We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the few vegan options in Houston - great food, but a little pricey”

Pepper Tree Vegetarian Cuisine
Ranked #488 of 8,206 Restaurants in Houston
Dining options: Buffet
Restaurant details
Dining options: Buffet
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
163 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“One of the few vegan options in Houston - great food, but a little pricey”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

My husband and I went here after doing some online research for vegan dining options in Houston. The food was good, but we had to ask what everything was since there were no signs or labels. Everything we had tasted good, and we enjoyed knowing everything was vegan. However, we both left feeling that while good, it was a bit overpriced and we'll limit going back as most of the food did not seem healthy or lowfat. A great place to check out at least once, but it is not our favorite place in Houston.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rmm151s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    12
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

I frequently consult the reviews on tripadvosor before I dine & I must say, this time, the reviewers were completely inaccurate! My wife & I visited this restaurant this past Sat for lunch & to my dismay, I thought I walked into a Chinese buffet! I love Chinese food, but I was expecting something different. Nothing at the buffet had a tag identiying what it was, but from what I could tell there were spring rolls, fried rice, rice wrapped 10 different ways, more misc. fried foods, & oh yea tofu. The buffet price... An unbelievable $15/person on the weekend (This includes water that is already in the glass waiting for you at the end of the buffet)!! Really? This place should be ashamed to charge over $5 bucks! To top off this experience, some kid was screaming his lungs out the entire time we were there. Let's just say this was our first & last experience at Pepper Tree.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Erskine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent vegan restaurant”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I go here often and enjoy not having to ask if the food contains anything I can't eat as a vegan. It is my favorite place to take out of town visitors. The buffet is not available weekday nights, but there is an extensive a la carte menu, with some excellent choices. Soup and salad can be ordered instead of the full buffet. There are two soups: miso-tofu and sweet and sour.

Some of the buffet items are deep fried, but there is sufficient alternatives that it is not necessary to eat them. Try them though - they are quite delicious, as is the coconut cake, which I like to add chocolate sauce to!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carole_ScotTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
713 reviews
352 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Wonderful Vegan Cuisine”
Reviewed November 22, 2011

This restaurant should definitely be on your list if you are vegan. The lunch buffet has a wide variety of choices, including some desserts. I admit that I like my meat, but this restaurant offers a tasty and healthy alternative that I will enjoy going back to. The dishes are mostly drawn from Asian cuisine. Try it, you'll like it!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dbinhou7511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport, Texas
Level Contributor
169 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Vegan Delight”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

This is one of the best restaurants for fabulous vegetarian and vegan food in Houston. The location is bland, in a strip shopping center, and the decor is functional but the food is fabulous. Try the lunch buffet for variety or off the menu for favorites. The owners are very friendly and helpful and encourage novices to try different foods. Everything is fresh and the analog "meats" will fool all but the most die-hard carnivore. My only complaint is that I have to wait until we are in Houston to eat here.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tazcaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepper Tree Vegetarian Cuisine also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Pepper Tree Vegetarian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing