We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality with minor glitches”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton University of Houston
Ranked #66 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Stayed one night for a seminar at the University. Clean, comfortable room (nice bed!) with plenty of space. Squeaky clean. Shower temp was a little on the cool side, even at full hot. Air handling unit was a bit loud; could not shut it off despite thermostat in room. But these were minor inconveniences for an otherwise pleasant stay. Nice staff. Free wi-fi. Limited restaurant options with walking distance; Eric's restaurant in the hotel was decent.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeyondScrapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
There are newer reviews for Hilton University of Houston
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

472 - 478 of 508 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2011

Attending a business conference at the University. Room was large with two comfortable beds and adequate pillows. As is common in many hotels, the chair and hassock were too stylish to be practical and comfortable, useless to try to sit, put for feet up and read. Would take a balancing act. Desk and work space were superior. Nice in room Lavazza coffee set up. Bathroom was superior. Spacious, clean. Shower was a water saver head, but worked pretty well.

I asked for late check-out and this was not a problem, also the screw came out of my reading glasses and when I asked at the front desk for some tape (yes, nerd-style) to wrap around the hinge, surprise, the desk clerk pulled out a tiny optical screw-driver. Be aware, parking is $15 a night for guests, but some room rates include this. Bar and restaurant food and drinks were good and service was very pleasant, but both a dinner and breakfast the wait staff seemed to disappear for 15 minutes right when I was ready to pay and leave. Might have been light on the staff. Hotel is a circuitous 6 miles from Hobby, but GPS worked well, signs are poor. Beware the security line at Hobby can be 40 minutes during mid-afternoon.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Professorgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

This is the second time I have used this hotel and booked this last time because of the perceived value.
Room is updated and staff is great ...but woke this morning to bedbugs. I travel alot for work and this is the first time I have seen these in person.
Staff went right after the room but... They are present :( so beware upon checking into the room.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreenSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Hotel was perfect. Recent remodel last year, rooms great, very, very clean bathrooms, glass showers, big vanities. University was closed, so ate in the ground floor restaurant. The french fries alone are worth a trip back. $15 cab ride from Hobby Airport.
Had a single room for my niece who was starting school, suite for my wife and me. Stay here....you'll like it.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MisterHilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We only stayed one night while visiting the University of Houston, but it was very enjoyable. As part of their program, there are many students involved in running the hotel. They were very courteous and helpful. It is a very nice hotel and well worth staying at if you are visiting the campus or just in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuzanneCA84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

I recently booked a room at this Hilton for just the day, as I was in town for business. The staff was so accommodating and friendly, both before and during the stay. They expected me by name and made me welcome. They were polite and helpful. The hotel was very nice, but I have to say I was most impressed with the hospitality of the staff. They were just outstanding!! I will definitely be recommending this hotel to everyone I know! I was raving about the hotel to everyone I knew as soon as I stepped out the door.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katherinedonaldson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2010

I got married at the AD Bruce Religion Center on the U of H campus and I stayed here the night before my wedding with my bridesmaids. I was shocked at the beauty of the hotel when we entered. It is chic and elegant. Not exactly what I expected on a college campus. The staff was friendly and accommodating.

The room, however, was the best part. We loved the asian inspired decor throughout the hotel but we gasped at the elegance of the room upon entering. The following day I had hair and make-up people in and out of our room but the staff were very understanding and allowed us to check out late.

The one con about the hotel was the paid parking. This is common for hotels near downtown, but I never have understood why it is necessary.

Great hotel! I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmlassalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Medical Center
Wyndham Houston - Medical Center Hotel and Suites
Modern B&B
#68 of 517 in Houston
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton University of Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton University of Houston

Address: 4800 Calhoun Rd, Houston, TX 77204-2610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#23 Business Hotel in Houston
#57 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $149 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton University of Houston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on campus at the University of Houston and home to the Conrad N. Hilton College of Hotel and Restaurant Management, Hilton University of Houston is minutes (2.3 miles) away from the downtown Houston business district. Just 10 minutes from William P. Hobby Airport (HOU), 40 minutes from George Bush Intercontinental Airport (IAH), and with 25,000 sq. ft. of meeting and event space, the hotel is perfect for business Guests. Our University of Houston hotel is conveniently located for Houston attractions such as Reliant Stadium, Toyota Center, and Minute Maid Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton University of Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton University Of Houston Hotel Houston
Hilton University Houston
Hilton Houston
Houston Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing