We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good conference hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton University of Houston
Ranked #69 of 506 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good conference hotel”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I went to this hotel for a conference, and it was very nice. I think it is staffed mostly by students who are studying restaurant and hotel management at the University of Houston. For the most part, everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. The restaurant is your run of the mill hotel restaurant, but not bad, and the prices were fair compared to other hotel restaurants. All-in-all, it was comfortable, the catered conference meals were good, and the hotel is very clean.

I'm not sure I would stay here if on vacation as it is quite out of the way from anything besides UH. But for a football game, conference, or to visit students, it is a great, convenient place.

There is no free breakfast, but the breakfast in the hotel restaurant was pretty good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    135
    43
    32
    15
See reviews for
113
43
20
277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The problem we had was with the meeting room. In 2012 we had a workshop of 40 participants, who needed to use their computers and there was not one plug in the room. After much complaining, there was an electrical unit that was brought to the room for which they wanted to charge us $500.00.
We did return for another training on March 2013 hoping that all would be fine this time, but our training room was freezing and people brought blankets. We complained for over two days and nothing was done. In the meantime two people became ill and one had to leave the training.
We also had terrible problems with the internet, but that was solved rapidly with land lines. The internet should be checked and assure that it is in working order prior to renting meeting space at $2,500. The problem is that once we pay for the training room, there is little if any help that follows.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Tillie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUUH, General Manager at Hilton University of Houston, responded to this review, May 27, 2016
We truly regret that your recent stay with us was not to your satisfaction, and we do apologize for not having met your expectations. We do thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention and we will address their resolution.
Respectfully
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2013

It was very pretty with a wonderful location, perfect for my stay! My room service was good and not terribly priced. The front desk staff -eh, and it wasn't all of them. They just didn't seem to care. However, the housekeeper was beyond friendly, and one front desk clerk was so kind and greeted me every time I walked by! The room wasn't very sound proof so I heard anytime a door was shut on my hall. My hot water was more warm (and it didn't matter what time I took a shower) instead of hot.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinkcarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

University of Houston Hilton - great place to stay when in the area - hotel is warm, rooms are neat and breakfast was great too - meeting rooms where well appointed - lunch for the lube school was done by the hotel and was great

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weh386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Make sure all questions you have are answered correctly. Verfy more than once. Too many different customer service representatives at the front desk. If you have a question, going back to the front desk there is always someone else at the desk. Make sure billing is correct and correctly done . I reserved three rooms, billing for two rooms was completed and paid for one week. Total confusion when we arrived. The front desk was very flustered. Understanding English seemed very difficult, Credit cards were charged again when they should not have been. Putting a charge on a credit card is very easy, trying to take off the charge takes a very long time! Very disappointing,.

Room Tip: Make sure you know exactly what your reservations are...if making any prepayments for more than one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUUH, General Manager at Hilton University of Houston, responded to this review, May 27, 2016
We truly regret that your stay with us was not to your satisfaction, and we do apologize for not having met your expectations. We do thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention and we will address their resolution.
Respectfully
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlingen, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is very pretty, the room was great and the bed was very comfortable. I recommend it to everyone coming to visit the campus or coming to music auditions.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeMeowLePurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I was very impressed by the students and the desk staff. Very polite and helpful and really went out of their way to assist in any way possible. I needed to be on campus so this was perfect. If the University of Houston is not where you need to be, then the location is a bit out of the way for a lot of things. And remember this is Houston, taxis are not plentiful anywhere in this city. The hotel has been redone so the rooms are really first rate and clearly up to Hilton standards.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Medical Center
Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Best Western Plus Downtown Inn & Suites
Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
#118 of 506 in Houston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton University of Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton University of Houston

Property: Hilton University of Houston
Address: 4800 Calhoun Rd, Houston, TX 77204-2610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#23 Business Hotel in Houston
#57 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton University of Houston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on campus at the University of Houston and home to the Conrad N. Hilton College of Hotel and Restaurant Management, Hilton University of Houston is minutes (2.3 miles) away from the downtown Houston business district. Just 10 minutes from William P. Hobby Airport (HOU), 40 minutes from George Bush Intercontinental Airport (IAH), and with 25,000 sq. ft. of meeting and event space, the hotel is perfect for business Guests. Our University of Houston hotel is conveniently located for Houston attractions such as Reliant Stadium, Toyota Center, and Minute Maid Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton University of Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton University Of Houston Hotel Houston
Hilton University Houston
Hilton Houston
Houston Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing