinator at Residence Inn Houston NASA/Clear Lake, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
We appreciate your feedback!

Residence Inn’s recently finished renovation did include the bedroom, living space, and kitchen. However, the renovation of each bathroom is still currently underway.

We hope to see you back here at Residence Inn Houston Clear Lake in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE Michigan
Level Contributor
71 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

My wife and children loved this hotel. Considering that our children got their own beds, we had two bathrooms, a full kitchen, and there was plenty of space for everyone, that was to be expected.

Sleep quality was pretty good. Not the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in (I prefer a somewhat softer mattress) but I managed to get plenty of rest nevertheless.

The pool and spa are pretty nice. They're not terribly large, but they're clean and great for a refreshing dip. They didn't appear to be heated, which would have been nice since the weather in the Clear Lake area was a little cool during our stay.

The free breakfast is good. Every day there was a selection of hot and cold foods, waffles, breads, juices, fruit, cereal and coffee. On two of the mornings, there were flour tortillas for turning the eggs, sausage, cheese and potatoes into a breakfast burrito if we wished. It was a nice touch.

The rooms were clean, but on three consecutive days, we did not get maid service. We were still in the rooms when housekeeping came around about mid-morning and were not ready to leave for the day. Consequently, we were forced to call the front desk to get fresh towels in the evenings. We informed the desk clerks each time we hadn't received service, and only on the first night was a housekeeper available to make up our room. Coming back to an unmade room three times in a row was a big disappointment.

The other big disappointment was the fitness center. It is small and the equipment is old and not well maintained. The eliptical machine is downright dangerous. The pedals are misaligned, causing a user to make a "skipping" motion that puts uneven stress on hip joints. The imbalance is so bad that the fly wheel at the front of the machine wobbles severely. The whole room needs a major upgrade, and quickly.

Finally, there is a Starbucks within 100 feet of the hotel lobby when you really need your fix, and it shares a parking lot with the hotel. I'm a caffeine addict, so that was very welcome!

Room Tip: If you have a fitness membership to fitness chain, find out the location of the nearest gym. Don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MI_TravelFreq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen H, Sales Coordinator at Residence Inn Houston NASA/Clear Lake, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
We truly appreciate your feedback!

I am sorry to hear that the timing of our maid service wasn't convenient with your family's schedule. Upon check-in the hotel is now inquiring as to the best time for service for each guest.

Also, Residence Inn is currently working to enhance our fitness facility on property. However, we do offer complimentary gym access to each of our guests at Stone's private gym just moments from the hotel.

We hope to see you again at Residence Inn Houston Clear Lake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockville
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

The room was very clean and everything was in working order. TVs in every room. Close to many restaurants, shopping, and downtown. The full breakfast was very good with eggs, sausage, fruits, muffins, etc. Friendly staff, easy check-in, and check-out. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wes K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickyM33, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston NASA/Clear Lake, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houston
Clear Lake
TownePlace Suites Houston Clear Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Houston NASA/Clear Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Houston NASA/Clear Lake

Property: Residence Inn Houston NASA/Clear Lake
Address: 525 Bay Area Blvd, Houston, TX 77058-2602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Houston
#113 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Houston NASA/Clear Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All guest rooms include spacious guest rooms, full size stainless steel appliances (a full sized refrigerator, dishwasher, and microwave), Studio suites include a two burner stove top, Two bedrooms suites include an oven, granite countertops, free wifi, bathroom amenities from Paul Mitchell, 32 inch flat screen televisions in the living area. Enjoy a breakfast buffet every morning in our gatehouse and we also serve complimentary beverage and snacks during our weekday guest reception, Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Residence Inn Houston NASA/Clear Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Houston Clear Lake Hotel Houston
Houston Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing