We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed bag. Great if need to be on campus - tough if downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton University of Houston
Ranked #69 of 504 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Mixed bag. Great if need to be on campus - tough if downtown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Knowing this was a teaching hotel, very appreciative of all the hard work of the students to run the hotel. They do a great job given their experience. Great location right in middle of campus. However, in town for a big conference and getting cabs from the hotel was very difficult (but the hotel did their best to help). Also missing a couple amenities you would expect for a 4-diamond hotel. If you want to be on campus, this is the place to be. While close to downtown in case those hotels are sold out....difficult to get there given cab situation.

Pros:
Nice, modern design rooms; nice work area in room; caring and attentive experience - these students work hard; if you have time - access to campus rec center which is fantastic

Cons:
If you don't have a rental car - cabs don't quite want to come out here; no on site fitness center (see pros above); no valet

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zmoba96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    132
    43
    32
    15
See reviews for
110
42
19
274
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Allen, Texas
Level Contributor
158 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We only needed a place to spend one night and this location was perfect. I am a Hilton Honors member, so I found the hotel on the HHonors web site and then checked the reviews on Tripadvisor. The ratings were accurate. We really liked the place. Although on an university campus, a quiet, clean and modern place to spend the night in. We would be back when returning to Houston.

Room Tip: Stayed at 719 which is the corner room, furthest away from the elevator and thus one of the quietest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irinava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Interesting combination of hotel and school. If you don't mind that all of the staff are students, you'll like it. The hotel serves as the training platform for the School of Hotel & Restaurant Management.

You'll either love or hats the look of the place. It's decorated in an updated version of the 60's futuristic style. Personally, I loved it.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the second floor suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeyw17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Everyone and everything at the Hilton University of Houston was excellent. We truly had a great stay there and if I ever find a need to go to Houston again I will make sure I stay there again.
The meeting rooms were exquisite.
The restaurant was great and so was the bar.
I loved the shower in my room and the bed was great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaS501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

I stay here whenever I bring my son back to college. (He is an out-of-state UH student.) I've never been disappointed. The hotel is completely silent when the university students are on break. The beds are always clean and comfortable, and the decor (complete with cowhide print ottomans, giant Chrysanthumum wallpaper, and red doors) is great fun.

Room Tip: The soaps are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, North Dakota, USA
Level Contributor
152 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

This was my first visit to the University of Houston and I was pleasantly surprised by the Hilton on the University of Houston campus. The fact that it is a teaching hotel and run by students was equally impressive. The rooms were modern and they provided free water. The only reason I didn't give a higher rating was that the water temperature in the shower was warm at best. It never reached the desired temperature during my entire stay.

Room Tip: The hotel staff have to call a cab. If you need a cab, allow 15-20 minutes for the cab to arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BFR1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
111 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I've stayed here a few times. At least parts of it have been remodeled in the past couple of years. Twice I've ended up in a really nice suite with balcony, kitchenette. Internet works well. Parking is easy (underneath). The workers try hard to please.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeakyB85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Medical Center
Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Inn & Suites
Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
#100 of 504 in Houston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton University of Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton University of Houston

Property: Hilton University of Houston
Address: 4450 University Dr, Houston, TX 77204-2610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#23 Business Hotel in Houston
#57 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton University of Houston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on campus at the University of Houston and home to the Conrad N. Hilton College of Hotel and Restaurant Management, Hilton University of Houston is minutes (2.3 miles) away from the downtown Houston business district. Just 10 minutes from William P. Hobby Airport (HOU), 40 minutes from George Bush Intercontinental Airport (IAH), and with 25,000 sq. ft. of meeting and event space, the hotel is perfect for business Guests. Our University of Houston hotel is conveniently located for Houston attractions such as Reliant Stadium, Toyota Center, and Minute Maid Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton University of Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton University Of Houston Hotel Houston
Hilton University Houston
Hilton Houston
Houston Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing