We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Campus Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton University of Houston
Ranked #67 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2013

This was my first visit to the University of Houston and I was pleasantly surprised by the Hilton on the University of Houston campus. The fact that it is a teaching hotel and run by students was equally impressive. The rooms were modern and they provided free water. The only reason I didn't give a higher rating was that the water temperature in the shower was warm at best. It never reached the desired temperature during my entire stay.

Room Tip: The hotel staff have to call a cab. If you need a cab, allow 15-20 minutes for the cab to arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BFR1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (531)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

468 - 474 of 531 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

I've stayed here a few times. At least parts of it have been remodeled in the past couple of years. Twice I've ended up in a really nice suite with balcony, kitchenette. Internet works well. Parking is easy (underneath). The workers try hard to please.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeakyB85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Wow, what a surprise! I was not expecting such a nice hotel on a University campus. Thanks to HHonors, we were upgraded to a Jr. Suite for a minimal fee, which was very comfortable and spacious. The bed was amazingly comfortable, which is always a plus.

The only complaints are that we requested breakfast by hanging the tag on the door, and it was never retrieved, and several of the staff speak very broken English and had a hard time understanding our requests.

Overall, however, very good hotel.

Room Tip: Join Hilton Honors to qualify for upgrades at a fraction of the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christinas550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I will admit that I stumbled upon this hotel and sure glad that I did! Hilton created a partnership with the College of Hospitality at the University of Houston and as a result the hotel is both a teaching ground as well as a platform of perfection. The rooms are some of the best appointed that I have come in contact with. The rooms are immaculate. The staff is incredibly attentive and the area is wonderfully quiet. Located just a few exits from downtown the hotel is amazingly easy to access on and off hwy 45. There is not a question that I will be staying at this hotel every visit to Houston I have!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I stayed twice in this hotel while on a business trip in Houston. I wasn't expecting much from a university hotel and was worried about noise... I was surprised. Located on the campus, it is a very nice hotel, with specious modern room, and young, friendly staff.
Room was very nice, light, with good bed and no noise. Internet worked flawless. I ordered room service and really enjoyed it. Breakfast in the morning was promptly served and good.
Questions, requests, everything was answered and addressed right away.
I have yet another trip to Hourston next month. I know which hotel to book now.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leopoliensis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Campus hotels are a little unpredictable, but this one is a star. The rooms look to have been recently redone, and are attractive and comfortable. I had dinner in the restaurant and service and food were flawless. Some renovation was ongoing in the area containing offices/meeting rooms, and our meeting room was nothing special, so maybe they are working to update that part of the hotel next. If you have business at or near the University of Houston, this is a very good place to stay. The hotel wireless didn't work well for me, but the University's wireless network was a perfect substitute. Both are free.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grotshops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I was booked at this property by accident, and I am now a repeat customer. The staff are mostly students in training for hospitality management, but each of them had a gracious smile on his/her face. Rooms are spacious and housekeeping even folded my dirty clothes and placed a folded laundry bag on top for easy access. Parking is very cheap and the hotel is extremely secure. Thank you all for such a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Houston-Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Club Quarters Hotel in Houston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton University of Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton University of Houston

Address: 4800 Calhoun Rd, Houston, TX 77204-2610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#23 Business Hotel in Houston
#46 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $149 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton University of Houston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on campus at the University of Houston and home to the Conrad N. Hilton College of Hotel and Restaurant Management, Hilton University of Houston is minutes (2.3 miles) away from the downtown Houston business district. Just 10 minutes from William P. Hobby Airport (HOU), 40 minutes from George Bush Intercontinental Airport (IAH), and with 25,000 sq. ft. of meeting and event space, the hotel is perfect for business Guests. Our University of Houston hotel is conveniently located for Houston attractions such as Reliant Stadium, Toyota Center, and Minute Maid Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton University of Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton University Of Houston Hotel Houston
Hilton University Houston
Hilton Houston
Houston Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing