We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“U of H Hilton Review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton University of Houston
Ranked #73 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
El Paso, United States
1 review
“U of H Hilton Review”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Very nice and convenient when doing business at the U of H. I was taking a course at the Graduate College of Social Work and it was great walking across campus again at my alma mater. I would recommend this hotel for anybody who is taking a short-term weekend course or attending a conference.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    138
    44
    35
    16
See reviews for
125
43
21
285
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Easy check-in and out. very small check-in area. the lifts were creaking
The room was a delight . Excellent bed and pillow. Late night though one could hear sounds from the adjacent room - something like Airconditioning turning on and off
Very compact room but had all the necessary amenities including wireless handset phone
The shower was excellent and envigorating
Bath amenities were of excellent quality
Restaurant on the ground floor. The breakfast is good but you need to order it and it generally arrives within 15 minutes - made to order. Good portions and cooked to your specifications

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scalfern57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Three things to know if you book this hotel: 1.Taxes are steep (they can't help that). 2. Also, if you book/pay with a debit card, they'll ding you extra $$ (I guess in case you decide to trash the room, or smoke stinky cigars in it) and then put it back if they don't need it. I'm still waiting for $25 to reappear in my account. 3. There is no shuttle to the airport, and IAH is far, far away. But the staff is wonderful, and the rooms are swanky and quiet.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Maristella F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My room was awesome. Floor to ceiling windows across the whole wall. Nice bed and bedding, sitting area, two flat screen tvs, backlit lighted closet and nice bathroom. It is staffed by hospitality students so the service ranged from amazing to "why did I choose this as my major". Also, if you are doing business downtown it's a little far and cabs are not that easy to grab at the hotel.

Overall I had a nice stay.

Room Tip: Get a suite. Open floor plan. Lots of room. Very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lwilliamson0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the dalles, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Service was good. Ants in a Houston Hilton bathroom...seriously? Hilton is becoming no different than a 2 star hotel, at a 4 star price. I would not recommend staying at Hilton. I would also recommend checking the towels both sides before you use them.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUUH, General Manager at Hilton University of Houston, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you very much fo sharing your recent experience at our Hotel this past September. We appreciate your comments on our Service, however we are embarrassed by the condition of your guest room. We apologize to have not met your expectations, and we can assure that steps have been taken to prevent their reoccurance.
We value your comments, and we look forward to the opportunity of being of service in the future.
Respectfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This stay was my second in five months.

My first encounter with the Hotel was devastatingly shocking! I had a difficult time marrying my various Hilton experiences with it. I found it hard to communicate and be communicated to; service was at best non-existent. Although they had large room grids for my choice of room, the absence of a fridge in the room was shocking (Houston is very hot at this time of the year). The sleep experience was superb, considering that the hotel is within a University .

But my disposition to the hotel changed on the occurrence of two things;

1. On complaining to the General Manager (Mr. Akash) about the poor service, he acted promptly and things changed for the remaining time I had to stay. He also threw in a lot of perks;
2. The plaque at the entrance of the Hotel clearly stated that, the hotel was basically a training ground for future managers of the Hilton Brand worldwide.

Point number 2 really did it for me.

Therefore, during my recent trip to Houston, I returned to the hotel. This time around, from reception to my checkout, service was comparable to any major Hilton worldwide. I had no reason to complain and I believe Mr. Akash and his team are raising the bar every day for service excellence.

Will I return to the hotel? Of course! Will I recommend it family and friends on vacation? Of course I will!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chima N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Very quiet hotel. Nice rooms. Friendly staff. The only thing I didn't like was the glass door in the bathroom. You can hear everything! The night light in the bathroom was so bright we had to cover it with a towel. It was a beautiful room with a amazing view on Houston. I would stay there again. The next time I will bring a face mask and ear plugs.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Medical Center
Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton University of Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton University of Houston

Property: Hilton University of Houston
Address: 4800 Calhoun Rd, Houston, TX 77204-2610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#23 Business Hotel in Houston
#57 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton University of Houston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on campus at the University of Houston and home to the Conrad N. Hilton College of Hotel and Restaurant Management, Hilton University of Houston is minutes (2.3 miles) away from the downtown Houston business district. Just 10 minutes from William P. Hobby Airport (HOU), 40 minutes from George Bush Intercontinental Airport (IAH), and with 25,000 sq. ft. of meeting and event space, the hotel is perfect for business Guests. Our University of Houston hotel is conveniently located for Houston attractions such as Reliant Stadium, Toyota Center, and Minute Maid Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Hilton University of Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton University Of Houston Hotel Houston
Hilton University Houston
Hilton Houston
Houston Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing