We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton University of Houston
Ranked #72 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2013

If you want a great hotel in the downtown area, but away from the hustle and bustle, this is it. Great service, friendly college staff, convenient location, updated hotel, awesome amenities, great price. I always get a good night sleep here, can't say that when I'm actually staying in downtown.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Luis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (503)
There are newer reviews for Hilton University of Houston
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 503 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

DO not and I repeat, DO NOT stay at this hotel. This was by far the worst hotel experience in my life. I understand that this hotel is a training Hotel, but it has the most unqualified people working in every department I have seen. Stayed here for a conference in January of 2013 for 5 days on the Hotel and Hospitality Industry. Step 1: Parking - Yes parking is confusing but close by and lots of parking with plenty of elevators. Step 2: Checking In - The gentleman who checked me in was friendly but could barely speak or understand English. He had issues finding my reservation and once he did, it took him 20 mins to check me in. He then stated that I had to prepay $75.00 for parking. Since my hotel stay was being paid for by work and not incidentals, I paid for the parking in cash. Checked in to my spacious, beautiful guest room, only thing I could say bad about the room is that the double queen (shared with a coworker) bathroom was only seperated by a frosted privacy glass door that didnt shut all the way (not too private). Woke up in the morning after sleeping great to discover that there is NO hot water whatsoever! Called down to the front desk and they said that others had expressed the same problem and they would have a manager call the room to apologize. Went in to my conference and enjoyed my continental breakfast and conference speakers. Come dinner time, listening to the speaker and a banquet server knocks over an entire stack of entrees ready to be server making a huge loud interruptive sound. All the tables were preset with coffee, no one came by to offer coffee. Went to the restaurant later in the lobby to enjoy a few cocktails with other conference attendees. 1 server in the restaraunt and it was busy. Took 15 mins to be greeted by another employee that hardly spoke or understood English and then another 15 to get a drink, food was mediocre.
Day 2, still no Hot Water. Went down stairs and was instructed by the conference coordinator that we were not to pay parking because part of our room and conference fees were to cover parking. Talked to the front desk and the agent said she did not has the access to safe and a manager would be in later and call my room to refund my money.
Day 3, still no Hot Water. No call from the manager.
Day 4, still no Hot Water. No call from the manager
Day 5, lukewarm shower. Checking out, spoke to the Assistant Manager and he told me that that do not do cash refunds but send out checks. I thought this to be very common and was not upset by it when he took my address and phone number and said I would get a check in 2 weeks by mail.
Called 2 months later because I have yet to receive a check and big suprise, no manager on duty. Does one ever work at this property? Left a message. 2 weeks later, I call back and the agent clearly doesnt understand what im asking and I can barely understand her because her english is so poor.
Now over 3 months after checking out, I have called the Hilton again and been transferred to a very polite lady who is the Executive Assistant to the General Manager. She said that the matter would be resolved immediately and the hotel would contact me in 48 hours. 2 weeks later and still no call. I am writing this in the hopes that people realize how horrible the service was and that I would not have come on Trip Advisor to leave such a negative response if I had received a phone call, letter, or the check I have been promised. I am a fellow Hotel Employee for another Brand and have stayed at many full service, mid service properties and I would refuse to step foot in this hotel ever again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeremyMatney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUUH, General Manager at Hilton University of Houston, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2016

We truly regret that your stay with us was not to your satisfaction, and we do apologize for not having met your expectations. We do thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention and we will address their resolution.
Respectfully

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We were there for my sons wedding. I thought it was a little pricey. No refrigerator in the room. But very nice rooms, good beds and bedding. Quiet. Good location Mostly foreign staff...not very friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Dannalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Comfortable bed, clean room, convenient location on the campus of the Univ of Houston. Food at Eric's was delicious. I would have preferred to have workout facilities on site but walking a block to the Campus Rec Center was fine.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Ming T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Certainly one of the best stays I have ever experienced. From the top level front desk service to great in room dining, this training hotel in Houston beats out some of the most expensive hotels in the country.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank therichtergroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

The room was very nice The food was excellent (breakfast at the restaurant, lunch at the conference), excellent service, friendly staff. Everything was very clean. Parking garage was clean and well-lit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Theresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel one night every week during fall and spring semesters for about two years. I find the hotel to be excellent overall. I have become aware that a very large portion of the staff are students of the College of Hotel and Restaurant Management. They do a great job, often better than experienced professionals I've encountered at other hotels. The hotel always has a refreshing smell but I cannot get any of the staff to tell me the secret! Seeing it every week has allowed me to see some occasional problems, such as a broken elevator to the parking garages, but this lasted only a week or so and was not the fault of the staff. I suggest that if you have business at UH, do not consider any other place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the city. The view is spectacular.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Medical Center
Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites
Modern B&B
#66 of 517 in Houston
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton University of Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton University of Houston

Address: 4800 Calhoun Rd, Houston, TX 77204-2610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#23 Business Hotel in Houston
#57 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $148 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton University of Houston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on campus at the University of Houston and home to the Conrad N. Hilton College of Hotel and Restaurant Management, Hilton University of Houston is minutes (2.3 miles) away from the downtown Houston business district. Just 10 minutes from William P. Hobby Airport (HOU), 40 minutes from George Bush Intercontinental Airport (IAH), and with 25,000 sq. ft. of meeting and event space, the hotel is perfect for business Guests. Our University of Houston hotel is conveniently located for Houston attractions such as Reliant Stadium, Toyota Center, and Minute Maid Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton University of Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton University Of Houston Hotel Houston
Hilton University Houston
Hilton Houston
Houston Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing