We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean, convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton University of Houston
Ranked #66 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Comfortable bed, clean room, convenient location on the campus of the Univ of Houston. Food at Eric's was delicious. I would have preferred to have workout facilities on site but walking a block to the Campus Rec Center was fine.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Ming T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (525)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

443 - 449 of 525 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

Certainly one of the best stays I have ever experienced. From the top level front desk service to great in room dining, this training hotel in Houston beats out some of the most expensive hotels in the country.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank therichtergroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

The room was very nice The food was excellent (breakfast at the restaurant, lunch at the conference), excellent service, friendly staff. Everything was very clean. Parking garage was clean and well-lit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Theresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel one night every week during fall and spring semesters for about two years. I find the hotel to be excellent overall. I have become aware that a very large portion of the staff are students of the College of Hotel and Restaurant Management. They do a great job, often better than experienced professionals I've encountered at other hotels. The hotel always has a refreshing smell but I cannot get any of the staff to tell me the secret! Seeing it every week has allowed me to see some occasional problems, such as a broken elevator to the parking garages, but this lasted only a week or so and was not the fault of the staff. I suggest that if you have business at UH, do not consider any other place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the city. The view is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The Hilton University of Houston is an OK hotel. The room are clean and reasonably sized, but somewhat dated and there is nothing special about the hotel or the rooms, so the price at over $300 for a regular room is too high.
The hotel caters primarily to the University of Houston, so unless you trip centers on that par of town, it is not a good location.

Room Tip: Away from the elevators as the hotel has a large amount of sports teams and others staying that can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewEnglandTraveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Construction in the area made accessing the facility difficult. There was also a festival that further blocked visibility.

It was difficult to understand the front desk staff.

My concerns about accurate billing were not addressed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pdfinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUUH, General Manager at Hilton University of Houston, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2016

We truly regret that your recent stay with us was not to your satisfaction, and we do apologize for not having met your expectations. We do thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention and we will address their proper resolution.
Respectfully

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

very nice clean modern rooms. understaffed and poorly managed staff. parking was a ripoff, parking garage elevator broken. Room service messed up on breakfast order. poorly run Hilton property. noboy that worked at the hotel cared. i would NOT stay at this hotel the next time i was in town.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Downtown
SpringHill Suites Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Club Quarters Hotel in Houston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton University of Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton University of Houston

Address: 4800 Calhoun Rd, Houston, TX 77204-2610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#23 Business Hotel in Houston
#57 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $119 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton University of Houston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on campus at the University of Houston and home to the Conrad N. Hilton College of Hotel and Restaurant Management, Hilton University of Houston is minutes (2.3 miles) away from the downtown Houston business district. Just 10 minutes from William P. Hobby Airport (HOU), 40 minutes from George Bush Intercontinental Airport (IAH), and with 25,000 sq. ft. of meeting and event space, the hotel is perfect for business Guests. Our University of Houston hotel is conveniently located for Houston attractions such as Reliant Stadium, Toyota Center, and Minute Maid Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton University of Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton University Of Houston Hotel Houston
Hilton University Houston
Hilton Houston
Houston Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing