We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown
Ranked #393 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Reviewed March 5, 2014

If you need to be close to downtown but don't want to be in downtown and pay the downtown prices and you don't care about anything but a clean bed, this would be ok. This place is right on the freeway so there is extreme freeway noise although not too bad in the room. The area does not feel very safe--there is a bulletproof window by the desk clerk if that is a clue. The "breakfast" is a joke in a space maybe 8' x 8' with no seating--it has toast and waffles and cereal but it really feels cheap. The staff other than the desk clerk were very polite and helpful. The free wi fi was very good. Otherwise, definitely a "no frills" hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Claudia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEE A, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thank you for your valuable time to go over the survey. We appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 115 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed here over night, between connecting flights, convenient location close to the airport. We were a family of 4, even though the floor did not appear to be too clean, the beds and the bathroom were, overall ok stay for the price. The man at the check-in counter was very friendly and accomodating, gave us tips when to wake up and catch the shuttle which waited for us at the front door as we were enjoying a great complimentary breakfast. Would stay here again for the price ($50).

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tat2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

A long list. Non smoking room reeked of smoke. refrigerator was full of leftovers, pizza, stale beer and other stuff. TV did not work, No signal. No as in 0 hot water. An ice bag covered the smoke detector, I removed it in case this fire trap went up in flames while I slept. the next morning a truck had parked behind my car and completely blocked it. The manager could not find the owner because they don't take car information from guests. I threatened to set off my car alarm till someone moved. they went to each room to find the owner. They charged me more than quoted -$93.00 for this Hell Hole. I was in no mood to argue once I could get my car out. The only good thing was it was otherwise fairly clean.

Room Tip: We were in one of the best rooms.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasTraveler4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEE A, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Sorry for the inconvenience caused to you about your car, though it was not from our end, one of our hotel customer was blocked by his car, and he came to FD, and one of our staff member did call all the rooms, and resolved this issue in 5 minutes.

The guest did not complaint about the room, when he was checked in, though our FD Staff always give a courtesy call to all our new check in guests within 10 minutes, just to make sure that our valued guests are comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

Had to stay after a flight delay. At $60 i wasn't expecting a lot. A motel style inn next to a truck-stop. 10 minute drive to airport and they have a shuttle. Friendly and efficient staff. Had coffee and some fruit ready for my 5am lift to airport. Room was basic, but spacious, neat and clean. Basic, in-room dinner and breakfast menu available and gas station convenience store next door, with traditional greasy fare, if required. Not much else near by.

Pretty quiet, but u might get some truck noise starting around 4am as rigs head out from next door, but not too bad. As a traveller, I'm sure you'll have essential ear plugs. Good and safe for the price!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEE A, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Trip Advisor,

This review has nothing to do with our hotel, the customer had stayed some other motel. Therefore, we request you to remove it this wrong review, and acknowledge us as soon
as you.

Thank You,
Bee Ahir, Property Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

good service, closest the downtown. the rooms are clean and very comfortable.
great for travel business, but only for sleep, not for dinner, or other mathers.

they have security place for amazon shipping

Thank Diego M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BEE A, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Thank you for your positive experience of your stay having at out Howard Johnson, Downtown Houston, Texas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Appearance of the room was nice and sleek. Location very secluded in the area and overlooks the express way. Many empty homes in the area. Servers friendly but no common sense.

Service of the Hotel. I woke up to find that my toilet was clogged for whatever reason. Nothing was visually in the toilet but tissue. Tried to call front desk but the phone did not work to dial out. I walked around to the front and told the front desk. She handed me a plunger????? O-o.
Did you just hand me a plunger after I paid $104 with tax? I took the plunger and tried to fix it with no success. I went back to front desk because the phone was still not working. She handed me another plunger and I let her have it. I informed her that I did not pay to stay and do their plumbing too! This was not good customer service. She then offered another room for us to use instead, but I check out in 3 hours so whatever. Not pleased at all and really grossed out!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Customerserviceamust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEE A, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Sorry for the inconvenience caused to you, we assure you, that we took all corrective majors, and assign a pm service to our valued customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Houston hotels
Scottish Inns Westcott Street
#343 of 517 in Houston
5 reviews
Sleep Inn & Suites
#129 of 517 in Houston
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
#123 of 517 in Houston
102 reviews
Great Uptown
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Houston - Memorial Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

Address: 4602 Katy Freeway/I-10, Houston, TX 77007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #393 of 517 Hotels in Houston
Price Range: $98 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gold Medal Hotel for 5 straight years. For Budget Hotel in Houston, we are the best choice for both. We are consistently rated as a Top Luxury Hotel in Houston by our satisfied guests. We are the most appropriate TX Budget Hotel, to make your stay enjoyable at a low-cost. Some of our guests who have stayed with us in Houston, have informed us that they have made a good choice by selecting our Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Houston
Houston Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing