We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Good for a business Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Houston by the Galleria
Ranked #302 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Anytown, USA
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 538 helpful votes
“Great location. Good for a business Trip”
Reviewed August 28, 2011

I stayed here for a couple of weeks during a business trip. Good value for money. The location is convenient for those with work in Galleria area. Even downtown Houston is easily accessible.
The property is not new but comparable to other Candlewood suites that I have stayed at.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    25
    25
    11
    15
See reviews for
12
21
17
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

I stayed here March 31st- April 5th. I stayed in room 139 and found that were a myrid of small annoyances. The first one was the room door and the "swinging" lock,(the one you put over the little ball) did not line up properly so the door was not totally double locked. The second thing was that the bathroom door was not hung properly. When open, the door would swing all the way open regardless of how little you tried to keep it open . The third thing was that the front door wasn't a smooth easy close. You had to put a little bit of effort behind it. The next thing is that the bathroom vanity was not aligned properly. This is the cabinet that holds the sink. On the toilet side side it was over hanging from the front causing a jagged edge. Then there was the phone book. There was A-L yellow pages in the room, but no M-L so you couldn't order pizza. The next item was that the kitchen faucet leaked more often then not fron the top. This is where the round circular top met the faucet on top. Next was the toilet seat was loose so it had to repositioned everytime you used it. Then there was a bent window screen which prevented you from wanting to open the window (with all the bugs in this part of the country). And the last but not least was that the closet door did not shut tight..

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edgar90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Unfortunately the first room we got was quite smelly, and we probably found the reason for that on the second day when we tried to use the dishwasher and noticed water leaking.

We were moved to another room which smelled much better.

Rooms in this hotel are equipped with a small kitchenette featuring a hot plate, fridge, microwave and dishwasher, so you can throw together a small dinner without having to go out.

We were very much impressed by the helpfulness of the staff when we realized that we left the car lights on over night and had drained the battery. They had a starter cable and a member of the staff jump started our car.

Even though the interior of the hotel is average, we'd still come back if the price is right. The location of this hotel is quite good as long as you have a car.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcsjcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

I stayed at this property for 2 weeks at the beginning of July. It was much cleaner than I had expected for the price (I paid $69 +tax per night). The staff at the front desk are friendly; but the security does seem a little lax because anyone could walk in and out without being questioned. However, the location of the hotel is fairly safe so no bother. It is situated close to the Galleria (5 mins by car), but walking there is not an option because 1) the weather is hot hot hot!, and 2) Houston streets are not pedestrian friendly, the notion of walking anywhere seems strange to Houstonians.
It is true the maid service only comes once a week, but every adult should be able to make their own bed for a week at least. There is a good stock of towels in the bathroom. The rooms are fairly spacious, and the kitchen area is a godsend even though the hotel only provides one saucepan (which is really a small stock pot).
All in all, it was well worth the price.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hans411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2011

I always enjoy the friendly staff and clean rooms when I stay at this hotel. The location is convenient to many restaurants and shopping. Staff is also knowledgable with area attractions and offer good suggestions. Whether business or personal, I will return. The rooms are clean and the prices are reasonable for any budget.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivian200910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2011

This is my home away from home hotel. The Candlewood Suites Galleria has a great location close to restaurants, downtown, and the Galleria area. The staff will make you feel like you are part of the family. I often check-in early and my room is always ready. If going to Relaint Stadium this is the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank topcat458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

I came to visit a family member here and my car was broken into. While in the parking lot trying to assess the damage to my vehicle, I noticed another car in the parking lot sitting on blocks. It had all four wheels taken off. After speaking to some other guests, I found out that this seems to be just a typical night at the Candlewood Suites Galleria. I called and spoke with the manager about the break in, she had the "i could care less" attitude and gave me an unheartfelt apology. When I inquired about why there was no video survellience of the parking lot, she told me that would require someone to watch the monitor. WHAT IS SO BAD ABOUT THAT??????? I guess the safety of your guests and their belongings isn't worth the $8.50 per hour you could pay someone to monitor the parking lot. Oh well, I know where I won't be staying anymore and if you don't mind having your car broken into, and then reporting it to management that doesn't give a damn, then I strongly recommend staying at the Candlewood Suites Houston Galleria.

Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank cwilliams47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
candlewoodgalleria, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Houston by the Galleria, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
Thank you for your review of Candlewood Suites Houston by the Galleria. As a small hotel in a residential area we work hard to insure a safe and happy environment, however, as we live in a large city sometimes things happen that are out of our control. We have recently hired a security team to monitor the parking lot during the evening hours. It is unfortunate that we have some bad people out there that do not respect other people's property. We do respect our guests and their property, so we have added this security along with the other amenities that the hotel offers to our guests. Please be aware that in Houston all public parking lots have posted signs asking that you do not leave valuables in the car because they become targets for criminals. Please feel free to contact me debra.johnson@ihg.com Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Great Uptown
HYATT house Houston/Galleria
Great Uptown
Extended Stay America - Houston - Galleria - Westheimer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Houston by the Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Houston by the Galleria

Property: Candlewood Suites Houston by the Galleria
Address: 4900 Loop Central Dr, Houston, TX 77081-2210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #302 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Houston by the Galleria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home™ Bedding Collection.The Candlewood Suites Houston by the Galleria Hotel, is you best choice for alternative corporate housing, temporary housing and extended stays. We have easy access to Houston's Downtown business district, Galleria business district and the Greenway Plaza. Our suites, big and built for comfort, are the ultimate accommodations for business travelers. Each suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator with ice maker. Work efficiently at your oversized executive desk with two separate phone lines and free high-speed Internet access. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD player or watch a DVD from our free video and CD library. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. You can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. We re a pet friendly hotel too (fees apply). The Candlewood Suites Houston by the Galleria Hotel is located less than half a mile south of the Galleria - One mile from Greenway Plaza and three miles from Reliant Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Houston by the Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Houston By The Galleria Hotel Houston
Houston Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing